We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“NEVER EVER AGAIN” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Roman City Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roman City Guest House
Save
You added Roman City Guest House to your Saves list
Ranked #109 of 195 Bath B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“NEVER EVER AGAIN”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

I stayed here thinking that everybody gets some bad reviews at some point but lesson learned in a big way. the house itself looks very impressive from outside until you step in to the Lions den. The owner Shiela tries to make herself out to be something she most devanatly isn't Sean on the other hand seems a really nice cheerful chap. i cannot believe in a B&B of this size does not have all on-suite facility's the wifi is awful when it is on. And the electric tends to go off as well upon talking to some other guests i found out they have a key meter for electric my god in this day and age with a thriving business as this could be and to be metered i only assume they are not very good at bill paying. I can say is STAY AWAY you have been warned. Breakfast is the only good thing about the whole experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moody1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila D, Owner at Roman City Guest House, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
I am very sorry that your stay was not what we strive for. It is difficult to please all of the people all of the time but am more than happy to work 7 days a week from early mornings often until late at night to please the probably 95% of the sincere and genuine guests over the last ten years. The electric is NOT on a key meter and is a ridiculous thing for anyone to say. The other very personal insults aimed at me were very hurtful and untrue but everyone has a right to their opinion. Its a pity these things are not said before leaving to give the accused a chance to defend themselves, cowardly really.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    26
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
37
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Union City, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We had a great time at this lovely restored end-unit Victorian townhouse, located just across the river from central Bath on Bathwick Hill. Sheila and George Davis were excellent hosts, and the property was very clean and well-maintained. Central Bath (Roman Baths / Pump Room) is an easy 10-15 minute walk across the Pulteny Bridge. Although located above a train tunnel, this is a very quiet property. George and Sheila have put a lot of work into restoring this propery from a formerly delapidated condition, and their pride shines through. We would have stayed longer, but were on a tight touring schedule through central England. Dennis, Linda, and Camille, Union City, CA, USA

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ukedawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We really enjoyed our short walks to and fro the city centre; this guest house was a real treat. Our hosts were really helpful and informative in making our stay relaxing. Everything was really clean and the fruit at breakfast was a nice addition. j and h

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camb85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Wonderful welcome in this B&B. Sheila and Sean make everything for a warm welcome so that the stay of their hosts is royal and the breakfast wonderful!
The house seems to have a Victorian style, the rooms with four-poster bed are very well decorated. They are not very noisy in spite of the train so close.
Toilet are on the landing but very clean.
Thank you for this stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ckismo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

While "5 minutes walk" is definitely a subjective measurement, this quaint guest house is a bit out of the way for our taste. You're most likely to see Sean most of your visit; a most gracious and helpful host, but other than breakfast the house tends to feel quite deserted. We stayed in Room 1 - the accommodations were neat and clean, breakfast was varied and generous, but the train was a little annoying and the pillows need desperately to be replaced. Street noise is never an issue and there is a Tesco less than 100 yards away, but the nearest restaurant is at least 10 minutes walk for most people. If your budget brings you this way I suggest packing your own pillow and maybe a set of ear plugs.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
235 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

Not a place I would go back to again. The people are lovely, but it's just not a very nice place to stay. The breakfast is wonderful and that's very much the highlight of the place. It was not very clean and is faded in appearance. The toilets are shared and just not cleaned very often. The room I was in had a large damp patch on the ceiling. The wifi is hopeless and in 2011 we should be past asking the owner to switch it on when we need it. It worked once for me only. Location is good and there is a shop nearby and easy access to bus routes. It's more like a boarding house and there are many much better places. With the steep stairs I would never take kids here

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genf
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

Just spent 9 nights in the guest house. The host Kieren and his sister Casey were friendly. The room was OK and I was not bothered by the noise of training passing throught the tunnel under the house.

A major issue for me, however, was the Wifi access. I need to get online for making Skype calls and check emails. The owner switches on Wifi access upon request ("just press a button", as Kieren would say). The access will automatically shut off as soon as no device is using it, for example when you go out for a while. If the owner is out on some errands, nobody can use wireless Internet. It is not polite to wake up the owners in order to press the button of Wifie for a guest. Wifie access was a hazzle for heavy users like me and may not be the case for others.

My wishes:
1. Make WiFi access permanently available to guests. There must be some way to re-configure the Wifie router.
2. Switch on the heater in the room when a guest checks in and tells the guest where the WC is.
3, Talk more with guests over breakfast than the usual greetings.

Despite these complaints, I liked the stay and the Bath city on the whole.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AppiaGenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 32 in Bath
4.0 of 5 stars 1,161 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#42 of 195 in Bath
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
0.8 mi away
Albany Guest House
Albany Guest House
#84 of 195 in Bath
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#15 of 195 in Bath
4.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Charlotte's Orangery
0.3 mi away
Avon Guest House
Avon Guest House
#63 of 195 in Bath
4.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman City Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman City Guest House

Property: Roman City Guest House
Address: 18 Raby Place, Bath BA2 4EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roman City Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Roman City Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing