We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful and worth a visit”

Old Time Vintage Tea Rooms
Ranked #5 of 47 Coffee & Tea in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delightful and worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Recently took my Mum to celebrate her 80th birthday and it was an enjoyable experience. The food was good, plenty of it and all with pleasant, friendly service.

I have been several times and thoroughly recommend the ploughmans: although today we had the cream tea, which is 100% better than that offered in the Pump Rooms.

THe tea is made from real tea ( a strainer is provided) and there is a fantastic, nostalgic atmosphere. If in Bath, it is well worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susieq8860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    110
    41
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic, a must when in Bath!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

My husband and I just stayed for a couple of nights in Bath, and had breakfast both mornings at Bea's.

The hostess was instantly friendly when we walked in and we felt very welcome, she even gave us some great tips on Bath. The decor is fantastic and teamed with the era's music, you feel like you have stepped back into the 40's! The breakfast was delicious (hence going there both days) and tea and coffee was served in authentic vintage tea cups and saucers.

Unfortunately we didn't get a chance to try the cakes, but they looked amazing! Looking forward to going back when we next visit Bath.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous and well worth a visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Visited (mum and daughter) on a miserable wet afternoon after a trip to Bath Academy of Media Makeup, just up the road. We had delicious mushroom soup and a cream tea and would have loved to sample the cakes too. Decor, china, tablecloths etc all authentic and just a bit different from any other tea rooms we have visited, right down to the waitress's outfit and the music. The tea was lovely too. Will definitely go back on next trip to Bath, maybe in better weather!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Design73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, England
Level Contributor
173 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Tasty late lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Called in here for a late lunch after visiting the Fashion Museum. It was an excellent choice. The food was really good - I had a delicious thick mushroom soup and my husband went for the chicken and mushroom pie served with a generous salad. Both were piping hot and very tasty. The tea was exceptionally high quality too.

The decor is quirky with vintage embroidered table-cloths and mismatched china. We really loved it. Our waitress was cheerful, welcoming and informative about the menu. Would certainly go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cornish Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“The place grew on me”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

At first I thought the tea rooms was gimmicky and lacked substance. However - we had a very relaxed lunch here and the food was pleasant and fairly priced. I enjoyed the decor and the vintage inspired attire of the waitresses. A good place to go with a girlfriend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Duckandbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Time Vintage Tea Rooms also viewed

 

Been to Old Time Vintage Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing