We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A VERY SPECIAL TREAT”
Review of Thermae Bath Spa

Thermae Bath Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Spas & Wellness in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Thermae Bath Spa is Britain's only natural thermal Spa and benefits from the warm, mineral-rich waters which the Celts and Romans enjoyed over 2,000 years ago. Located in the heart of the World Heritage city of Bath, Thermae is a remarkable combination of five historic buildings and the contemporary architecture of the New Royal Bath. Highlights include the open-air rooftop pool with wonderful views over the city of Bath, the flowing curves of the Minerva Bath, the multi-sensory Wellness Suite and a choice of over 50 spa treatments and packages.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A VERY SPECIAL TREAT”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

A beautiful way to spend a crisp, cold and clear afternoon. Minimum age for entry is 16 years. Take your own robe, towel and flip-flops to save on rental. Booked in for 2 hour session (plus additional time allowance for changing) in mid-January. Apparently a relatively quiet month so no queue and uncrowded waters. Open air rooftop horizon pool absolutely magical. Combined with the fragrant steam rooms, the 2 hour period is plenty long enough and leaves you luxuriously relaxed. Additional bonus of having experienced the early evening twilight above this lovely city. Even better if it had been snowing!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DylanFennel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,930 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,633
    1,841
    911
    358
    187
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

A lovely way to spend the morning. Well worth booking a treatment, as you get shown to the front of the queue (which was a good hour long wait for those who turned up on spec).

The roof top pool was busy, but a great way to view Bath's rooftops.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChocolateHelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice afternoon but not great”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Have been here twice now and i think the place is looking a bit dated now and needs some refurbishment already. they have removed some of the foot spas from the stream room area so there is less to do. it was a cold day and the rooftop pool was very cold as was walking between the floors. the main issue i have is that the showers are few in number and you have to run between floors afterwards to the changing rooms!! i think this is so you run out of time for and have to pay extra! as if you stay longer that your 2 hours you get charged! so you spend alot of your time worrying about getting changed afterwards.

it is a nice experience though, but i would not say it was amazing or the best spa experience i have had.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tia716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Twilight Package”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My girlfriend received the Twilight package for two as a Christmas present, not that it is something she would usually be into, but we went along for some pre-exam pampering.

If you’re interested in going for the Twilight package, is to turn up early. You can’t book beforehand and unless you’re early you’re likely to be in for a long queue. The package is available from 4.00pm, we arrived at 4.10 and already the queue was out the door and it was only getting longer! We queued for approximately half an hour before getting our towels and robes etc.

With the Twilight package you have access to 4 main areas: the changing rooms, roof-top pool, steam rooms and the downstairs pool and also a 1 course meal. This is how I shall divide my review.

The changing rooms are extremely confusingly laid out, in that everything is symmetrical so you're never quite sure which way you're headed. The lockers are much more complicated than necessary. A gimmick for the sake of it and there aren't enough of them. The area is clean and there are plenty of cubicles though 2/5.

The roof-top pool, despite what I had read, was plenty warm enough when you were in it. However, on a cold January evening you better be a dab hand at jumping out and whipping on your robe and slippers! It’s a nice idea, but the steam somewhat reduces visibility of the city and even if it didn’t the roof isn’t really high enough to be able to see out over any considerable distance. 3/5.

The steam rooms are very nice, although it’s difficult to stay in for very long. There are various different “smell” rooms available and it’s nicely laid out. Probably my favourite part of the package. 4/5.

The downstairs pool is kind of your standard hotel swimming pool – there’s an on/off Jacuzzi part, an on/off tide part etc – but without kids running about. It’s “nice” but gets a little dull after a while. 3/5.

The meal. This is the oddest part of the package. As the package is so popular, when you get your wristbands on arrival, you are given a time to have your meal which is invariably half-way through your session. Now this might just be me, but the idea of lazing about in a swimming pool then having to stop to go get your meal, sat in your robe, before returning to the pool somewhat undermines the whole “relaxation” aspect of the package. Surrounded by other people, slightly sodden in their white robes, is a bizarre experience.

The food itself is nothing to shout about either, there are 3 or 4 options to choose from. I had duck and my girlfriend had chicken and neither set the world on fire. Or even smouldering. Considering the cost of the package I definitely think this is an area that should be improved: allowing people to eat before or after and getting in a slightly more exciting chef aren’t too much to ask, surely? 2/5.

To finish, this review is obviously biased towards the opinion of someone who doesn’t really “get” the whole spa thing. So although it’s not for me, it’s probably nice if you like that type of thing and have money to burn. Plus, if you want to, you get to keep your “one size (most certainly does not) fit all” slippers. How’s that for generosity?

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank g m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple,North Devon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Went here with my fella , we decided to go on a Saturday early evening, it was just right not too busy,The rooftop pool is a must looking out over Bath whilst basking in the bubble pool,not to be missed.
The steam pods are amazing too , ambient lighting, each pod has different aromas, and the lower deck pool is very relaxing with a lazy river.
I would Say two hour slot is plenty of time to enjoy the facilities, As is is quite expensive , but worth the money as a treat.
I would definitely return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Luvviexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thermae Bath Spa also viewed

 

Been to Thermae Bath Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing