We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Let Koh Thai choose the menu!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koh Thai Tapas

Koh Thai Tapas
Ranked #56 of 563 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Koh Thai Tapas, Bath part of the Koh Thai Tapas Family. Discover the very best in rustic Thai cuisine - Tapas style! Good Vibes and good times - Koh Thai Tapas on Broad Street!We would like to introduce the newest member of the Koh Thai Tapas Restaurants group, Koh Thai Tapas Restaurant - Koh Thai Tapas, Bath is located on 36 Broad Street, directly opposite Milsom Place.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Let Koh Thai choose the menu!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

We ate here for two nights in a row when we were in Bath because the food was exceptional. We didn't want one of the set menus because there was just too much food included with them for us. We couldn't decide what to order on the first night because of the huge number of selections available on the menu. The friendly waitress suggested we allow her to choose for us. She asked a few questions about our likes/dislikes as far as Thai food goes, and then she just brought out food until the amount we had specified to spend was exhausted. Their Thai beef salad had a lovely kick, as did their green papaya salad. Can't remember everything we sampled, but we loved it all. On the second night we chose for ourselves, and we were not disappointed. This is not a quiet Thai restaurant. It is big and bustling and has great atmosphere. Our only issue was that we couldn't dine there again because we were moving on to our next destination.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Di S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine H, Manager at Koh Thai Tapas, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
KTT Company Note: After many years of having a company policy, not to respond to Tripadvisor we have finally decided to take action and we will now be responding to all Tripadvisor reviews going forward across the group.


KTT Company Note: After many years of having a company policy, not to respond to Tripadvisor we have finally decided to take action and we will now be responding to all Tripadvisor reviews going forward across the group.

Dear Di S,

Many thanks for your great review.

We are very honoured that you chose to spend two consecutive evenings dining with us and that you experienced both; choosing your own selection and our staff recommended selection.

We pride ourselves on our Complete Dining Experience that includes our food that our Thai chefs create freshly, in house, everyday, our friendly, helpful and professional staff and our ambience in our restaurants. We are delighted that you experienced this while dining in Koh Bath.

We noticed that you are from Australia and travelling so if you happen to be in the following areas, of the UK, we welcome you at any of our other restaurants; Bournemouth, Boscombe, Bristol, Southsea, Lilliput and soon to be opened Christchurch.

Enjoy your travels and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    181
    65
    31
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tidworth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Having been to the Koh Thai Tapas in Bristol I was already aware of what I was getting however I was pleasantly surprised. The bar staff were friendly as was the waiter. There was a really chilled out vibe with good music playing.
I'd definitely go again

Helpful?
1 Thank Gigantor_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine H, Manager at Koh Thai Tapas, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
KTT Company Note: After many years of having a company policy, not to respond to Tripadvisor we have finally decided to take action and we will now be responding to all Tripadvisor reviews going forward across the group.

Dear Gigantor_84,

Many thanks for your review.

We pride ourselves on our Complete Dining Experience that includes; our food that our Thai chefs create freshly, in house, everyday, our friendly, helpful and professional staff and our ambience in our restaurants. We are delighted that you experienced this while dining in Koh Bath.

As for the music we believe that music is part of any experience - it should never be overbearing but always audible - one should be able to have a private conversation but not hear others.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“midweek meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Booked here in advance it was busy so that is a good sign. I was a little disappointed as the couple in front of us walking through the door did not book and were shown to a much nicer less cramped table, instead of us who booked and got the last table squashed under the stairs.

Never the less the service started off well, and drinks and started delivered promptly. Had the chicken Satay and, spicy spring rolls and prawn toasts between the 2 of us to start. Chicken satay lovely, prawn toast average but the spring rolls were not nice at all! flavoured so heavily with ginger that was all we could taste. Left them all.

There was a 45 mins wait for the mains, I understand that at busy times things may get a little slow but at 9pm on a Tuesday evening I did not think it would take this long. I even asked a waitress what the delay was and suddenly the food was brought out. Mains of chicken green curry, pad thai and tamarind duck were nice but nothing overly special.

I feel the food is let down by the waiting staff who seem to hang around the bar area talking to each other rather than clearing tables. Could have been a much better experience but unfortunately it was decidingly average, I doubt I will go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine H, Manager at Koh Thai Tapas, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
KTT Company Note: After many years of having a company policy, not to respond to Tripadvisor we have finally decided to take action and we will now be responding to all Tripadvisor reviews going forward across the group.

Dear Ella W,

We always advise to book as our restaurants, as you experienced are very busy.

In regards to the table, we are really sorry that your table wasn’t as nice as the non-booked couple. Our management always endeavor to look at the restaurant to seat people and give bookings priority. However, in this incident we clearly missed the opportunity and can only apologise. Had you have asked to move we would have done our up most to move you.

We also apologies that your spring rolls tasted only of Ginger - we do not use ginger in our spring rolls, so not sure what happened here. Had you mentioned this to your waiting staff, they would have replaced your spring rolls.

Our staff who were working that evening have been spoken to by our General Manager and if you wish to speak with Shaun, GM, to see if we can make this up to you, please call our Bath restaurant.

With best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lively authentic and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Visited Koh Thai Bath at the weekend on a birthday weekend away. We were not disappointed. The food was delicious and the cocktails were superb. Matt the barman was particularly keen to let us try the Kiwi daquiri which was fab. The music was good and the atmosphere was great for a Friday night. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EmmaRB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent highly recommend ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

We stumbled across this in Bath yesterday and had an amazing meal! Excellent quality and very generous sizes. We over ordered because we didn't know how generous the tapas dishes would be. Lovely atmosphere and excellent food. Will definitely visit again!

Helpful?
Thank Norc89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koh Thai Tapas also viewed

 

Been to Koh Thai Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing