We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good meal, nice decor”
Review of Clayton's Kitchen

Clayton's Kitchen
Ranked #27 of 568 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $48
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Serving modern British food. Open five days a week for lunch 12 -2.30pm Wednesday- Friday. 12-3.00pm Saturday - Sunday Evenings 6 - 9.30pm Monday - Friday. 6-10pm Saturday. 6 -9pm Sunday
Reviewed July 25, 2016

I enjoyed my meal here but was not blown away as I had expected to be. Our server was excellent. The service and atmosphere was not intimidating or snooty as one might expect from a chef who has earned Michelin stars. Modern takes on comfort food. Would go back next time I am in Bath.

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank Leepa1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,047)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,115 - 1,119 of 2,118 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

Food was very nice and the waiters were very attentive. The restaurant was very welcoming. Plenty of choice of starters mains and sweets.

Date of visit: August 2015
2  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

We'd tried to get a table at Clayton's for months - finally settled for a midweek booking. The food was ok - not the best we've had in Bath but good enough. Just ruined by the complete lack atmosphere (it was cold and the overhead table lights were painful) but the real problem was the waiter - a middle class student who gave us the impression that he wasn't that bothered really. We struggled to gain his attention - even to order a second glass of wine. In fact he was only truly happy when talking to other middle class students and their families. Made us feel like strangers in a strange land - we will never go back (and we eat out in Bath twice a week). Very disappointing.

Date of visit: May 2016
5  Thank greenamber2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016

My wife and I took our daughter here following her graduation. We had an excellent and varied meal in an atmosphere that was conducive to chatting as well as to eating! The service was timed just right giving us enough time to eat without feeling rushed. Starters and main meals were excellent, topped off with a delicious dessert.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank timbF6107KD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016

It is located north from Roman Bath, just a couple of minutes walk. I think this is one of the restaurants a group is operating in Bath, and you will find the similar cafe or restaurant just next to it. I dunno but all the foods must be similar/same. We chose to table outside to enjoy the warm sunlight, and ordered a salad, soup and grilled sea bass. All of them were decorated nicely, and tasted gently, extracting the nice essences from the veg and fish used. Staff service was also decent, highly recommend to have a lunch in Bath!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Shuchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clayton's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Clayton's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.