We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely tea room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barton's Tea Rooms - CLOSED

Barton's Tea Rooms
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Seating
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely tea room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

What a delight, the service was friendly and we had fabulous smoked salmon sandwiches followed by carrot cake, both were delicious, all made on the premises.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elizabethcare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    11
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“sweet little tea rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The little tea rooms staff are warm and friendly. I order scones, cake & tea and they are all great! The atmosphere is good for a afternoon break.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Pleasant little tea shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We struggled to find a place for lunch due to everyone running indoors to avoid the rain. We walked around several back streets eventually find Bartons.

Bartons Tea Shop was empty, but we were hungry and damp, so we thought we'd try it. I think as its not on the main walks, it's a place you stumble upon.

The waiter gave us a few minutes to choose and we quickly ordered teas and sandwiches. When the teas arrived, they were all loose-leaf tea which was great, plus the sandwiches quickly followed. They were simple but tasty and just what we needed. We then decided to have scones with jam/cream which my mother-in-law was impressed with as she could tell there was no baking powder in?!

The tea shop had quickly filled up during our lunch and everyone appeared to be enjoying their lunch.

My parents-in-law both enjoyed their lunch and walked away with cream-tea smiles.

If you find my reviews helpful, please let me know by giving me a helpful vote.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best lemon cake!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Lovely tea rooms with great service, piping hot tea and the best lemon cake! Everything is baked on premise. Well worth the visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank btblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful tea rooms - Bartons cream tea is a must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I've lost count of the number of times i've been in here already, perfect tea rooms. The staff are amazing, warm, friendly, helpful. Nothing is too much trouble.

I would highly recommend the Barton's cream tea to share - Scones & cake, what's not to love! for something savoury the flat breads are lovely.

The tea is perfect and the atmosphere relaxing, the perfect pit stop on a busy shopping day.

I for one hope this tea room stays in Bath for a very, very long time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bath123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barton's Tea Rooms also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing