We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Georgian house in the heart of Bath”

Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B
Ranked #97 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Georgian house in the heart of Bath”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We visited for one night on a short break to Bath and relished the chance to stay in such a stunning and grand house which retains its period features. The location is perfect and we had great views over the park and hills. After a day of sightseeing it is an easy stroll back from the centre and it was great to relax in the clean, spacious room afterwards. There were plenty of restaurants and bars within easy reach for the evening. We were given a very friendly welcome from our hosts and we enjoyed a delicious and very substantial breakfast served in a stunning conservatory. We loved the Austrian breakfast, but an English option is also available. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed Wednesday 17th July for daughters graduation the following day. Sir Walter Elliot's House was so lovely we wish we could have stayed longer. The house is spacious and beautifully restored in the Regency style. Julian and Mechthild made our stay even better by being such wonderful and warm hosts. We stayed in Mrs Clays Room, our daughter in the adjoining room next door, both of which were charmingly furnished and decorated. Guests were given the use of the sitting/drawing room, a huge bonus, its such a lovely room to take tea . Our beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom modern and spotless. The following morning we had both the Austrian and the Full English breakfast in the large courtyard garden. The food was plentiful and of a great standard, the tables prettily set and the service was friendly and attentive. All in all we would highly recommend this B&B and are looking forward for a chance to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KWest104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellendale, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was my first B&B in years. The house was absolutely gorgeous, our room was enormous & incredibly comfortable & the proprietors wonderfully hospitable & engaging.
It's location is an easy 10 minute stroll to the center & so in a lovely quiet location.
The only slight disappointment was that we had 2 single beds pushed together with 2 single duvets when had specifically asked for a double bed. We were also unable to lock our door but the proprietors were very reassuring; this could be an issue for those use to more security conscious.
The breakfast was a little average & lacking a little diversity, but then it's stated as being "free".
Overall a really pleasant stay, the location room & proprietors were excellent.
Oh but bring an extension cord to blow dry your hair with a mirror view!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Sir Walter Elliot's House for two nights in June 2013. The place is so beautiful! It's Victorian style; it has huge, comfortable rooms with large windows overlooking a picturesque garden. The only downside of place is that we didn't want to leave it so most of our Bath vacation was spent in our room! It's a true gem!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ziv f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at the house for one night on 20th June. Both Julian and Mechthi have been very warm and hospitable. We stayed in Mrs Smith's room. The room has a beautiful view of the garden. The initial climb up the stairs to our room with our luggages which was situated on the 4th floor was a little challenging for me, but it was well worth the effort. The room has a very nice decor and is spacious. I like the guest folder which was compiled and has a personal touch to it. The folder contains an article by George Carlin which i enjoy reading a lot and constantly reflect upon the words. There were other interesing information about Bath inside the folder. The room also has a book shelf with a wide selection of books, I could only wish i have more time in Bath to read some of these books. I believe Julian and Mechthi have made great effort to make all guests feel relaxed and at ease with the thoughtful setup of the bedrooms. The breakfast was delightful and delicious and their kitchen is very nice. It was a memorable and beautiful place with beautiful people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quietgirl_1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a perfect B&B. We've stayed all over the world, and in ever type of lodging from itinerant workers' hotels in Turkey to Castles in France and Spain, large resorts and luxury hotels to small one bedroom B&Bs, and this is one of our absolute favorites.

It is perfectly located in a quality residential area, across from Sydney Gardens and a very short walk to the City Center, but without the traffic, crowds, and noise of being in the Center.

It is a beautiful older home, lovingly restored and furnished, with comfortable beds and quality linens, spacious bedrooms, and magnificent common areas. These include the elegant ballroom and dining room, a cheerful breakfast nook and terrace off the kitchen, a pleasing eat-in kitchen, and the atmospheric kitchens in the basement. From the stairwell one sees St. Mary's Church; the front windows look across at the Sydney Gardens. The home has a wonderful selection of good books, movies, and music if you're held in by the weather or just want a day to relax in quiet.

Breakfast is superb, warm croissants, jams and yogurts, cereals, cheeses and fruits, and full English or Austrian for a main, all served to order on china with no sparing of plates and cutlery.

The hosts are most friendly and helpful with ideas for sightseeing. Umbrellas and picnic baskets are available as needed/desired.

All of this comes at a price - this is not a place for bargain hunters - but high-end travelers would be hard-pressed to do better. And for Jane Austin fans, well, they filmed scenes from the BBC version of Persuasion here.

What more can be done to create a perfect B&B?

Room Tip: If you need multiple rooms it is very easy here to have one of the floors essentially to yourselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_Bingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have just come back from a hen weekend staying at Sir Walter Elliot's House (also part of the venue is known as Bathwick Gardens where I have put the same review). There were 11 of us and we took up both the self-catering basement apartment and rooms upstairs. We were looked after wonderfully by Mechthild and Julian who could not have done more to make our stay as excellent as it was. They tended to our every need, nothing was too much trouble, very friendly indeed. The breakfasts were lovely and loads of choice, and we had a fantastic candle-lit dinner on the Saturday night in the grand dining room. There was a large drawing room on the 1st floor that we enjoyed for pre-dinner drinks and after-dinner games and drinks. It was a pleasure dealing with Julian in the run up to the weekend as well and took the stress out of arranging a hen weekend. It is in a great location and only a short walk to bars, restaurants and attractions. We had our own keys and were able to come and go as we pleased (contrary to a previous review which can be ignored!)

This lovely place comes highly recommended, I'll definitely go back... fantastic weekend! And we had a very happy hen!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
1,149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 34 in Bath
1,346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queen Charlotte's Orangery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St Christopher's Inn Bath
0.8 mi away
The Bath House
The Bath House
#7 of 154 in Bath
1,795 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#41 of 154 in Bath
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B

Property: Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B
Address: 95 Sydney Place, Bath BA2 6NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Sir Walter Elliot's House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing