We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Bath

“Scalding hot soup”
Review of M&S Kitchen Cafe

M&S Kitchen Cafe
Ranked #475 of 656 Restaurants in Bath
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 20, 2020

The closure of the cafe which used to be on the ground floor has meant that the hard working staff in the cafe on the second floor struggle to cope with the demand, leading to the poor reviews now non trip adviser. On my visit yesterday, I had to clear a table of used plates, cups etc myself to find a seat.
My main concern, however, was the temperature of the vegetable soup. It was scalding hot, as my now blistered lips testify. I had to quite a lot of cold water into it before I could consume it. This rendered it pretty tasteless Surely there must be a maximum temperature that soup should be heated to in cafes/restaurants.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Trowbridgeresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 80 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2020

Busy and noisy, but good choice of simple lunch dishes. Food was good, but quite a long wait at the tools due to hot drinks orders backing up.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2019

Very busy at time of visit, long queue. The gentleman on the till was clearly following the company directive to promote the one bean coffee but his patter and "jokes" became wearing - especially when you were seated near that end of the café ie, "The one bean coffee doesn't mean it's made from just the one bean!" and "each sale helps to support the poor farmers". Who needs to be told that? You just want a good cup of coffee at a good price not a guilt trip. He was engaging with the customers a little too much whilst his colleague was quietly polite and serving the customers with greater efficiancy. Nice selection of food and excellent quality. In general staff were calmly industrious, friendly and polite. I just think the gentleman serving on the till was more of a hinderance to the flow of business and might be better placed elsewhere

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank straighttalker2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2019 via mobile

Busy place. Nice coffee - very reasonable prices. Lots of food options. Seating slightly to close for my liking.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank dubbleRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2019

Loads of staff nobody new what they were doing, queues were ridicule, if the cannot get this right. Then God help them

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank rallihart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed M&S Kitchen Cafe also viewed

 

Been to M&S Kitchen Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing