We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not really a hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loch Fyne Milsoms Hotel
Ranked #82 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not really a hotel!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

A group of us booked in to this 'hotel' on the strength of it supposedly being four star, and supposedly being a hotel. The rooms were above the Loch Fyne restaurant (which we were aware of) and up stairs, which we were also aware of. However, the stairs were so steep and so many that we were all left gasping for breath, having to stop at each landing. The room we had was at the top of the building, and clean, with nice touches such as complimentary mineral water, but it was also quite small and cramped. The bedding was also clean and crisp, but the pillows were flat and flabby and I woke up on both mornings with neck and back pain. It was very noisy during both nights - until the small hours - not really the hotel's fault, I suppose, but it didn't enhance the quality of our stay.
The remote control on the television set in our room didn't work, had no back on it and contained mouldy batteries. We phoned down on the first day to report this and were told that somebody would come and sort it out, but nobody did. It was still the same when we left on the third day.
There also didn't appear to be an escape route in case of fire - the notice in the room merely told us to leave by the nearest exit - not very reassuring when you are on the top floor and there is only one staircase.
Breakfast was served in the Loch Fyne restaurant, which was cavernous and empty, not really a nice atmosphere for a small group of people. The buffet was very limited, nothing in the way of fresh fruit salad or grapefruit, but there was a lot of choice of cooked food. This was good on the first day, less so on the second with underdone toast and tepid food - strange as the chef was actually there cooking it!
What was really disappointing was the total lack of anywhere which might have constituted a public area where we could have met for a sit down, cup of tea and a chat. There were only the rooms and the restaurant, and a kind of bar behind the door with a few bar stools but no tables. You had to go past this bar through a fire door to get to the rooms. There seemed to be nobody actually in charge of the hotel side - just bar staff and waiting staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianeanddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    101
    57
    24
    20
See reviews for
16
170
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Kept awake all night by rowdiness outside, followed by construction work at 7am. There are no public areas in this hotel. It is hard to see how it claims to be 4 star. I would not recommend it or stay again.

Room Tip: Don't know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bath hotels

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Milsoms hotel is very well located but not really like a hotel.We stayed in room 3 which unfortunately overlooked the extractor fans for the restaurant below which were very noisy until they were switched off at about 10.30pm and then back on again at about 6.30am,also the radiator was on constantly which was not good as it was very mild so the room was to hot.The area is VERY noisy at night,I was kept awake until 4am one night by the noise from the local pub/club,but it is a central location so it is something to be aware of.The staff were friendly and the room clean but in need of some Updating.The breakfast was ok but nothing special,the scrambled eggs Were inedible as was the porridge my daughter ordered and the service was slow..For Bath Milsoms is reasonable value but it could do better and definately needs a makeover.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maisie018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had two very enjoyable nights hare after completing the Cotswold way. The room was good with all the facilities you need and a nice comfy bed. Everything was clean and well kept. Breakfast was in the Loch Fyne restaurant downstairs and was beautifully cooked.
A couple of cautionary notes. Its a city centre location so can be a little noisy at night - the location made up for it for us. And the stairs are steep and there's no lift. Not a problem for most people.

Room Tip: The higher up you are (low numbered rooms are lower down) the quieter it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We tried this place when we visited Bath in September, booked it online based on reviews and it didn't disappoint. The hotel reception is the bar at the Loch Fynn restaurant downstairs but don't let that put you off. The rooms surround a typical Georgian stair case that goes all the way up to the roof of the building. Each room has a Georgian feel with modern touches.

The hotel is located just a 4 minute walk from the Roman Baths and the breakfast downstairs in the resturant were really good too.

No lift though, so if your not good with stairs then this place won't be ideal.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Owen_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel has the potential to be brilliant as the building is beautiful,
but unfortunately that is not the case at the moment. The entire building (except restaurant) needs a good clean, paint and tatty furnishings replacing.

We paid £115 instead of the standard £85 for what we thought would be a superior room with a roll top bath. Instead we got an added sofa and a grotty shower. When we enquired we were told we should have requested it as only 2 rooms had one, and only one of those was a dearer room. To add insult to injury our room was referred to by a member of staff as 'the noisy room', when we were checking out and mentioned our sleepless night.

On the positive side, it is ideally located for all the touristy things (although so is the travelodge next door but one for almost half the price). Plus the breakfast included was delicious, not your average greasy fry up.

Overall, I don't think I'd recommend this hotel and would advise anyone who books it to ring ahead to ensure you don't get room 1.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaymc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We really had to hunt around for the hotel which was not far from the railway station; even very close neighbours knew nothing about it-the numbering is not very logical in that area it seems; we could not find a name board (I don't know if it is because this is a protected area) and we were billed against the restaurant on the ground floor which is part of the same entreprise. The room was upstairs in a traditional building so lugging suitcases is a bit of an ordeal, but it was clean, with a view and with a reasonable bathroom. We didn't have breakfast which was included in the cost as we had to leave pretty early. GourmandBangalore

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gourmandBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Halcyon Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brocks Guest House
Brocks Guest House
#55 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Griffin Inn
The Griffin Inn
#49 of 160 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.4 mi away
SACO Bath - St James Parade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Fyne Milsoms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Fyne Milsoms Hotel

Property: Loch Fyne Milsoms Hotel
Address: 24 Milsom Street, Bath BA1 1DG, England (Formerly Milsoms Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Fyne Milsoms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Loch Fyne Milsoms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing