We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant little pub in a lovely location”
Review of The Rising Sun Inn

The Rising Sun Inn
Ranked #73 of 583 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Rising Sun Inn is an independanly run pub now also offering boutique style Bed & Breakfast accommodation. Perfectly located only 2 minutes walk from Pulteney Bridge and Bath Rugby ground, we serve fresh (and locally sourced where possible,) home cooked food.
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant little pub in a lovely location”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Popped in here one night when i was down in Bath, and i think this little pub had great character, the land lord was brilliant very chatty and polite but did not over impose himself which i was very impressed with. the food was just your good old decent pub grub nothing fancy but very tasty i had scampi and couldn't fault it. the Bar was well stocked with something for everyone. thing that really added bit of character for me was a little cat running around the pub which personally i thought made the place feel very homely and warm this might not be to everyones taste but i thought it was made the pub very inviting. overall big thanks to the land lord who really has a hidden wee gem here

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cameron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    32
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch in this uncrowded local”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We recently enjoyed a Sunday roast at the Rising Sun. We decided to go there as we knew there was space for us (we were seven plus a baby) and it was convenient.

Although we had to wait for our meals, we were happy to do so as the food was all hot, freshly prepared and delicious. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel very welcome.

All in all we'd definitely head here again if we wanted a tasty Sunday lunch away from Bath tourist madness!

Oh, and loved the Trivial Pursuit cards on the tables; a great way to pass time when waiting for food!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trippingtripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A quiet Sunday”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We visited on a Sunday afternoon and when we entered the bar most of the lights were off and the barman was chatting to people he knew opposite, it instantly felt a bit unwelcoming as he seemed put-out that we were there to order a drink! However, the drinks were nice and we sat out in the beer garden. We were the only ones out there on a gorgeous sunny day! It was extremely quiet and when we came to leave there weren't any additional customers in the bar area. The dining side of the place was also empty. We did look at the menu and it looked reasonably priced with a standard pub selection so we will re-visit to try this out at some point. I'm sure this place would be better with more people in it to create a better atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCM1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deepest south Devon
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cracking little pub”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Somehow managed to stumble across this great little pub whilst staying in Bath for a weekend. Warm welcome with a good choice of beers and within minutes I was chatting to the locals and the 6th degree kicked in. Talking to 2 complete strangers we knew several people in common - that is what pubs should be all about - good beer, good conversation and good atmosphere. Will be back on my next visit to Bath

  • Visited May 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowcreekrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salcombe
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great pub!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Have been to the pub many times since it changed hands - it's now so much better and a lot friendlier (and serves Thatchers Cider!).
We tried Sunday lunch recently - and it was very good quality. Good portions, perfect yorkshire puddings and very welcoming staff! Will be back soon....
Plus free Wifi!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lordpurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rising Sun Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Rising Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing