We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hostel is better.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roman City Guest House
Ranked #138 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
U.S./Europe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A hostel is better.”
Reviewed May 30, 2010

Train runs directly below the house so expect to be awaken at 5:30 am every morning and every subsequent hour by the London to Reading/Paddington.

The decor is poor, rooms somewhat smelly. Mattress is nice.

No ensuite bathrooms. Breakfast is somewhat meagre. Astonishingly overpriced (£85 per night).

We would never choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymousU_S_Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    26
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
37
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Parma
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2010

My girlfriend and me have travelled a lot around Europe since 1993, always looking for good quality-price relation accomodations.
Last month we went to Cardiff for an holiday week, following the Italian National Rugby Team for the (very bad!) match against Wales.
We've talk so much with some welsh friends of us about the near city of Bath, so we decided to spend at least two days overthere.
We've found this small hotel on a paper just the day before our arrival.
The building is very close to the city centre, only something about 10 minutes by foot.
It is very nice cause recently restored by the owner Mrs Davies and her gentle husband.
There are rooms with or without water closet, but always with washbasin and shower.
Fresh flowers everywhere: inside the rooms, on the stairs and on every single dining table.
And what about the breakfast?
Bread, butter, coffee, corn flakes, eggs, fresh fruits, marmalades, milk, muesli, omelette, tea, yogurt and... a porridge, too!!!
We spend there two unforgettable days and we hope we'll come back soon...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewCowboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co mayo
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2010

was there before it gets better all the time shan and shilea tock us every where as our car brock down they could not do enough for us as we would have been lost we were looked after so well we will shorley be back thank you so mutch

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank maudmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2010

we arrived to Bath in Easter and we didn't have any accommodation, it was very difficult to find anything because everything was fully. But this friendly couple helped and we could sleep in Roman City for one night and they helped us to find another BandB for the next night, very close and with the same characteristics.

Thank you!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reycoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2009

We stayed at the Roman City Guest House for one night en route to visit relatives, and whilst I agree with many of the other reviewers that the guest house offered reasonable value for money, I have to say I was a bit disappointed with our overall experience of the guest house.

When we arrived it was raining heavily, and we had to ring the bell for 10 minutes before anyone opened the door (by a guest who was leaving the guest house), which wasn't the best welcome. We were eventually met by someone who showed us where the room was, but failed to tell us that the bathroom was located on another floor, so we spent another 10 minutes looking for the bathroom. Maybe I'm being picky, but I think that a decent welcome and being told where to find the bathroom is important to guests.

Aside from these issues, the guest house was clean, the room adequate, and the guest house was centrally located which was useful; but unfortunately - due to the aforementioned reasons - we did not feel the hospitality was particularly great in the guest house so this has affected our overall review.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sooty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We have stayed here twice, each time has been great,Sheila and shaun cannot do enough for you,we had good times with them talking about the b&b,they told us places to visit,anything you wanted they were there,when it comes to meals you would have to go some to beat it,you can go allday on it,we will be going back,they work hard and need surport.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZeroKentUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2009

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Roman City Guest House. It's a lovely place, extremely clean and well looked after. The breakfast was lovely, the bed comfy but what made our stay so memorable was Sheila, our hostess. She was so helpful and friendly, I felt really touched by how much she looked after us. This is how a business should be run and it is the treatment we received that will make me come back to Roman City Guest House. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trinagray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,247 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,382 reviews
0.6 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#40 of 157 in Bath
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Charlotte's Orangery
0.1 mi away
Number 17 Bath
Number 17 Bath
#58 of 157 in Bath
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman City Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman City Guest House

Property: Roman City Guest House
Address: 18 Raby Place, Bath BA2 4EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roman City Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Roman City Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing