We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent late dinner ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Green Rocket

The Green Rocket
Ranked #36 of 567 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are an award winning independent vegetarian restaurant in the heart of Bath. Our aim is to provide excellent informal food at a reasonable price. We are fully licensed and have an extensive menu with many vegan and gluten free options.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent late dinner ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We were arriving in Bath in the evening - so we went to the restaurant a little late for dinner. The staff was very accommodating - and we managed have a very delicious meal + two good organic ciders before closing time. The portions were not huge - but very well presented and really tasty.

Helpful?
2 Thank MB-F2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    104
    39
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious vegetarian food made with thought...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

The food here was delicious - the four of us had each a different thing off the menu (roasted veg and quinoa warm salad, veggie burger, falafel sandwich and satay noodles) all were thoroughly enjoyed. We all said we would definitely go again - nice inside too!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Visited twice in 3 days(!)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

I think the review title says it all. We ate her twice in 3 days in Bath...
Not poncey or pretentious just excellent Vegetarian/Vegan food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank aliententacles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful service and delish food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Big thanks to the Green Rocket Cafe for a wonderful evening. We were a large group on a Saturday night, the staff had organised the evening well for us. Our dining room was decorated beautifully with crochet flowers on the table and candles in vintage cups and saucers. The service was good and very friendly, we had pre ordered our food and this came up all at the same time with no delays with attention paid to the kids in our group who munched on garlic and parlsey ciabatta.

Oh boy the food was superb. Fresh, tasty with a great deal of thought put into the flavours and presentation. My favourite was the Indonesian Tempeh and the best cheesecake I have ever had, it was a raw raspberry cheesecake, gorgeous!!

Our party would highly recommend this restaurant for romantic evenings for two or for a large family gathering like ours.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Slow slow slow”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

We booked in advance for a party of 12. Since we were a large party, we were asked to preorder our meals so they could serve us quickly and efficiently. This turned out to be a rather pointless exercise.

Two people preordered starters. Additionally, we asked for a few garlic breads to tide the rest of the party over until their mains. Two starters, preordered, and five garlic breads. We waited forty minutes.
All of our mains had been preordered as well, but again we waited over 40 minutes. By the time we received our mains, the walk-in couple next to us, who arrived after us, had ordered and received their drinks, mains and desserts, and paid. Other tables seemed to be getting a great service - the waitresses were chatting to them and being quick with their orders, however we found that not once were we asked how our meals were, nor did we receive any acknowledgement of or apology for the wait we were having to endure. We did once mention to the waitress that we had been waiting a long time and she informed us that they were ensuring that all the meals were able to come out at the same time. As to why then, some of us were halfway through our mains before the last ones had been brought out (we did initially try to wait until we all had our food, but our dishes began to go cold), the waitresses seemed to have no clue.
Anyway, the mains arrived, eventually, and they were brilliant. The standard of the food generally was great, but not enough so as to make it worth the wait.
The exception to this was the cheesecake. A similar taste and texture could be acheived by combining hand cream and gravel before carefully balancing it on the biscuit base.
Speaking of dessert, this was the real highlight of the evening. After yet another forty minute wait, a waitress walked in holding what were clearly two chocolate pots. Given that there are only four or five desserts on the menu, they should be easily identifiable. She wandered in and said "These are... Oh, I don't know what they are. Hang on." And walked back out again, leaving our desperate cries of "chocolate pots" hanging in the air, unreceived. She then returned, put the two trays down on in an empty place setting (one of our party had had to leave before her pudding due to the wait), and announced "I still don't know what they are, so I'm just going to leave them here" and then she left. We then distributed them to those in the party that had ordered them. She returned with more desserts, and eventually we all had what we had ordered. But no cutlery. We asked for spoons, and were handed enormous serving spoons that actually would not even have fitted in the chocolate pots. By this point, delirious from the waiting and wondering, we all just collapsed into laughter, to the annoyance of the waitress, who rustled up some teaspoons from somewhere and dumped them in the middle of the table.
Anyway, at last the ordeal seemed to be over, and we asked to pay, splitting the bill. The waitress worked out what we each owed on the back of an envelope, and then we had to endure the worst payment system I've ever witnessed. One of us would pay by card, then she would disappear, then reappear without the card machine, the next would pay by cash, she would disappear then reappear with change, the next would be paying by card, she would go back for the card machine, etc etc. Even after we explained that we had a train to catch, and that we needed a little more efficiency from her, she didn't reappear for a good few minutes. She neglected to charge one of our party, and they could have gotten away with not paying but for their honesty.
Finally, when we expressed our dissatisfaction with the service, we were brushed of with a smiling "I'm sorry you feel that way."
All in all, worst run place I've encountered in a long time. Great food, probably good for small groups, but incapable of handling a big party.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Rocket also viewed

 

Been to The Green Rocket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing