We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Faultless, a real gem”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Benson Cottage

Benson Cottage living room with two large sofas and a chaise lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Benson Cottage living room with two large sofas and a chaise lounge
Living room with beautiful original fireplace Living room leading through to kitchen dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
Benson Cottage living room with two large sofas and a chaise lounge
Living room with beautiful original fireplace
Living room leading through to kitchen dining room
Living room - relax and socialise in comfort. TV/DVD player and a library of DVDs and books
We love fun funky cushions at Benson Cottage
Kitchen dining room
Large dining table that seats 8 people comfortably
The kitchen is fully equipped for cooking meals and eating food
Dining Room
Dining room
All crockery, cutlery and glasses for a large sophisticated meal to an informal fun Sunday brunch
Kitchen dining room leading through to the living room
There are plenty of great books to read and DVDs to watch. There are some great games for all ages
Dining room - stairs leading to the upstairs and downstairs bedrooms
Dining Room leading upstairs to bedrooms
Bedroom 3 with beautiful Georgian window lantern above, with a black out blind when it's bedtime
Bedrooms 3 - twin beds or super king bed, you choose
Bedroom 3 - loads of beautiful natural light from window and lantern above
Bedroom 3 - our favourite wallpaper and more funky fun cushions
Bedroom 3 leads to bedroom 2
Bedrooms 2 - twin beds or super king bed, you choose
Bedroom 2 leading through to bedroom 3. Folding doors for total privacy
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2 has an en suite bathroom with shower, sink and loo
Bedroom 2 - funky stylish modern decor
Bedroom 2 has lots of natural light through the Georgian sash windows
Bedroom 2 - all guests receive a hand towel, bath towel, mini soap and shampoo
Upstairs en suite bathroom
Stairs down to bedroom 1 and family bathroom
Bedroom 1 is an oasis of calm and luxury
Bedroom 1 sleeps up to 4 people
Bedroom 1 - luxury wallpaper with hand made cushions and art deco vintage lamp
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1 - twin beds OR super king bed; and single bed; and single fold up bed (if needed)
Downstairs bathroom next to bedroom 1
Downstairs bath with bath, shower, sink and loo
Downstairs bathroom
Downstairs bathroom
Benson Cottage on Hay Hill
Welcome to Benson Cottage. Please come on in
Hay Hill in Bath city centre,  a quiet pedestrian street yet only 3 minutes walk from Milsom Street
Hay Hill - beautiful Georgian architecture all around
Hay Hill is centrally located in Bath and only mins walk from cafes, restaurants and amazing shops
Benson Cottage floor plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JoannaP73...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Faultless, a real gem”
Reviewed February 20, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I recently stayed at Benson Cottage for a hen do and it could not have been more perfect. The standard of the accomodation was superb and it was better kitted out than my own kitchen! Everything had been thought of by the owners, including mini toiletries for each of us on our beds. The location is fantastic, a couple of minutes walk to central bath and there is a waitrose within 2 minutes walk. Sam, the owner met us at the property and was incredibly friendly and helpful. We all had a great weekend and I couldn't recommend this cottage highly enough. Thank you!!

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gfertil
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place in central Bath”
Reviewed January 27, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Bath is not cheap and looking for a place for a girl's weekend in January we came across Benson Cottage which seemed like the best deal. It's in a very central location (not good for people who wish to drive as it's on a pedestrian alleyway) and in a very good condition. It is a clean and comfortable and works well for a group of girls although I would recommend maximum 7 girls as otherwise it gets a bit cramped with the bathrooms and kitchen. Check in was very easy and Sam was great at providing advice on the house and the area.

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Beautiful cottage with great amenities
Liked least: Value for money was poor
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed January 6, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My brother booked this cottage over Christmas and I joined him with other family members for a family get-together. The cottage is central, really well equipped and very well laid out with lots of space.

Date of stay: December 2014
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katherine...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect for a girls weekend break”
Reviewed November 27, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed at Benson Cottage last weekend for a hen weekend. There were 9 of us split between the two bedrooms and sofa bed. The accommodation had beautiful decor, was well maintained and perfect for our needs. We were all able to sit around the dining table in the kitchen and the living room and its in a great location for walking to everything in town (without fear that you would have to walk back in pairs). Sam was a wonderful host who met us to show us where everything was. The fact we were left with bread, milk etc was also lovely touch. I would definitely recommend this cottage as a place to stay when you're catching up with the girls.

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The layout, design and location of the property
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sosina83
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for classy accommodation”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

8 of us stayed at Benson Cottage for the weekend (two nights) to celebrate my best friend's hen weekend. The booking process was easy and efficient and Sam (the owner) was very helpful and always replied promptly to any emails.

When we arrived we were greeted by Sam who showed us around and helped us to settle in. There were some thoughtful supplies and nice touches provided as other reviewers have mentioned eg bread, milk, flowers etc. we also loved that there were slippers, toiletries and umbrellas provided. These little touches made it extra special! The building itself is lovely and the 8 of us comfortably fit in without feeling overcrowded. The kitchen is well equipped which made catering for us all much easier.

The house is in a great location, only a few minutes from all the bars and shops but not so close that you get the noise from them! We walked from the train station and it only took 10-15 mins at a slow saunter.

All the guests on the hen weekend loved the accommodation and we were very pleased with our choice. Excellent value for money and highly recommended! If we return to bath we would definitely book here again!

Date of stay: August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeriJC
1 review
“Brilliant Bank Holiday Retreat”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A group of 7 of us stayed at Benson Cottage for a 4-day break over the August bank holiday weekend and it was fantastic!

Initially we had another house booked for our short stay but we were let down at the last minute. Luckily, after finding Benson Cottage online we managed to book up quickly and easily and Sam really saved the day!

When we arrived, Sam came to meet us at the house which was lovely and we were also greeted by a couple of bottles of wine, bread, milk, butter and jam!

The cottage itself was spacious, cosy and wonderfully decorated. Location-wise it couldn't have been any better! Literally smack bang in the centre of Bath with only a 5/10 minute walk to a large Waitrose, bars, restaurants and shops.

We loved every minute of our girly weekend away and will definitely be heading back to Benson Cottage in the future for any weekends away.

Sam was friendly, happy to help and during the booking process always responded quickly!

Thanks Sam!
The Herts girls.

Date of stay: August 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason G
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Benson's Beyond Brilliant...!!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Booked the cottage for 10 of us for a 2 night stay hen weekend. From the moment I made the first inquiry to arriving on the day, Sam the owner was fantastic. The little things went a long way. Bread, wine, jam on the table...soft drinks and milk for us to use and beautiful open sunflowers in the front kitchen window all making it a wonderful place. The decor modern witha hint of "old" about it.
Everyone had a great time and we were sad to say" cheerio " on our 3rd final day at Benson Cottage....
It has to be said.....we will be returning in 2015 ♥

Date of stay: July 2014
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing