We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant; great staff; great atmosphere”
Review of The Kilted Chef - CLOSED

The Kilted Chef
Price range: $21 - $72
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Kilted Chef is an independent restaurant in the centre of Bath, serving contemporary British food with a Scottish twist. Our warm and ambient dining facilities provide the perfect venue for a relaxed lunch or memorable dinner in the heart of Bath. All our dishes use only the finest ingredients whilst reflecting the varying seasons. Our set lunches and pre-theatre dishes offer particularly good value for money and we have received many favourable reviews of our A La Carte and bespoke taster menus which can be prepared on request.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We dined there on 13th November with two friends. Very warm welcome from Sue who remained very attentive throughout. Lovely food presented in a very appetising way. Superb Romanian red wine. Thoroughly recommend this restaurant. Has two separate alcove rooms which would be great fun for a private dinner. Great attention to detail and good understanding of customer's needs.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RHBristol_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiltedChefBath, Manager at The Kilted Chef, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

We are extremely grateful of your positive review RHBristol_10, and that you took the time to write it, it really does help us as many people have come into our restaurant because of feedback from people like yourselves on TripAdvisor. Indeed the alcove rooms make great private party spaces - we have hosted a few now, especially good for our Taster Menus - and hope that you may consider for your own special celebrations in the future. Many thanks, Best Regards, Sue Chalmers, Front of House Director, Kilted Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 207 of 219 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

New to Bath, this reataurant has taken over the premises from Meza Luna and the ambiance looks much the same. Warm welcome and taken straight to our table. Drink orders (glasses of wine) taken, and we had to wait quite a while before the drinks arrived. The bread also took a while to arrive. Luckily we were not in a hurry but a potential opportunity lost as a second glass of wine would certainly have been a possibility. The food while sounding splendid did not quite live up to expectation for example maize feed chicken and tiger prawns, one would have expected more than one prawn, the belly of pork was also lacking a little bit of .... however overall the food was well presented and the taste was, while not out of this world was good. Service was probably a little over attentive but for other people it may not have been enough. We went for the lunch menu and at £13.95 it included coffee which is a real plus as most set lunches around Bath exclude the coffee which adds that extra "hidden" price .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ichibanwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiltedChefBath, Manager at The Kilted Chef, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you Ichibanwanderer for your useful constructive review, of which both myself & Chef have taken onboard and can assure you that we are now serving the spedini with more prawns. With regards to the speed of drinks and bread, again we are upping the pace and therefore hope you will return to see the improvements there. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your experience of the Kilted Chef, and look forward to welcoming you back. Best Regards, Sue Chalmers, Front of House Director, Kilted Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We went to the Kilted Chef on a Friday evening. Although it was very busy, we were very warmly welcomed. We had a fantastic start with a glass of bubbles and the Chefs complimentary canapes, which were delicious. The prize for 3 a la carte courses was absolutely reasonable especially given the exceptional quality of the food en the way it was presented. Staff was very friendly, the atmosphere was top. All six of us were delighted. Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank vholderiedmilis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiltedChefBath, Manager at The Kilted Chef, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you so much Vholderiedmilis for your very positive comments, were a very grateful, and very glad you enjoyed yourselves. We hope you will return soon, and look forward to seeing you again. Best Regards, Sue Chalmers, Front of House Director, Kilted Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have eaten at this restaurant 3 times in a week, that is how good it is. The decor, relaxed atmosphere, staff and service is outstanding and every thing about it is first class. From the time we walked into the restaurant we were met by friendly smiling staff, our coats taken and we were shown to our table by Sue. The food was so fantastic, we had 3 courses every time as we could not resist finishing with the fabulous sweets menu, all courses were so tasty and beautifully presented. The wine list was also excellent. Without a doubt the best food I have had in a restaurant in this area, there was nothing to dislike.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiltedChefBath, Manager at The Kilted Chef, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you so much D W for your very flattering review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your experiences, and have really given us a try out - 3 times in a week, and bringing new friends each time! We very much hope to see you soon! Best Regards, Sue Chalmers, Front of House Director, Kilted Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

For ages I've looked for a restaurant in Bath & Bristol which oozes class and produces food that not only looks amazing but tastes fantastic too, and now I have found one!
The service is spot on, being acknowledged when you walk in, coats taken and hung up safely, and then a warmly welcoming hostess who seats you in very comfortable surroundings, with staff who are attentive to your needs, but not over the top. And always SMILING!
The tables are properly dressed with crisp white linen, polished glassware and cutlery, and candles lit. Intimate for two, but equally perfect for 4 or more friends.
The food comes beautifully presented on curved contemporary white dishes, stylish on the eye, and a delight on the palate! This is food that has be carefully thought through, flavours which classically marry, textures which compliment, and ingredients which are fresh and well sourced.
We were concerned when we ascended to the basement, but left extremely well fed, watered - or in fact wined on a lovely Malbec - and looked after with personal attention. A proper dining experience.
We can't wait to return soon, to our new favourite restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FoodieRoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiltedChefBath, Manager at The Kilted Chef, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you FoodieRoos for your very detailed review, and glad you enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to your new favourite restaurant! Best Regards, Sue Chalmers, Front of House Director, Kilted Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kilted Chef also viewed

 
Farmborough, Bath
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing