We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing evening !!”
Review of The Kilted Chef - CLOSED

The Kilted Chef
Price range: $19 - $64
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Kilted Chef is an independent restaurant in the centre of Bath, serving contemporary British food with a Scottish twist. Our warm and ambient dining facilities provide the perfect venue for a relaxed lunch or memorable dinner in the heart of Bath. All our dishes use only the finest ingredients whilst reflecting the varying seasons. Our set lunches and pre-theatre dishes offer particularly good value for money and we have received many favourable reviews of our A La Carte and bespoke taster menus which can be prepared on request.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing evening !!”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We arrived at the restaurant around 7:00 o'clock Saturday evening, to be treated by a lovely lady who took our coats and showed us to our table, the restaurants atmosphere was rapidly starting to increase as it was getting busy !, although it was getting busy our table was still getting regular checks and we were looked after throughout the while evening!, it was excellent. What a great way to end a beautiful day in bath, the food was cooked to perfection and to finish my wife and our family relatives all when for a chocolate 4 ways and deep fried sorbet!, WOW outstanding!, really enjoyed our evening and will be returning again!. Five star all day long -⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKiltedChef, Director at The Kilted Chef, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you so much - we're so pleased you enjoyed your evening with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    30
    20
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“"A delightful way to end a lovely day in Bath"”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We were greeted on arrival by a lovely front of house manager called Nicky and shown to a stunning vaulted room beautifully decorated and lit perfectly.Shortly after our drinks arrived we recieved a basket full of freshly baked bread and infused oils.Then the feast really began - lobster and langoustine soup ,pidgeon & walnut salad & home smoked fish parfait - all of which were absolutly gorgeous.Next it got a little awkward because our teenage son did'nt really fancy any of the mains so chef offered a 'surprise' for him while we chose the venison & the obligatory turkey.After 10 minutes or so the mains arrived - all i can say is what ive said before - stunning - good seasonal ingredients used correctly,seasoned perfectly,cooked to perfection & beautifully presented.When our sons meal arrived he was very happy with his Aberdeen Angus rib eye steak cooked med rare ,How on earth did chef know this was his favourite !!Finally the desserts -we chose the poached wine fruits , chocolate tart and the cheese all of which were all very,very good.We hav'nt stopped talking about this dinner since and must say this was one of the best meals we have had in a lovely atmosphere ,damn good portion size which often is'nt the case in high end restaurants and at an affordable price - change from £200.00 for the 5 of us !!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 26helenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKiltedChef, Director at The Kilted Chef, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback - it really does lift the team to read that you had such a great time - this is what we are all striving to achieve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, South Wales
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing second visit”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We visited last year not long after this restaurant opened and were very happy with our table d'hote meal, so we booked again and visited for lunch on Saturday 30th November. What a difference!...and not in a good way.
The starters were very good, but the main course was a ridiculously small portion (same size as the starter) and no more than a glorified stew, which had no great depth of flavour. Consequently, we decided not to order desserts.
The wine was about £26, which is fine, but a bottle of still water was nearly £6!
We don't mind paying for quality food, but we came away hungry and disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKiltedChef, Director at The Kilted Chef, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We're sorry you didn't enjoy your second visit with us. Our team read all our reviews and analyse any criticisms made. Reluctantly however we have to accept sometimes that we cannot please all of our guests all of the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Requires redecorating”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Just had an evening out at the kilted chef - the food was impressive. Cooked to perfection and exquisite flavours and a surprising and creative menu which delivered on taste. Portions could be bigger but what really let the overall dining experience down was the lack of imagination which went into the design and ambience of the restaurant, it which was neither creative or imaginative. Too brightly lit, no interesting art on the walls , chipped paint and damp in both bathrooms and it just felt very'plain' . For this sort of money one would expect better attention to detail. An overall experience is important unfortunately the kilted chef just didn't deliver the whole package.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eggnalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKiltedChef, Director at The Kilted Chef, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments about your meal - we are thrilled you were impressed with the food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not as good as hoped.”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Was hoping for great things as it was our wedding anniversary and we travelled from just outside Portsmouth for a lovely weekend.....All looked promising until the starter of scallops and black pudding came out. Three of the tiniest scallops that were no bigger than a 10p piece and no thicker than about 3 10p's stacked on top of each other....Gutted to say the least. For nearly £12 I expected far better, not 1 scallop cut in 3 ?
Granted, it tasted nice but value for money, it was not. The same goes for the Venison main dish of which others have already reviewed, overpriced...my food was also only just warm on the plate.
Won't be visiting again as for a £150 meal: prosecco, starter, main and dessert with 1 bottle of wine, I left hungry and a little let down.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKiltedChef, Director at The Kilted Chef, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
It goes without saying that we are saddened to read that you were disappointed with your meal with us. If guests mention any concerns to us we always do our best to address these. We apologise if we were not able to live up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kilted Chef also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing