We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good meal”
Review of Brasserie Blanc

Brasserie Blanc
Ranked #83 of 587 Restaurants in Bath
Price range: $16 - $54
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Brasserie Blanc is located in the Francis Hotel on the beautiful Queen Square and within walking distance of Bath's shops, restaurants and the world famous Roman Baths & Pump Rooms. On arrival you will be greeted by our friendly, knowledgeable team and the lively ambience is complemented by a menu inspired by the simple, hearty dishes of M. Blanc's childhood. Alongside an appetising a la carte menu and carefully selected wine list it offers an excellent value set menu and on Sundays it serves a classic roast with all the trimmings. Younger diners can choose from a special children's menu or order a half sized portion of many of the a la carte dishes on offer.Whether you are looking for a simple lunch, a romantic dinner or a family celebration it is the perfect choice!
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We were staying at the Francis hotel and decided to have dinner there in our last evening due to the weather outside. It was a pleasant dinner and an enjoyable evening. We ordered from the A la Carte menu instead of the set menu. There was a good selection to choose from and the service was prompt and courteous. The quality and presentation of our courses were good, the taste was also lovely. There was a good selection of wine to choose from also. All in all it was a very good value for money meal set in a lovely location. The restaurant itself was decorated with a warm ambiance, the tables was of good size and the chairs comfortable. The staff was efficient and friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fierce-Spicy-Chilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanc B, Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you so much for your effort to write such lovely feedback about us. I am delighted that you enjoyed the food and service.

Best Wishes

Piotr Skrzesinski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,108)
There are newer reviews for Brasserie Blanc
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

735 - 739 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were a table of six. We were seated early, 5:30 and there were possibly 5 - 6 other tables seated at the time. It was not busy.

Service was slow, we had to ask them to speed up after waiting 40 minutes for the starters.

The scallop starter was a few very small bites of scallop with mushy potato. They were crunchy with sand and one had shells (? Scallop shells ?) in it. £8.50 for what was an unpalatable 2 full bites of food. The "special" starter was a small pot of boiling cheese and two slices of unremarkable bread. No seasoning, nothing more than microwaved cheese and two pieces of bread. I think it was £7.50.

I had the salmon as a main. It was a piece of salmon. No seasoning, no sauce, no presentation. Salmon on a plate. One small piece of salmon and some bagged salad with a drizzle of balsamic. One of us had the pork. He was going to stop and get something to eat after we left. The rest had the lamb special, all of which were cooked incorrectly and switched around the table instead of waiting another 30 minutes. They said it was tasty, but unremarkable.

We are not big eaters and we do not mind paying for good food. We left hungry and the food was not good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank KeepBooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanc B, Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We are always open for all kinds of feed back and I am really sorry to hear that your meal was disappointing. Is unacceptable to wait 40 minutes for starters and this shouldn't happen. We always try to do our best but we are like other establishment not perfect and we do get it wrong.Is never our intention to leave people unhappy.

Best Wishes
Piotr Skrzesinski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This was our first visit to Brasserie Blanc. Service was brilliant and the food even better!
I had the set menu which was a choice of 2 or 3 courses for a very reasonable price. My partner chose off the main menu, neither of us were disappointed. We would defiantly return when we visit Bath again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Willow789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanc B, Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visits. I am really pleased that you enjoy the food and service here. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This was our second visit to this restaurant, and again (stupidly ) I had the pasta on the set menu. After a very unexciting starter of celaric remoulard, the pasta was supposed to be with french blue cheese ( forgotten the name ) and walnuts. I counted 2 walnuts and the cheese was so thinly scattered on the top of the pasta that I could not taste anything at all. We were with friends so it was not the time to complain. If you are going to do a special set menu, the standard must be up to the standard of the 'a la carte'

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank achnacille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanc B, Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you very much for your honest review. Firstly, please accept our sincere apologies regarding your disappointing experience at our Brasserie. It is real shame that we were not able to impress you again this time. We encourage our guests to give us feedback straight away so we can rectify any problems there and then.

Best Wishes

Piotr Skrzesinski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We've eaten in previous Brasserie Blancs before and never really been that impressed. We only chose to eat here as it was easy too whilst staying at the hotel, we were glad we did. The food was great and the service was impeccable. We even returned for breakfast the following morning choosing to eat here over the hotels breakfast that was double the price!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanc B, Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visits. I am really pleased that you enjoy the food and service here. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Blanc also viewed

 

Been to Brasserie Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing