We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What Did The Romans Do For Us?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roman Baths Kitchen

Roman Baths Kitchen
Ranked #75 of 563 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Neighboring the iconic Roman Baths and Bath Abbey, The Roman Baths Kitchen is a stunning Georgian townhouse, lovingly transformed into a contemporary restaurant in the heart of Bath. The restaurant is open daily for breakfast, coffee, lunch, dinner and bar drinks. With a large outside seating area, The Roman Baths Kitchen is perfectly positioned for a spot of alfresco dining amongst some of Bath's most beautiful architecture. The restaurant is a great choice and groups looking to dine in the centre of Bath.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“What Did The Romans Do For Us?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Roman Baths Kitchen is a spacious lunch and dinner venue in Bath with attractive outdoor seating which is especially in enjoyable in summer. The staff were attentive but not over-friendly. My Club Sandwich was very good but a description of avocado mayonnaise appeared misguided. I could only imagine that the mayo had once shared a kitchen with an avocado but I don’t think they exchanged bodily fluids. Perhaps, more prosaically, the chef forgot the avocado. My chips were becoming cold and could have reached me sooner. My partner’s charcuterie plate was excellent and the bread plate could have been used to re-supply a small bakery. I am not over fond of chocolate ice cream but the salted peanuts in the slightly self-explanatory Snickerbocker Glory were the perfect complement in a dish I ate for greed not need.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Oram_Eats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    253
    97
    58
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely breakfast and view but staff inexperienced and slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stopped here one sunny morning in Bath to sit outside and eat breakfast - Full english is good quality and a reasonable price (£7.95). My partner ordered a vegetarian breakfast but received the wrong order, an alternative was offered.
Service was slow due to being a busy morning and we had already finished our drinks before breakfast came.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelgeo1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norah Head, Australia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Went here for lunch while in Bath the food was fantastic had a selection of local breads with good quality olive oil and tapenade to dip the bread in. Fantastic Spicy Tomato soup and salt and pepper squid with home made aoli. Well worth visiting and having a meal there. Does get busy though may have to wait a short time for a table but highly recommended.

David & Robyn - Australia

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sorro63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
129 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

After a trip to the Thermae Spa we stopped here for coffee and lunch. We had great service and the food was perfectly fine although I do agree it was a couple of pounds over priced for what it was. We both had the red ruby beef burgers and thoroughly enjoyed them.

We would definitely come here again. Thanks to our waitress Beth who was very polite and well spoken and was happy to talk about her time at the University and what she was studying. The staff can make all the difference.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowy747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food average service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

The food here was surprisingly good, we ate lunch here and really enjoyed the food, the service was average could have been friendlier but as a whole not bad would go back and worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahjayne186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roman Baths Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Roman Baths Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing