We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely First Class Bed and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beckfords View Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #32 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely First Class Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We recently spent 3 nights at Beckford's View. Absolutely excellent experience from start to finish. Helen and Mark are great hosts and welcomed us with a hot drink and home made biscuits on arrival. During our stay they provided good advice about the local area, places to eat and walks. Nothing was ever too much trouble. Their home is quiet, spacious, beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. Bedrooms are significantly larger than in many Bed and Breakfasts and there are a number of special touches including Apple TV, high standard bath products, home made shortbread, small jars of sweets and good quality coffee and other drinks in the room. Mark and Helen noticed at breakfast on the first morning that I ordered decaf tea and we returned to the room later the same day to find that, without requesting it, a stock of decaf tea bags had been provided. Breakfasts were gold star standard. Excellent selection of fresh fruit including poached fresh strawberries, high quality fruit salad, home made muesli, other cereals, yoghurt, freshly squeezed orange juice, organic porridge, several types of home made bread and perfectly cooked hot options. Location is about a 20-30 minute walk from the city centre, but for those who don't want to walk, there are regular buses from a stop only a minute's walk away. This place deserves to be at the top of Trip Advisor. I can only assume that the ranking is influenced by not only the quality, but also the number of reviews, and being a 3 room establishment it will take longer to climb the ranks. Cannot speak highly enough of this place. A brilliant find.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MPF2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
132
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Warks
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I stayed in Room 1 with my partner, no expense has been spared within the building, the decor/facilities within our room to mention a few, flat screen, Apple tv hookup, air-con, kingsize bed, tog duvet...and a bathroom suitable for a Sultan. The shower had a head no smaller than a tennis racquet which I shall miss dearly...

My partner was very happy with the various sized mirrors throughout the room, combined with the powerful hair dryer, gave her the perfect setup for an evening out.

If you a worried about overstocking the storage/wardrobes dont be, bring all your clothes as there is enough wardrobe space capable for at least 3 women...permanently!

The view from the bedroom was enhanced with the 3 windows facing over the many fields behind the house, which was beautiful, along with a well maintained garden and lawn you're more likely to see at Wimbledon, thanks to Marks groomed strips!

Some rather nice additions to the room, were the gourmet coffee bags, small jar of minstrels and Helens homemade shortcake (very light and buttery) restocked daily :)

I didnt eat the full English but other habitants did - it looked delicious, I was hooked on the scrambled eggs, dill and smoked salmon...otherwise, homemade bread and muesli was on offer along with freshly sliced fruit and cereals.

Worth mentioning, there is secured (gated) drive for parking.

My only grievance was getting home, my house looked terrible in comparison.

Hope to visit again.

- Andrew & Anna

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mr_a_hunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My wife and I visited Bath for the first time, in the company of my wife's sister and her husband, and were delighted with our choice of Beckfords View.
The accommodation is first class in every way, with Mark & Helen excellent hosts, they seemed to genuinely care about the quality of the experience they provided for us.
This was borne out by the fact that we seemed to talk equally about how impressed we were by the our stay with Mark & Helen as we were with our visits to the charming City of Bath!
We would certainly have no hesitation in recommending Beckfords View to anyone planning a visit to this area.

Room Tip: The Super King room is massive and has stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

My fiancee and I have just returned from a two night stay at Beckfords View and couldn't be happier with our experience.
We were greeted on our arrival with a welcoming smile from both Helen and Mark and were immediately taken aback at how beautiful their home is. It is clear not a penny has been scrimped or saved and everything is the highest of standards.
Our room (room 2) was exceptionally comfortable and surprisingly spacious. We have stayed in very nice B&B's in the past and whilst all very pleasant most struggle with space. Not at Beckfords View. There was more than enough room and ample storage to unpack and not feel like you are living out of a suitcase which, even for such a short time, is one of my pet hates. The en suite was equally spacious, complete with a digital display shower. We were particularly impressed with the little touches; homemade biscuits, jar of chocolates, and my personal favourite, Apple TV. Being able to sign into your own iTunes account and listen to your own music/watch your own TV and films etc is a really nice touch.
Breakfast was delicious. We both tried the full english and the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon during our stay and both were gorgeous. Combined with the healthy selection of fruit, cereals and toast which we really made the most of, the breakfast really set us up for the busy day ahead.
The B&B is a little way out of Bath city centre but that isn't too much of a hassle. We read many reviews about the convenience of the bus and affordable taxis but being two (relatively!) fit 25 year olds we opted to walk. The walk took us about 25 minutes and is up/down quite a steep hill. We managed to walk from Beckfords View to Bath City Centre twice in one day which, although proves it is possible was perhaps a little much!
Helen and Mark really do pull out all the stops to make your stay as comfortable as possible and nothing seemed to be any hassle for them. They even offered us a lift into town! They recommended the local pub, Hare and Hounds, which was almost next door and even told us to show the keyring on our room key for 10% off, which turned out to be a very nice evening with great food.
We cannot recommend Beckfords View enough and thank Mark and Helen for such a lovely two nights.
Finally, if you are an animal lover, like us, then definitely ask to say hello to the bunnies before you check out. Mollie and Walter are just as friendly as their owners and are very inquisitive little things!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiamM1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We had a great stay at Beckford's, which is definitely one of the best bed and breakfast's we have come across. Mark was extremely welcoming when we arrived, helped us book a restaurant (The Marlborough, which we can highly recommend if you're looking for a nice gastro-pub for dinner) and even offered to give us a lift into town. The house is brand new, the room was spacious with great amenities (and a great shower) and the breakfast in the morning was also fantastic. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We had a lovely stay at Beckfords View - this is the best Bed and Breakfast we have ever stayed in. Mark and Helen made us feel most welcome, our room felt luxurious and the breakfast was delicious. Beckfords View has such a lovely feel - so relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericajanemorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Arriving at Beckfords Mark greeted me with a warm welcome and cup of tea (on a rainy February afternoon). We stayed in room 3 - with the bathtub. Wow pure luxury on every level, digital shower, pretty star mirror in the bathroom. Every detail from the homemade biscuits, chocolates, fluffy pillows. Mark suggested the Hare and Hounds for "posh" pub grub. Fantastic food and amazing views. Breakfast lovely! Thank you Mark and Helen for a truely relaxed weekend away. Looking forward to staying with you again in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetas68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.4 mi away
Grove Lodge
Grove Lodge
#2 of 154 in Bath
229 reviews
4.0 mi away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 2 in Monkton Combe
557 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 154 in Bath
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hill House
Hill House
#3 of 154 in Bath
509 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hawkins of Bath
Hawkins of Bath
#1 of 154 in Bath
528 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#44 of 154 in Bath
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beckfords View Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beckfords View Bed and Breakfast

Property: Beckfords View Bed and Breakfast
Address: Beckfords View Lansdown Road, Bath BA1 5TJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beckfords View is one of two luxurious large new builds in Lansdown, the most exclusive area of Bath just over a mile from the city centre. Our aim is to provide the height of luxury and service in the most beautiful city in the UK. We want our guests to think our b&b is the best they've ever stayed at and tell all their friends to stay too! We look forward to welcoming you. Mark & Helen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beckfords View Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing