We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great vlue lunch and delicious food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kilted Chef - CLOSED

The Kilted Chef
Price range: $19 - $63
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Kilted Chef is an independent restaurant in the centre of Bath, serving contemporary British food with a Scottish twist. Our warm and ambient dining facilities provide the perfect venue for a relaxed lunch or memorable dinner in the heart of Bath. All our dishes use only the finest ingredients whilst reflecting the varying seasons. Our set lunches and pre-theatre dishes offer particularly good value for money and we have received many favourable reviews of our A La Carte and bespoke taster menus which can be prepared on request.
Newport, South Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great vlue lunch and delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We visited the Kilted Chef on Saturday 17th November after I found it listed on the Bath restaurants site the week previously. We were in Bath for the day on a shopping trip and wanted to eat somewhere independent with quality food without spending a fortune.
The food really lived up to the billing on their website and the atmosphere in the dining room was calm and relaxed. The wine was delicious and not overpriced, which is a trap that small venues often fall into.The waitress seemed a little inexperienced, but they had only been open a few weeks and I'm probably being a bit picky, and there was a genuine welcome from the front of house staff.
We had a lovely relaxing break from the trauma of Christmas shopping and I would recommend The Kilted Chef to anyone who knows the difference between food made with care and attention, and formulaic dishes produced by all the chains out there, many of which pose as independents. Eat local! and support chefs and restaurateurs who care.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiltedChefBath, Manager at The Kilted Chef, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thanks Karen S, we are glad we could be your sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of Christmas shopping, and that you truly enjoyed your meal. We have been very busy these past few weeks, hence our delayed reply, but we value your comments, especially regarding our staff, of whom we will be doing further training with in the new year. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Bath. Best Regards, Sue Chalmers, Front of House Director, Kilted Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    30
    20
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Scrumptious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Fine dining at its best. An explosion of delicious flavours at every course. Artistically presented. Definitely, a return visit is called for.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tarzia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiltedChefBath, Manager at The Kilted Chef, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you Tarzia G for your review, greatly appreciated, glad you enjoyed and are considering returning soon. Best Regards, Sue Chalmers, Front of House Director, Kilted Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Could go Far”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We went to the Kilted Chef on a recommendation and overall we were pleased, we got there and were greeted by the lovely front of house team, it did make us laugh that they all did try and seat us. We got our menus and ordered our food, we were a bit surprised that seeming they only do 4 or so dishes in each bit they had run out of things/ changed dishes and could not re-print the menu, as it was just on paper. Anyway the food was delicious, I would recommend the Belly Pork, my girlfriend had the shoulder of lamb and really enjoyed it except it has a large bit of gristle in, we would have said something but we had just about finished before we were asked is everything was ok. Dessert was lovely and could have eaten more (but we all could do that), then the paying part, we were really surprised what good value it was and thought it was extremely reasonable, we did feel sorry for them as the phone lines were down so they were asking people to pay cash and some people were just rude and I felt they dealt with this extremely well.

Overall seeming it has not been open long, they are going in the right direction

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Localboy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiltedChefBath, Manager at The Kilted Chef, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you Localboy23 for taking the time to write your review. We are grateful for your comments, but wish you had mentioned the lamb at the time, so that we could have dealt with it there and then, and can only apologise that you were not completely satisfied. We do thank you for your understanding and patients on the day for the lack of phone line, and can now confirm that BT have completed their engineering works due to the flooding, so hope that when you return you will experience a smoother payment service. Best Regards, Sue Chalmers, Front of House Director, Kilted Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Front of House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Really enjoyable evening with great food and ambience. We eat out in Bath regularly and try to go to different places each time. This place is pretty new and I have to say it's an excellent addition to the restaurant scene in Bath. Last time I had venison, it was at the only Michelin rated place in town and this knocked spots off it. My partner's vegetarian main course was equally good. Our meal cost a third of the Michelin place and was miles better. We'll be back. Thanks.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank forche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiltedChefBath, Manager at The Kilted Chef, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you so much forche for your very flattering review, we are so delighted that you enjoyed your first meal with us, and it was a pleasure to see you again for lunch this week. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, Best Regards, Sue Chalmers, Front of House Director, Kilted Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tip-Top Lunch Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Lunch with friends at the Kilted Chef is the perfect addition to a day out in Bath. It would be difficult to fault this restaurant, the lunchtime menu is very good value for top-quality food. From the welcoming homemade bread with flavoured oils as an appetiser to delicious coffee and chocolates at the end of our meal, every course was a delight, full of flavour and beautifully presented. This is the high standard of restaurant that Bath needs.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank distractedbykittens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiltedChefBath, Manager at The Kilted Chef, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you distractedbykittens for your flattering review, we are very pleased we were a perfect addition to your day out in Bath, and only apologise for the delayed reply due to the fact we are getting busier and busier, in part due to review such as yours, so again a huge thanks for taking the time to do so. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kilted Chef. Best Regards, Sue Chalmers, Front of House Director, Kilted Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kilted Chef also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing