We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality”
Review of Allium Restaurant

Allium Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Allium Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #74 of 618 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Allium Brasserie opened in 2012 and serves a variety of dishes from light lunches to a la carte dinner from 12 noon until 9pm (10pm on Friday and Saturdays). A superb range of dishes, using the freshest, seasonal ingredients, are created by head chef Chris Staines and his team. Terrace dining can be enjoyed when the weather is good, where you can also enjoy coffees and afternoon teas - also served in the Allium Lounge where you are surrounded by original artworks in an ever-changing exhibition. One the most exciting restaurants in Bath.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Really loved the venue and location. We booked for our minimoon break and had cocktails to begin - an excellent cocktail menu and service. Cannot praise this restaurant more for our wonderful experience.

Thank Lizzy1984MC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at Allium Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear Lizzie

Thank you for your review of cocktails and dining at Allium, delighted that it was part of your Minimoon break and so pleased that you enjoyed the experience.

Thank you and I hope we welcome you back maybe for an anniversary!

Best Wishes

Ian Taylor
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

387 - 391 of 754 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2014

Dropped in for a 2 course lunch at beginning of week (Monday). Excellent 'confit de canard' (tastier than most I have had in France) and a peach and ice cream dessert with coulis.....the dishes always have something new and different so just reading the name of the course is not enough to describe the culinary experience....one negative was the interminable waits for courses, which in our experience of the Allium, is unusual but Monday Is Chris Staines day off and there was an impending change of floor manager (I believe)....the bill for 2 was just under £40 (drank a beer and no coffee) .....a definite for anyone looking to eat in Bath....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robotpierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at Allium Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear RobertPierre

Many thanks for your very positive feedback following your recent dining experience at Allium, delighted to read how much you enjoyed the food.

I note that you felt it was a little slow and can only apologise for this, it is true that Chris Staines is sometimes off on Monday, traditionally a Chef's day off, but not always so and not an excuse for slower service, we have taken note.

Once again thank you for your very positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Ian Taylor
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

During our short trip to Bath we have been to the Allium Brasserie twice. The reason? Great gin and tonics and (even greater) service! The Artbar is lovely located outside in the vincinity of the Avon river, but what really makes this a standout place is the service. Ross is the most attentative, polite and knowledgeable waiter you will ever come across. Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Joakim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at Allium Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Hello JoakimB

Very pleased to read how much you enjoyed dining at Allium on your recent visit to Bath, thank you for the special mention for Ross, delighted to read how welcome he made you.
I hope you have the chance to visit again when you are next in Bath.

Thank you once again

Best Wishes

Ian Taylor
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Wonderful food, great to see Vitello Tonnato on the menu, lovely fish, good wine list. Only let down by patchy service and the fact that tables nearby were left uncleared for the whole duration of our lunch.

Thank Allvox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeyhoteloperations, Owner at Allium Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Allvox

Many thanks for your praise for the food at Allium when you dined recently, really delighted that you enjoyed it so much, we take on board your comments re service and will be ensuring improvement is made.

We hope to see you at Allium again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Dined here early evening. Despite the early bird menu on offer represented good value, we had a couple of starters and a main each. Had ribs which were delicious, fell off the bone together with lamb croquettes which were interesting. For main we both opted for the belly of pork which was nice, mine though a little bit fattier than I have had in the past. Passed on dessert as we decided to hit one of the ice cream parlours. Nice decor, great location with outside seating/dining area that allows one to watch the world go by. Thinking about it, I don't think the food as a whole reflected the anticipation of the reviews of the chef. Was expecting something more, considering he has worked in 2 establishments that held Michelin stars. Would recommend it but would not rush back if in Bath again. Would prefer to try somewhere different.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank flynn1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allium Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Allium Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing