We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boozer, good food.”
Review of The Curfew

The Curfew
Ranked #206 of 574 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Curfew is a building that has seen many changes over its' near 200 years of standing. It was built in the 1820s by accomplished local architect Henry Edmund Goodridge who also built The Dispensary opposite, the nearby Cleveland Bridge, The Corridor in town and the stunning Beckford's Tower at Lansdown. In fact the novelist William Thomas Beckford appears on the original property deeds. The building was originally a bookshop before becoming a wine merchants in 1837 and eventually a public house named The Curfew Inn around 1960. The ground floor was extensively refurbished in August 2016, and whilst uniquely modern and stylish, has re-introduced the traditional high ceilings and pays tribute to the building's original features. You will find a selection of beer and ale from the Wadworth Brewery (based just a few miles away in Devizes), as well as a fine offering of carefully selected wines and spirits. On the first floor, (also extensively refurbished in August 2016, including the introduction of an additional bar) you will find a beautiful lounge to enjoy and soak up the natural atmosphere created by the high ceilings, original sash windows and imaginative decor (the huge bookshelf and 'chesterfield-esque' sofa are particularly popular features). For those wishing to spend time with friends and family in welcoming and informal surroundings, The Curfew's upstairs lounge is also available for group bookings as well as exclusive hire! And finally, a rare treat for Bathonians and visitors alike is our south facing garden, complete with terrace, to enjoy some drinks and food, al fresco style.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice boozer, good food.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I read The Curfew had been taken over by a hotshot young chef so we checked it out for lunch on Saturday. Gosh, some hard work had been done on the decor and the upstairs dining room no longer sported the jukebox and pool table of yore, instead being smartly refurbed in the manner of many 21st-century gastropubs. The menu offered 4 starters, mains and puds and we chose baked cod followed by plum crumble. Offered a drink, we were disappointed there was no sherry and no chardonnay, but this might well have been a consequence of the dictates of the pubco (mean-spirited enterprises that they are) rather than a policy of the new manager. Anyway, the food was delicious and the portions generous, and the service if on the slow side, attentive and courteous. Would we go back? Well of course, living in Bath we are somewhat spoiled for choice and The Curfew is on the wrong side of town for us. But we certainly wish the enterprise well and will give it a thumbs up when the conversation turns to eating out.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elmleydrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    15
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent food in a lovely dining room and great value”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

An interesting menu with plenty of choice.

Both the sauce with the cod and the sweet potato were superb with subtle flavours - parsley and tarragon in the sauce and nutmeg in the sweet potato. The pigs cheek on horseradish mashed potato tasted great. I would have liked something a little sharper with the dish to compliment the meat but that didn't spoil my enjoyment.

The pudding choice was easy - treacle tart with a hint of ginger, plums and cream. Lovely.

There was plenty of food and the wine choice was reasonably varied and nicely priced. It was certainly good value.

The dining room has been nicely decorated and the tables are not too close to each other.

We shall be going again for sure.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had our favourite English roast dinner yet at the Curfew. Tender, delicious meat and the biggest yorkies we have ever seen!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KateWalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Curfew also viewed

 

Been to The Curfew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing