We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistent Brilliance”
Review of No. 5 BISTRO - CLOSED

No. 5 BISTRO
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Consistent Brilliance”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Have eaten here several times over the years with family and friends.
Never disappoints.
Food, atmosphere, drinks, service - always fantastic.
Sad to have moved away from Bath, but will visit sometime soon!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luciencct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    41
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful, genuine restaurant !”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Bath is a city with lots of eateries but we keep coming back to no5 bistro on Argyle street. Its family run by people who care about the service they give and the food they serve. Go on a Jazz evening and there will be ambience, noise and friendly faces. Food is always top notch french cuisine ,hearty and tasty. Locals love this place so if you are visiting please go and enjoy this small neighbourhood bistro with a great vibe and good food, which is a combination you don't always find in some of the chain restaurants in Bath.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cookie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food and Music”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I am fortunate in living close to this restaurant. It has the feel of a French family run bistro, friendly and informal yet with with high standards both as to the cuisine and service. Dishes of the day are well worth considering and you are able to linger over them for as long as you choose. The jazz trio, currently playing Tuesday Thursday Friday currently (but please check when booking) adds to the enjoyment and are happy to play requests for "standards". My favourite local night out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant meal”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We came here on a Friday night after seeing plenty of positive reviews. The service was very quick and attentive. The food was excellent, I had steak and my girlfriend had beef bourguignon, both well worth a try!
If you're in the area, don't over look No. 5!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank egattocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Welcome Return”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

It is easy to overlook No 5 in Bath's busy restaurant scene, but it has been here for years but recently changed hands. Looking for somewhere where we could talk and take time, we decided to try and were very pleased we did. Service could not have been better, and the restaurant was full, and there was a birthday party group, but the atmosphere was fine I would say for all. The food was very well prepared, Escargots to share, interesting and delicious; sea bream and boeuf b for mains showed off two dishes very well. Good wine list, and possible to get a good wine by the glass - great for drivers.

A very nice and unusual touch at the end when two glasses of brandy were brought over. Much appreciated, but not always possible to accept because of driving - Might be worth offering a non-alcoholic alternative - another coffee maybe? - but it is a nice thing to do, and not common.

We shall go again on the basis of this. Thanks to No 5

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No. 5 BISTRO also viewed

 
Farmborough, Bath
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing