We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had a good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loch Fyne Milsoms Hotel
Ranked #82 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
glos,UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“We had a good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2009

We stayed for one night in one of the large rooms (room 1). Huge bathroom with a roll top bath. The room was quiet & clean. The staff were very friendly and relaxed, but also very professional & we felt welcomed. Breakfast was good with properly hot toast & good coffee.

It is a bit quirky as there is no obvious front entrance. It's really a restaurant with rooms. We went into the restaurant on arrival & were greeted immediately. It is an old building, but it has character. We would stay there again, but would want Room 1 for sure.

Finally we had a main course of mussels before we went out, which was delicious.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaclh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    101
    57
    24
    20
See reviews for
16
170
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

Stayed in one of the larger rooms which was very spacious but the decor was tired and seemed a bit grubby. The worse thing was the lack of hot water . There wasn't any hot water from the time we checked in at 5.30 p.m to the time we checked out the following morning . It really put us off staying again because having a cold shower after a long day wasn't the best of starts to a night out in a lovely city like Bath . When we complained the manager was very polite but did point out that we were staying in an old building and these things do happen and offered us £10 off our room , finally after us pointing out that we thought this wasn't enough he gave us a £30 discount off the £115 charge. Another annoying thing was the noise consisting of shop alarms going off all night long and listening to the people in the pub opposite . Came home to a hot shower and a good nights sleep in a nice clean house .

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenSmithdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bath hotels

Gomersal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2009

We stayed for two nights for the weekend of a family wedding. The welcome we recevied when we arrived was excellent and we were delighted with our room. The hotel was conveniently placed for us to walk to the wedding venue and to see the sights of Bath.

The breakfast served in the restaurant was cooked to order and was lovely. The staff were very attentive and made the whole experience enjoyable. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Milsoms when visiting Bath for a wedding. The first hurdle we hit was parking - the hotel has none of its own and the recommended car park was full, so my husband had to run up and down the steep hills of Bath to move the car half way through the wedding reception. Charlotte Street car park is near enough for a few bags to be carried to and from the car and it was only £10 from about 4pm on one day until around midday the next, but it's busy and so spaces aren't guaranteed. That's not so much a criticism of the hotel and seems to be a general problem in Bath.

On arrival at the hotel, our rooms were not ready as it was only midday, but we were able to pick up keys and leave our bags before rushing off to the wedding. When we finally reached our room, just after midnight, our bags had been put in our room - which was as relief as it was up two flights of stairs. Milsoms is very centrally located, which is very useful, but also means that you're stuck with all the city centre noise - with people outside the nearby bars and walking home after a night of drinking making a lot of noise. Because it was a fairly warm day, we needed to have the windows open but that meant being constantly woken up by revellers.

The room itself was clean and nicely laid out, with period features preserved and other aspects brought up to date. The one thing that Milsoms has not done is to install decent flat-screen televisions, which isn't a problem for a one-night stay when you don't arrive until the early hours, but the outdated portable TV doesn't quite fit with the image that the hotel seems to be pushing for.

The bed in our room was comfortable and, with the windows open, the temperature was fine. Bottled water is provided, in addition to tea and coffee making facilities, and the toiletries in the bathroom were very nice, although the towels were getting a little raggy. The bathroom itself was not luxurious but the overhead shower was pretty good - the only downside was that the toilet did not flush at all, which was not so pleasant.

Breakfast was fine - no better but no worse. There was a choice of cereals and juices (although the apple juice had a fly in it) and the toast brought to us was freshly made and still very hot, which was quite a novelty. Cooked breakfast is included in the rate and the scrambled egg was not bad, although not outstanding. My husband's full English breakfast had to be redone as the sausage didn't look cooked, and they really took their time in doing that, although when the new breakfast arrived, it was good enough.

One thing that was a little odd was that the reception desk seemed to be manned for only a limited time. When we wanted to check out, we had to go back into the restaurant and do so at the bar. £85 is not bad for a room in a hotel in a city like Bath and when the manager heard about the problems we'd had with the toilet in the bathroom, he reduced the bill by another £10, although not without promting. However, he did not flinch when the idea was proposed and was very apologetic, acknowledging that such a situation is far from ideal.

Milsoms is not bad and certainly good enough for the money. Overall, it seems as though there are a few things that could be a little more polished, but it was clean and pleasant. When we did have a problem, the management was sincerely apologetic. As for the noise, that's not really something that can be blamed on the hotel, but it would certainly make me think twice about staying there, which is a shame.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatherineJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

This was an ideal location from which to explore Bath. We found this hotel during a previous trip to Bath where we stayed in the Travelodge just down the street which was terrible and more expensive than Milsoms with alot less to offer!! Our room was at the top of the hotel so there were some steps to climb, however the room was well worth it. The bed was really comfortable and having a dual aspect room (No 8) it was possible to get a nice breeze through the room.
The Loch Fyne restaurant was excellent for dinner in the evening and the breakfast could not be faulted in the morning with a very good choice of cereal, toast and full english breakfast and other fish breakfasts. The tea, coffee and fruit juice was plentiful. I will certainly be returning although on my next stay I will definitly 'upgrade' to have a room with a free standing bath!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMuttley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2009

Stayed for two nights and extremely disappointed. Room was OK, but very noisy and hot. If you opened windows, traffic and drunken parties' noise into early hours was unbearable. First morning there was no hot water and no apologies except from a very embarrassed Polish girl. Breakfast in the Loch Fyne restaurant was a farce. Orange juice had run out. No cereal available, no yoghurt or fruit so if one did not want the cooked breakfast, toast was the only option. I did in fact try the scrambled egg - uneatable. All this for £150 per night. Will not be on my itinerary in future !!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastSussexBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bmth
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this Hotel over the Easter weekend, we have stayed at this hotel before with no problems. On arriving the dirty carpet is a put off, we had to ask twice for some one to attend reception. The room was clean but extremely hot, had to open all windows and turn off all radiators, also had to use a fan!

Being in the centre of the city we expected some noise but not like this, since the No Smoking Law is in place, everyone was out in the streets shouting and drinking into the early hours of the morning i.e. 4am. We are by no means old and enjoy a night out, but this was loud!! Very Loud.

As for the breakfast, my poached egg with smoked haddock was tough, as the for the omlette it was not edible, so had to fill up on toast, not a good start to the day.

We would not recommend this hotel and will not be going back, but we would like to find another hotel in Bath, as we like the city.

  • Liked — Central Location
  • Disliked — Overall everything
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheEnglands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Halcyon Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brocks Guest House
Brocks Guest House
#55 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Griffin Inn
The Griffin Inn
#49 of 160 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.4 mi away
SACO Bath - St James Parade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Fyne Milsoms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Fyne Milsoms Hotel

Property: Loch Fyne Milsoms Hotel
Address: 24 Milsom Street, Bath BA1 1DG, England (Formerly Milsoms Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Fyne Milsoms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Loch Fyne Milsoms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing