We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem”

You & Me coffee and cake boutique
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We were looking for a peaceful lunch on one of the busiest weekends in the year in Bath - the Bath Half Marathon - and we stumbled across this little restaurant tucked away in a quiet courtyard. We had some lovely jacket potatoes. The decor is bright and clean. A great find.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BalletRusse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Waste of time and money. Very disappointed.”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Wandered past and saw the sign for iced coffee and ice tea, I love iced drinks, especially iced tea and always like to find nice independent coffee shops.
Walking in this place it looked lovely, the decor was nice, we ordered and the lady who took our order seems completely bewildered, confused by the till and kept looking up at the menu, we had somewhere to be in 35mons but thought this would be plenty of time. The people sat next to us had no food or drinks and I thought this looked like a bad sign, 10 minutes went by and no sign of any drinks, the other people had one drink delivered, then several minutes later one meal, then another meal which had to be returned as the salmon was missing from the dish. Once the meal had bee returned their second drink arrived. By this time another 10 minutes had gone by, as the waitress walked past I asked if our drinks could be 'to go'. After we had slowly got our coats on we approached the counter, my frappe was on the counter waiting, although it looked more like a juice with ice in and my partners drink a coconut-chocolate frappe was only 3/4 full. As the lady passed us out drink she said 'sorry'!!!!
We both tasted the coconut-chocolate frappe and there was no sign of any coconut, after 3 sips my partner gave up and threw it away. A complete and utter waste of £6.40. Couldn't have been more disappointed.
Don't bother going here.

Helpful?
Thank dumdeeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“relaxing atmosphere and very clean”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We happened upon this place when we wanted tea and cakes just before the theatre. It is ideally placed for the theatre, as only a minute away. As it was tucked away, it wasn't too busy even though it was Saturday afternoon. It was a lovely atmosphere, very relaxing with gentle music playing. We liked the decor which was light and bright and everything was very clean. We ordered coffee and cakes and the service, though slightly haphazard, was quite quick. A couple at the next table did have a bit of a moan to the waiter who had brought them the wrong order. The staff did seem a bit out of their depth, and seemed inexperienced. But hopefully in time will get the hang of things! Our coffee and cakes though were delicious and we would go back again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a lovely place to relax”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

I have visited You & Me several times and have always enjoyed the experience. The staff are friendly and it has a relaxed atmosphere, tucked away as it is behind the theatre.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leah_and_Sav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAST DEVON
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disorganised!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I did not complain here as I felt really very sorry for the 2 young staff who seemed to be totally out of their depth. The place is pleasant enough to look at, but we really should have been warned when we saw four empty tables laden with dirty crockery. We ordered and paid and then had a considerable wait seeing as though we only ordered a tea, coffee and hot chocolate and two pieces of cake. We must have waited 20 minutes and in that time the dirty tables were not cleared and when our order arrived we had to ask for the table to be cleaned. There was nothing wrong with our drinks and the cake was ok. All in all it was a bit of a shambles.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CHRISTINEEastDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed You & Me coffee and cake boutique also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing