We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Car parking

Need help for parking near the two tunnels as we are coming up from Somerset could anyone please... read more

Reviewed October 28, 2018
H6442UYdavet
via mobile
Easy flat walk and a good use of old railway tunnels

Enjoyable flat walk through these 2 tunnels. Very clean inside. Cyclists also use this path but I... read more

Reviewed October 4, 2018
Cactus F
Read all 111 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Bath
from $21.30
More Info
from $10.95
More Info
from $27.37
More Info
from $123.94
More Info
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveler rating
84
25
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
84
25
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old railway bike ride long tunnel hope anchor off road violin music longer route english countryside midford cyclists combe track bikes somerset aqueduct circuit monkton
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 111 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2018

I'd wanted to go through the tunnels ever since Sustrans opened them up and we walked as we were in Combe Down without Bikes.
I remember watching the puffs of smoke/steam rising from the cutting between the two tunnels as a young lad from the bottom of Foxhill Lane.When they were closed, we used to play as kids on the tracks before they were removed and before the Combe Down tunnel was actually sealed up, we used to walk through, with no torches and just a stick dragging along the wall. (I don't know WHAT my mum was thinking of letting us do this!)
The transformation is brilliant. Dimly lit throughout. Enchanting string music playing from speakers in the central section.
We accessed from Summer Lane footpath on Combe Down, dropping down to near the entrance and we left just after the second exit, dropping down to Bear Flat and into town.
You do need to be 'aware' of cyclists and keep to the left, but there were no racers and in fact more walkers and runners than two wheels.
Can't wait to do the much longer route on a bike!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank HamptonKex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

A real hidden gem. A fabulous bike ride. Climbing steadily out of Bath up to the tunnels. A great surface , lighting and piped music. It is so different and a memory of a lifetime

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank ShropshireBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2018

A quite wonderful cycle ride and if you are in Bath you absolutely have to do this, or if in Bristol cycle the Bristol to Bath route and do this when you are almost at the end..superb and not like anything I have cycled before.

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank Ferenc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2017 via mobile

We set off one Saturday to look for the tunnels. I'm not really sure what we expected but we certainly didn't expect to be walking around Bath city centre and sleeping rough in our search.
After several weeks we finally found the foot path to the two tunnels.
The path was busy with runners and cyclists not to mention the annoying children that were dragged along by their parents.
Then all of a sudden we found the first tunnel.... to say we were underwhelmed is an over statement, now I know why people were cycling and running? It was to get out of the tunnel as fast as possible. Or more than likely to get away from the pointless classical music being played in the middle of the tunnel.
Maybe I'm being harsh here due to lack of sleep in our quest to find the two tunnels, but really, this is boring and just like a blunt pencil? Pointless.

Date of experience: October 2017
2  Thank Paulp2974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017

Bath, to our surprise, ended up being our favorite stop on a 2 week England trip in July 2017. Excellent restaurants and history sites, and the cycling is first rate. We rented hybrid bikes in Bath and rode all 3 major trails you'll read about online. The Two Tunnels trail is a little hilly compared to Bath-to-Bristol or the canal trail (which are flat.) But Two Tunnels isn't arduous - it's fine for anyone in reasonably good shape. To reward you for the modest hills, you are treated with amazingly beautiful landscapes and forests. The tunnels are breathtaking--and long! But they're well lit and it's an experience to remember. We did the loop trail described on the website which joins the canal path back into town, and that was very nice. One word of caution: Cycling in the heart of the city of Bath is tricky. If you do the loop trail you'll have to ride a bit in the city center, but it's easy enough to walk your bike through those few busy city blocks. There's a river trail through the city that's car free that you can access at many points; look closely at the maps and you'll see how it's laid out. And if you get lost in the city, just ask a local; everybody is super friendly there and they were glad to tell us where to pick up the river path. Bath is rated as having among the best cycling for casual hybrid/mountain/touring type riding in England. Based on the places we visited, I agree. True road cyclists were seen in the Bath area also on the "B" highways and country lanes, but I didn't do any road cycling there. The Two Tunnels and other trails aren't really for road cycling since there are walkers and joggers sharing it. But the trails are fantastic for a hybrid or mountain bike. Most of the trails are paved. The canal path is tightly packed slag, which is suitable for all bikes except road/racing bikes.

Date of experience: July 2017
4  Thank HC B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews