We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional meal in Bath”
Review of Clayton's Kitchen

Clayton's Kitchen
Ranked #5 of 571 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $45
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Open seven days a week for breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner, Clayton's Kitchen at The Porter, is the culinary home to The Porter's resident chef Rob Clayton. Rob has previously gained a Michelin star at Hunstrete House and another at Bath Priory. Delicious seasonal dishes using the freshest quality ingredients are the inspiration for Rob's menus. This, coupled with the restaurant's friendly, relaxed vibe and carefully chosen wine list, makes Clayton's Kitchen at The Porter a favourite whether you are a die-hard foodie, dropping by for a casual bite to eat or simply picking up some treats from the Clayton's Kitchen range. Rob began perfecting his art in 1988 at Ménage à Trois London, achieving his first Michelin star aged just 25 as head chef at Hunstrete House Hotel. He remains one of the youngest chefs ever to do so. Rob gained a second Michelin Star as executive head chef at the Bath Priory. Since then his work has continued to achieve high praise, winning Pub Company Menu of the year and Food Champion of the Year.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Exceptional meal in Bath”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We dined here for my birthday meal and were extremely pleased with every aspect of the meal. The service was friendly and quick, the food was delicious and the decor was lovely. I had the scallops to start, followed by the chicken with risotto as a main. My husband enjoyed the chicken and prune terrine to start and the steak as a main. We also ordered a side of rosemary carrots which were beautiful. Overall we would highly recommend Clayton's Kitchen and will certainly be returning during our next visit to Bath.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliGSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PorterManagement, General Manager at Clayton's Kitchen, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your review Ali - we like to celebrate our guest's birthdays as they're usually a great deal of fun.

The scallops and the chicken are two of our biggest sellers, so very wise choices!

Look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Hector
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,005
    243
    42
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxed breakfast.”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Visited Clayton's for breakfast on Sunday morning. We received a friendly welcome and given a nice table by the window. The breakfast choice was varied, and the food was good. The service we received was superb.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DexUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SachiNew, General Manager at Clayton's Kitchen, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Dexuk

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

Breakfasts are a real hit here at the Porter and we get very busy, so I'd advise anybody wanting to come on a morning to get in touch and book a table...excellent service will be available at all times!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere.”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We had a wonderful meal here for my birthday. The food was delicious, beautifully cooked and presented, especially my lemon sole and the dessert. We had very good service and even got a candle and a chorus of happy birthday thrown in! I would certainly recommend it to anyone.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SachiNew, General Manager at Clayton's Kitchen, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback and positive review. It’s really great when all the team’s hard work is appreciated and we hope we’ll see you again very soon!

Hector Main
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, Great place and Great service”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We went here after other places were full. The staff were really friendly and offered great advice relating to the food and drinks. Amazing mains and puddings with a great list of craft beers. I couldn't recommend this restaurant more!

Helpful?
Thank Pringle88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast at Clayton's”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I visited Clayton's Kitchen with my wife for breakfast. The food was excellent and the service from both Kelly and Kevin was perfect - prompt and attentive but without being intrusive. It is good to know you can get good food throughout the day and evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MHPenang191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clayton's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Clayton's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing