We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand but slightly dated guest house, excellent value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roman City Guest House
Ranked #138 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were amazingly impressed to have stayed in a central guest house in a four-poster room for only £75, and I kept being paranoid that the price was actually per person! We stayed in Room 1, which contains a sink and shower, but has a toilet and bath in a separate bathroom. Both the room and bathroom were massive and felt very luxurious. The bath had a 'jacuzzi' option and the shower also had a fancy feature! At the same time, much of the furniture was quite dated and felt like it need'ed a bit of a revamp, but was perfectly acceptable for a night's stay.

We were especially impressed with the breakfast in the morning, which was above the standard breakfasts you find in B&Bs. The hosts had taken the time to make a beautiful fruit salad, presented with apricot yoghurt in its own glass bowl. There was a small selection of cereal, but everything was brought to the table so we didn't have to get up, and the cooked breakfast was very tasty.

Possibly the only downside to the hotel is that it is right above a railway line, and our room looked over the railway so it got quite noisy when trains went past. I managed to sleep perfectly fine, but light sleepers might find this a problem.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 73 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

Three 40 something ladies wanted to stay fairly local to the city centre, park the car up for the duration & find good pubs, dining & sightseeing. We werent disappointed. The location was perfect. Due to Sheila (Landlady of the guest house) having to be away, she left us in the very capable hands of Val. We had the family room (four poster bed & put you up beds in our room. The shared bathroom we were lucky enough to have to ourselves & it was spacious, clean & nicely decorated. I had heard comments about the noisy train running underneath the building causing disturbance but to be honest, unless you are going to bed before midnight, it wouldnt really disturb you & wasnt as loud as we had been led to believe. The full english breakfast was spot on & we wouldnt hesitate staying here again. Val was fabulous, welcoming & helpful. Many thanks to you Val & hope to meet you next time we stay Sheila. Regards, Kate, Jan & Mandy (stayed on 4th & 5th July 2013)

Room Tip: Recommend the four poster room - the shared bathroom that comes with it is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We booked this place for a wedding

Stayed 3 days and it was brilliant

We stayed in room 2. The other good room looked like no 3 too.:)

The train noise isn't really an issue on your room only to be heard at Breakfast occasionally .

The shared bathroom is no hassle as there is a sink and shower in the room and never had to wait for a bathroom
. Other rooms have them I think. (long term residents)

The host Shaun really makes this place

The location is excellent

10 min to town

Would stay again at £70 a night better value than a travelodge ;)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewcastleRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly welcome in this beautiful Isambard Kingdom built House; very easily accessible to the town centre. Our room was really quite fantastic ; it had a feeling of grandeur to it with the 4 poster bed & stunning views of the city.What also made our stay particulary enjoyable were our hosts, Sheila & Shaun, who did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. Breakfast was really good: wonderful fresh fruit salad, and the cooked breakfast was one of the best Ive ever had. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

From the moments we arrived the proprietors couldn't do enough for us, really helpful and warm. The rooms were great and tastefully appointed considering the tight planning constraints that must be on such a place. Breakfast was relaxed and leisurely and thoroughly enjoyed by all. Big thanks Sean and Sheila, definitely be regularly back here.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farthing67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

we picked the roman city from their website and after checking reviews on trip advisor.
first impressions were that the hotel was in need of some tlc but both rooms were clean and beds comfortable.
having toilets outside the bedroom was not ideal especially as from room 2 you had to negotiate a quite steep set of stairs. toilets were shared with other rooms.
breakfast was good although we would have liked a wider selection of cereals (just two available)
but cooked breakfast more than made up for that.
the owner was very helpful with information on bath and also allowing us to use the parking permit for the day after we had checked out.
all in all an ok hotel for a one night stay although had we stayed longer then the train track which runs directly beneath the hotel (room 1) could have been a problem.

Room Tip: room 1 is one to avoid if you are a light sleeper with the train track directly underneath. no toil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leonard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I don’t know where to begin…From reading all the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor we had such high hopes…

However:

1) None of the rooms are ensuite- On the phone when booking we were told the room was a ‘king size ensuite’, the only room left. We accepted and were quite excited about it. On arrival we learned it was a ‘private bathroom’ on a different floor of the house. It was not private as it had no lock or room number on it, just a shared bathroom. When we spoke to the girl she told us, quite intensely, that it ‘is an ensuite’. Very difficult to address if you don’t want an all-out argument. Likewise, the bed was a 5ft, not a Kingsize, despite the girl’s insistence.
2) Poor Cleanliness- There was mould in the drawers and around the ornaments in the room. Probably not helped by the shower free-standing in the corner of the room, with no extractor.
3) Health & Safety- We were worried when we learned that the main boiler for the house is in a cupboard in the room, and vents directly into the room!
4) Atmosphere- We learned on arrival that the reason the rooms are all booked out is that the other rooms are let to social tenants, so the atmosphere at breakfast was very strange, like sitting in the kitchen of a stranger getting their kids ready for school, and talking of when they would be ‘moved on’.
5) Décor and Condition- The décor is nothing like the photographs, with the photos taken over 10 years ago. The door was so badly bent it looked like it may have been kicked in, so everyone in the hall could see us in our room. We felt insecure and had no privacy.
6) Noise- There was a busy train line directly under the room. Woken at 5am and then every 20 minutes or so.
7) Pricing- The room quoted on the website was more expensive in person- Apparently the website needs updating…

We spoke to the Tourism Information office about this, and they have stopped listing Roman City as 'ensuite' due to the number of complaints in the past years.

The good points were Sean, who was very nice, and breakfast, which was very good. However, I would be concerned too many travellers are being 'softened up' the next morning with Sean's charm and leaving good reviews!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.6 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,218 reviews
7 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
159 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 3 in Monkton Combe
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
780 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
0.6 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman City Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman City Guest House

Address: 18 Raby Place, Bath BA2 4EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Roman City Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing