We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended 100%”
Review of Allium Restaurant

Allium Restaurant
Ranked #58 of 574 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Allium Brasserie opened in 2012 and serves a variety of dishes from light lunches to a la carte dinner from 12 noon until 9pm (10pm on Friday and Saturdays). A superb range of dishes, using the freshest, seasonal ingredients, are created by head chef Chris Staines and his team. Terrace dining can be enjoyed when the weather is good, where you can also enjoy coffees and afternoon teas - also served in the Allium Lounge where you are surrounded by original artworks in an ever-changing exhibition. One the most exciting restaurants in Bath.
Chania Town, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recommended 100%”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great restaurant, with very delicate and unique tastes. The atmosphere is so nice and relax. The service is great and the personnel comes up with great suggestions with regard to the wine choices that go well with every dish. I would certainly go again there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyprianos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    171
    68
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor communication....”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had a table booked for 3 at 8.45 last night, we arrived 30 mins early to have a drink in the bar at 9.00 we enquired why we hadn't been seated and within 10 mins were taken to our table. At the end of our meal the waitress confessed that lots of people had arrived late and they had had a problem with stacked up orders in the kitchen, given we weren't served our main course until 10.30 with no explanation I feel the way they handled the problem was poor, particulary for the prices the restaurant charges. The food however was nice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
591 reviews
460 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Top restaurant right in the heart of Bath”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The chef here is Chris Staines who has held Michelin stars at other establishments in London, although here he is apparently going for a more casual approach. It’s fairly new, having been opened about three months, and was consequently quite smart and tidy with a contemporary feel.

Staff were all friendly and very helpful. The complimentary bread was a Rice Sourdough variety which was pleasant and very crunchy! The choice was slightly limited with about six choices per course, and a few of the combinations being unusual (or unknown!), but again, what we had we both thoroughly enjoyed, and this was a very good meal. A portion of triple cooked chips were charged extra at £3.00, but the one portion was plenty for us both to share.

I had Quail glazed in Chilli Caramel with Chinese Cabbage, Hearts of Palm, Lychee, Peanuts and Coriander for starter; Fillet of Atlantic Haddock with Cornish Mussels, Chorizo and Butter nut Squash followed by Poached peach with lemon thyme ice cream, sugared almonds & Amaretti biscuits

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blackth0rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Full marks for this restaurant which is a great addition to the choice in Bath. We were recommended by a friend, and thanks to that we had a great experience. The set menu was good, but we decided to treat ourselves to the a la carte menu.

The courses were tremendously tasty, with excellent combinations of taste and texture. This is a Michelon starred restaurant but frankly the prices are very good value for money. We will soon be back to this excellent restaurant with happy and helpfully staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happystaying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Allium Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The best Sunday lunch I've ever had! We had the 2 course set menu, which included roast beef. Every single part of it was delicious. Superb friendly service too! Very highly recommended.

Pippa

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pippa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allium Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Allium Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing