We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly and helpful owners”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roman City Guest House
Ranked #139 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 5, 2010

we arrived to Bath in Easter and we didn't have any accommodation, it was very difficult to find anything because everything was fully. But this friendly couple helped and we could sleep in Roman City for one night and they helped us to find another BandB for the next night, very close and with the same characteristics.

Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reycoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Roman City Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 73 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2009

We stayed at the Roman City Guest House for one night en route to visit relatives, and whilst I agree with many of the other reviewers that the guest house offered reasonable value for money, I have to say I was a bit disappointed with our overall experience of the guest house.

When we arrived it was raining heavily, and we had to ring the bell for 10 minutes before anyone opened the door (by a guest who was leaving the guest house), which wasn't the best welcome. We were eventually met by someone who showed us where the room was, but failed to tell us that the bathroom was located on another floor, so we spent another 10 minutes looking for the bathroom. Maybe I'm being picky, but I think that a decent welcome and being told where to find the bathroom is important to guests.

Aside from these issues, the guest house was clean, the room adequate, and the guest house was centrally located which was useful; but unfortunately - due to the aforementioned reasons - we did not feel the hospitality was particularly great in the guest house so this has affected our overall review.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sooty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We have stayed here twice, each time has been great,Sheila and shaun cannot do enough for you,we had good times with them talking about the b&b,they told us places to visit,anything you wanted they were there,when it comes to meals you would have to go some to beat it,you can go allday on it,we will be going back,they work hard and need surport.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZeroKentUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Roman City Guest House. It's a lovely place, extremely clean and well looked after. The breakfast was lovely, the bed comfy but what made our stay so memorable was Sheila, our hostess. She was so helpful and friendly, I felt really touched by how much she looked after us. This is how a business should be run and it is the treatment we received that will make me come back to Roman City Guest House. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trinagray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

After going around uniform looking Bath in circles, we finally found the guest house, so make sure you get clear directions and a map before arriving.
Shaun was very welcoming and carried our cases to our lovely big room. We had the four-poster with shower, but the toilet and a bath were on the landing. He said this was due to the fact the building was heritage listed and therefore had building restrictions. They had renovated it themselves and done a fantastic job.Our room overlooked the train line but each train that went through was so quick the noise didn't worry us. Also after doing a lot of walking we were tired enough that we slept very soundly.
Breakfast was the best yet - lovely fresh fruit, filtered coffee and a great choice of cooked options. We had the omelettes which were lovely and fresh and made with the filling of your choice.
The only negative was the fact they couldn't get the wireless internet to work.
Shaun recommended the free walking tour of Bath which was definitely worth doing. he also suggested we drop in on the village of Lacock when we left, and this too was a great place to see.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2008

I would thoroughly recommend Roman City guest house as a base for exploring Bath and the surrounding area. It is located a short, pleasant walk (about ten minutes) from the city centre and you can park outside - as mentioned in another review Sheila and Shaun are happy to let you use one of their parking permits all day, even on your last day.

Our room was at the back, overlooking the train track, and the whole building does rumble when the trains go through, which we thought added to the fun of the place. The trains did not run between about 10:30 pm and 7:00 am so they did not disturb us at night. It is an old building that has been beautifully restored. No double glazing as has been noted by another reviewer, but I suspect that would be the same for many regency buildings in Bath. The great thing about the location is that it is relatively quiet compared with the city centre, so not much in the way of traffic or noisy people outside.

The owners, Sheila and Shaun, gave us a great welcome and were very helpful and friendly, which really makes a difference. They have plenty of ideas for things to do in the city itself and nearby - Wells, Glastonbury, Cheddar Gorge etc. The breakfast was superb - a fantastic fruit salad followed by a great choice of eggs and cooked options.

Our room had a four poster bed and a shower cubicle in the corner with a good shower in it. They had re-arranged it a bit because we also wanted two childrens beds in the room with us. The toilet was in the bathroom down the hall, and shared, or there was another one down stairs. We did not mind not having our own toilet as the place feels small and friendly so it was not a problem for us or the chlidren to have to go down the hall.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2008

Sheila and Shaun were very friendly and extremely helpful. We were worried about the train noise as the house is literally directly above the railway track but we were put in room 2 at the front of the house with a lovely 4 poster bed with views towards the Abbey. The room also had a shower cubicle in the corner (a bit odd) with a sink next to it. Unfortunately the toilet was one floor up some steep stairs and shared with other rooms. The whole place was tastefully decorated and very clean and tidy. There was parking available outside the guest house and we were able to leave the car there after checking out and spent the day sightseeing around Bath. The only down side was the lack of double glazing therefore the traffic noise I found to be a problem as I am a light sleeper and although we were at the top of the house you could still hear/feel the trains underneath the building. Breakfast was very colourful with seasonal fresh fruits and extremely filling to set you up for the rest of the day.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyB_Home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 31 in Bath
1,416 reviews
0.6 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
Percy Place
Percy Place
#66 of 157 in Bath
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crescent Guest House
Crescent Guest House
#97 of 157 in Bath
221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Number 17 Bath
Number 17 Bath
#58 of 157 in Bath
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#39 of 157 in Bath
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman City Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman City Guest House

Address: 18 Raby Place, Bath BA2 4EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Roman City Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing