We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, modern steakhouse that's big on flavours and heart!”

The Herd Steak Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 577 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Steak restaurant in Bath offering quality food in a great location near the Pulteney weir.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy, modern steakhouse that's big on flavours and heart!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The surroundings were cosy and the service was warm and personable. The staff were patient with all our requests (we had some foodies in the group!) and the food was simple but deliciously done, steaks were cooked to perfection.
Our waiter took particular care to make our evening special as we were celebrating a birthday. The birthday girl was even presented with a special birthday card and a round of limoncello!
Overall, a wonderful experience with top notch food. Definitely one to watch in Bath.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SamSamBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    786
    214
    56
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good steak”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Went on a very wet Sunday night in November, restaurant fairly quiet. Good quality steak, nicely cooked, a little extra seasoning would have improved it. Chips and veggies very tasty and good wine. Service friendly. Lacks a little atmosphere and is quite expensive but overall a good choice for steak.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 236_StiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Perfect steak and service”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

The robeye steak was cooked so well it melted in my mouth, down to the very last bite. The twice cooked chips were fantastic and a very healthy portion as well.
The service by all staff was extremely good, very friendly and I felt I was in a very relaxed and comfortable environment.

Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best steaks!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

This was a great find! Delicious steak, amazing chips and yummy onion rings. Well worth a visit and newly opened so needs all the custom it can get. The food speaks for itself

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vixen37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great all-rounder.....”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Found this restaurant by chance as we were walking past and bemoaning the fact that on a Saturday night we weren't able to eat at a couple of chosen places as they were full. This one almost was but we secured a table for 9:15 but asked if they could call us if they had any earlier cancellations - they duly called and got us in at 7:30 which was more to our liking.
The staff were extremely friendly and very efficient. Service of all courses was quick and unfussy. The food - others also mention their steaks - was nicely presented and the meat excellent and cooked exactly as requested.
Finished off with a complimentary glass of limoncello, rounded off a very enjoyable meal in pleasant surroundings.
Would definitely recommend and we shall return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank merv1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Herd Steak Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Herd Steak Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing