We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great time”

Bath City Boat Trips-Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great time”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Whilst on our visit to bath I took my family on the boatvtrip.it was fantastic the sun was shining the water was clear, the young
chap who drove the boat was friendly (cheers rob) what a great guy.the commentary was a laugh a minute.and the history lesson was great for the kuds and myself alike.I would definitely recommend nto anybody that visits bath....great value for your money

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank whiffer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    19
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not the best side of Bath to be honest”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The trip went smoothly and the skipper has a pretty entertaining line of banter, there is however not too much to see of historic Bath from the river - the highlight is right at the end getting up-close to the weir and Pulteney Bridge = a nice photo opportunity here but otherwise not really great for sight-seeing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bluet0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Bath River Treat”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

A thoroughly informative commentary, we saw both Kingfishers and Peregrine Falcons and our close up visit to Pulteney weir was most spectacular. A very pleasant 45 minutes thank you.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nothing to see”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We booked this boat trip using a voucher from a deals website. Thank goodness we didn't pay the full price - it wasn't even worth the discounted price. The boat went to a rear of a supermarket and back again, and the commentary was dire. We did see the falcons on the church, but these can be seen anyway.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Guest Relations Manager at Bath City Boat Trips-Day Tours, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hi thank you for your comments and I am most sorry that all you saw was the back of a supermarket and listened to a dire commentary. I can only assume you had perhaps fallen asleep and missed the sightings of the various bridges and buildings of Bath on the river including Jane Austen's riverside apartment, North Parade buildings and the magnificent close up view of the historic Pulteney bridge and weir. I am also sorry if learning of Bath's history on the river does not appeal to you, in fact our Blue Badge Guide is particularly interested as to what part of his commentary you had taken particular exception to, or was it that you did not understand any of it?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bath City Boat Trip 45 minutes”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I took my family on the 1pm sailing and have to say that we were very surprised at how much there was to learn on the river in Bath. They have many bridges some built by the famous Brunel, a nest of Peregrine Falcons, a Crescent, various examples of Bath's architecture over the Years and the finale is a trip very close to the water fall at Pulteney Weir, this proved to be a real photo opportunity.
All this with a very informative and at times humorous commentary.
I would definitely recommend this experience.
One tip, we got our tickets from the shop Abbey Photo Service on York Street (look for the Roman Soldier guarding the door!) and saved 30% off each ticket.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bath City Boat Trips-Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Bath City Boat Trips-Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing