We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it! Great food and wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kilted Chef - CLOSED

The Kilted Chef
Price range: $19 - $64
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Kilted Chef is an independent restaurant in the centre of Bath, serving contemporary British food with a Scottish twist. Our warm and ambient dining facilities provide the perfect venue for a relaxed lunch or memorable dinner in the heart of Bath. All our dishes use only the finest ingredients whilst reflecting the varying seasons. Our set lunches and pre-theatre dishes offer particularly good value for money and we have received many favourable reviews of our A La Carte and bespoke taster menus which can be prepared on request.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved it! Great food and wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Visited for Saturday lunch with 2 friends, we came for the taster menu. We had the Taster 4 menu @ £65 with wine for each course included in the price. I thoroughly enjoyed all of the courses, my favourite course was the Ragout of Hand-dived Scallops, simply devine! The wine choices complimented each dish really well (I especially liked the Domaine Bergon Sauvignon Blanc). Lovely decor and atmosphere in the restaurant and staff were very welcoming and attentive and explained each course as they were brought out to us. You must also try their freshly baked bread and oils as these were lovely aswell (homemade rosemary oil and caramelised orange vingegar - if I remember correctly). Thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience and would love to return again. Thanks to you all for making it a great afternoon. Keep up the good work!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bex170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiltedChefBath, Manager at The Kilted Chef, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you Bex170 for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your Taster Menu, and it was a pleasure to meet you all and serve it to you. It is always great to have people who really appreciate the fantastic food that our Chef Dougie Bonar produces, and we hope to see you again soon. Best Regards, Sue Chalmers, Front of House Director, Kilted Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    30
    20
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb Bath Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have just returned from lunch at this superb restaurant. It offers amazingly high quality and well presented food (and wine!) and all at a very affordable price. The ambiance was relaxed and friendly and the people were simply brilliant: there when you needed them, but not at all intrusive. I cannot recommend this wonderful little restaurant highly enough. The Scottish chef has worked wonders. This was my first visit but it certainly won't be my last. Not only do you leave this restaurant with a satisfyingly full tummy but you do so with a big smile on your face too. Go!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nickshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiltedChefBath, Manager at The Kilted Chef, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you nickshort for your praising review of our still quite young restaurant - 5 months old in March! We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal & experience with us, and will hopefully look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards, Sue Chalmers, Front of House Director, Kilted Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Donald whars yer troosers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Went to the kilted chef in Bath with two other chums on a Saturday night, initial impressions were good with the canapes promising a degree of excellence for the rest of the food, however my partner who had two starters declared them tasteless and suggested the scallops were frozen, our soup was delicious, however opting for the Rossini it was well enough cooked but terribly bland. My chum put his finger on the problem by suggesting that for the price being charged this was certainley no where near top quality meat, and had it been it would have been world class. He is a beef farmer so I tend to go with him on this. We paid the bill and left sadly never to return to what could have been a top flight venue. Being a scot myself I suggest that the kilted chef puts his heritage behind him and lashes out on better ingrediants, however they had no problem charging the most extraordinary prices for what was served up.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tripstar500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiltedChefBath, Manager at The Kilted Chef, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you Allasher186370 for your constructive review. We would like to start by saying that unfortunately unless people tell us at the time, we are really unable to rectify any problems. With regards to the scallops, we can assure you that these were not frozen, and that we receive fresh daily. The beef we have tried to use for the last 2 weeks was from a local supplier, doing our bit for local business, but we have decided to revert to our original Scottish supplier now. With regards to the price, again, should you have mentioned your disappointment with the meal on the evening, then we would have looked to offer you something in compensation, however, compared to our competitors, we feel we have a very well priced menu, as unlike some, we do not charge extra for our vegetables or potatoes. Obviously we would like to see you return to the restaurant, and hope that you will reconsider in the future. Best Regards, Sue Chalmers, Front of House Director, Kilted Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super evening, great food and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Fashionably unorganised for my wife's birthday, The Kilted chef managed to secure my wife and I a table at very short notice. Not knowing what to expect we turned up hoping for a good evening. The staff were very attentive throughout our meal and the food was simply brilliant and we would not hesitate returning to this restaurant. My wife enjoyed a free cocktail in order to celebrate he birthday, a lovely touch, thank you very much.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidjmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiltedChefBath, Manager at The Kilted Chef, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you Davidjmorris for your flattering review of the Kilted Chef, of which it was a pleasure to help you celebrate your wife's birthday. Next time it's a birthday celebration let us know in advance and we'll also give you some home made chocolates in a box to take home. We look forward to seeing you again, Best Regards, Sue Chalmers, Front of House Director, Kilted Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best currently in Bath”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Went for set lunch menu with 4 adults and our toddler and all of us were equally impressed. The lunch priced at £17.95 for 3 courses plus bread with dips and coffee and chocolates is very reasonably priced for the very high quality food. The choice (even for the limited set lunch) was very varied. All of our food tasted fresh and was beautifully presented. The chef should be very proud of the high standard he is producing.
Service was very friendly and atmosphere was welcoming and relaxing. Would definately go back again and recommend to friends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasbahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiltedChefBath, Manager at The Kilted Chef, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you Jasbahm for your very positive review, of which we are extremely grateful for. It is fantastic to hear that you had such a great time with us, and that you found the food very reasonably priced, and that the service and atmosphere were also good. We hope that you will return again soon, and in the meantime spread the word to family and friends please! Best Regards, Sue Chalmers, Front of House Director, Kilted Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kilted Chef also viewed

 
Farmborough, Bath
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing