We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Loch Fyne Milsoms Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    Harington's City Hotel(Bath)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Room Service
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Restaurant
    • Room Service
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Room Service
    Queensberry Hotel(Bath)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
      View Hotel
      Great 4.5/5
      • Free Wifi
      • Pool
      View Hotel
      Great 4.5/5
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Restaurant
      Reviews (303)
      Filter reviews
      303 results
      Traveler rating
      71
      111
      68
      32
      21
      Traveler type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      71
      111
      68
      32
      21
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewsno liftlock fynemilsom streetstairs are steeproll top bathlarge double roomcentral locationcharlotte street car parknoisy at nightnoise from the streetfree standing bathcoffee machinelight sleeperperiod featuresbreakfast is servedcentre of towncooked fresh
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      213 - 218 of 303 reviews
      Reviewed December 6, 2012

      We stayed for two nights in December 2012 at this small Hotel which is very well situated at the top of Milsom Street above the Loch Fyne restaurant. Although we arrived much earlier than formal check-in, we were greeted by friendly staff and James who checked us in was more than happy to take care of our luggage whilst we went off exploring. We had a double room on the 2nd floor - there isn't a lift, due to the age of the building so it can be a bit of a trek up the stairs - something to bear in mind if any of your party will find stairs difficult. The room was very comfortable, clean and decently equipped with tea, coffee and biscuits, a hairdryer, wall mounted television, iron and even an electric fan. The bed was comfortable, and spare pillows were also provided, which is always nice to find. There was a selection of fresh magazines focused on Bath which were informative, attractive and more pertinently - current, so you could help plan your stay and make the most of events taking place (such as the winter ice rink and the Christmas market).

      The bathroom was well lit, and the shower (fixed shower head) had good water pressure. The water was always hot, and there were ample towels available. Liquid guest soap, hand cream, shower gel and conditioner were provided, and well placed in wall mounted dispensers.

      It was also very welcome to find the room was warm, with radiators that could be adjusted to suit by the guest - not something you find everywhere. Yes, it's true that some of the rooms could do with a lick of paint and freshening up - one lamp in our room was a bit tricky - it wouldn't come on unless you wiggled the base - and one of the heavy curtains had come off it's hook - easily put right so a shame it hadn't been attended to, but all in all, the hotel is of a decent standard for the price paid. You access the hotel through the restaurant, but guests are provided with keys to a side door to facilitate access when the restaurant was closed late at night, so no problem there. The breakfasts were good and are served in the restaurant below - there was a wide choice, from kippers or eggs benedict to a full English, and portions weren't skimped. Tea and coffee were available and as much as you wanted, and there were jams, yoghurts, toast and at least three varieties of fruit juice (apple, cranberry and orange during our stay). The staff were attentive without being intrusive.

      There is one drawback with this hotel, and it's not really the fault of the hotel, as it's common to a number of hotels in Bath. It is situated on a main thoroughfare, with brilliant central access for all parts of the city, which is a bonus, but - and it's a big BUT. It has no double glazing.

      Again, understandable due to the age and listing of the building, and you may think I'm being a bit picky mentioning it. However, it means that noise is a significant issue. During the day, less so, because most people are out and about and not in their hotel room, but at night, this is a massive problem. The traffic noise is not least of the noise problem, as once the traffic eases off, you have the comings and goings at the various bars and music venues in the area - and there are a lot. And the later it gets, the worse it gets, and the rowdier and more raucous the late night drinkers become. Be aware that this will go on until 3 or 4 a.m. in the morning. When the drinkers have eventually retired to bed, you may get the shop alarm which goes off, or the car alarm, or the bin wagons or the scaffolders working nearby, who turn up for work creditably promptly.

      I know this isn't unique to Milsoms Hotel - I've experienced the party atmosphere and its after effects elsewhere in Bath, in a world without double glazing - and whilst it wouldn't stop us from returning, it's a significant issue if you need your full 8 hours, because you won't get it, and unless you're a very heavy sleeper, I suspect it may irk and irritate many a guest.

      Secondary double glazing may help alleviate the problem without compromising the integrity of a building this old and this beautiful.

      Room Tip: All of the rooms appear to be comfortable but the rooms on the second floor don't have a bath, only a shower.
      • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank Scotchontherocks88
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed November 29, 2012

      We have stayed at this hotel every year for the last 5 years and we love it, it does need a lick of paint here and there and a bit of updating but the staff are very friendly and we always find the beds clean and very comfortable. The breakfast is very good too. For the price we think you get what you pay for, it is very reasonable. Also it is in a great location although can be a tad noisy at night but you would get that in any town centre location. All in all we love it and will be going back next year!

      • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank Helen S
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed November 29, 2012

      We stayed at the hotel for one night on the 27th October 2012. We arrived at midday and were able to leave our bags at the hotel until we checked in at tea time. During the afternoon, we had a two hour spa experience which was lovely sitting out in the elements, on top of the spa roof, in a lovely hot spa, with spectacular views over the city.
      We arrived back at the hotel around 5pm. Check in was via the Loch Fyne restaurant and was quick and easy; staff were polite and friendly.
      The building itself is stunning, built around 1865 and was a bank originally (apparently they still have some of the old bank safes in the basement !). The communal stairs were clean and tidy as was our room (Room 4). I was initially disappointed at the size of the room and the bathroom (the bathroom was narrow and in need of a bit of a make-over), especially as other rooms had roll top baths and were much bigger ! Lighting in the room was quite dim, as there are no main ceiling lights, just bedside lamps.
      On the plus side, the bed was very comfortable however, as per previous reviews, it did get a bit noisy at night - the hotel is opposite the 'Slug and Lettuce' pub - I can imagine how noisy it gets on a weekend or in the summer months when you are trying to sleep with the windows open !
      We ate at the Hall & Woodhouse pub in Old King Street that evening - an excellent ambiance with great food too - thoroughly recommended.
      The following morning, we had breakfast in the main Loch Fyne restaurant - it was very good and freshly cooked for guests.
      As our train wasn't until after 6pm, the hotel were more than happy to look after our bags again whilst we visited the Christmas market and shops. All in all, a pleasant stay except the noise and the size of the room !

      • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Jackie1010
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed October 29, 2012

      We stayed for three nights at beginning of the week in late October.

      This hotel is located within fifteen minutes walk of everywhere you need to visit in Bath.

      Right from the start the staff were most accommodating. Even though we'd arrived hours earlier than check in starting, they were more than happy to keep hold of our bags while we went out and explored. Also on our last day they held our bags after we checked out so we could explore Bath further while waiting for our train.

      We were told all we needed to know at check in and the staff helped us with our bags up to our rooms.

      I would say if you have health issues this is not the hotel for you as the stairs are steep and there are alot of them however there are chairs to stop and rest along the way for if you get too tired.

      Our room was immaculate and they made sure we had enough tea and coffee in the room for when we returned from our travels. The bed was really comfortable and we slept soundly through the night we couldn't here a sound from outside or inside the hotel.

      Breakfast was beautifully cooked and ample. You could have both cooked breakfast and the buffet.We found after the breakfast we did not need to think about lunch till around 2 or 3 in the afternoon. The servers were very attentive ensuring you got as much tea and coffee as you needed.

      There is no room service at this hotel however there are so many eateries open till late close by in central Bath that it doesn't matter.

      We couldn't have had a better time. We have recommended it to both friends and family and it will be our first choice when visiting bath again.

      Room Tip: Request a room with a bath.
      • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Deborah O
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed October 29, 2012

      The Milsom in Bath is in the perfect position for site seeing as it is so central - 5 mins from the Roman Baths, Cathedral etc. However, as you walk in there is a very unfortunate smell of fish - not the normal from a fish restaurant (it is part of the Loch Fine chain), but as if someone has put a fish behind a radiator. the smell lasted for our whole visit. The room was 50 stairs up and needed redecorating. But, it was only £85 a night for the centre of bath so you get what you pay for. Be prepared for it to be incredibly noisy - people still stagering home shouting at 3.45.Yhe staff however were lovely and the breakfast was also lovely.

      • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank suelevy
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      View more reviews