We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hill House
Ranked #3 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Feltham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

My wife and I had a mid-week stay here, our first visit together as she had never been to Bath. The minute we arrived we were made most welcome by Douglas and although very early, (to drop off our luggage and park up the car), we were sat down,had tea,biscuits and a long chat where he explained the lay of the land and the local attractions. He recommended several nearby restaurants that we tried and found to be superb. Our room was excellent, as were the breakfasts. For those with cars, parking is via a permit, and not necessarily close by, but if you arrive early before the locals arrive home, is not a problem. The area is very hilly but several buses pass Hill House if you find it a strain returning from the centre of the city, which is about ten minutes downhill walk away. I cannot praise Hill House and Mien Hosts enough, it has all been said before and is all true.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
310
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

I recently spent my second weekend at Hill House in Bath and have had a great experience both times. The hosts (Harry and Douglas) are so welcoming and really do cater to your every need! They offer wonderful advice on the area and local restaurants, bars and shops. The B&B is ideally located for walking into the centre of Bath. The rooms are comfortable and spacious and the breakfast is fantastic. I would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Bath, whether as a couple or a group of friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lrcutler85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
207 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

It is hard to have something new to say that doesn't just repeat prior reviewers. They are all correct! It is gorgeous, super clean, modern fixtures and comfy. The hosts are a delight and the food is delicious. And, yes the windows could use some double glazing to reduce the outside noise but honestly we were so tired from sightseeing that it was a small thing for us. Parking isn't easy if you have a car but the hosts are very helpful and very concerned that you find a place and that it is a legal place. Top marks for Hill House!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretEllen1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

stayed for 2 nights. rooms are nice size and comfortable. the real star(s) are the owners, great hosts with some of the best tips for where to go in bath for food and drinks. breakfast was great with lovely specials served at a single table. was slightly nervous about the single table approach to breakfast but with the great hosting we found this a real attraction, a chance to met and exchange stores and tips. a very pleasant stay. will return!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

This was our first time in Bath and we are so glad we picked Hill House, from entering the door to leaving we could not have wished for more. Harry gave us all the information we needed for where to visit and places to eat and Douglas made our delicious breakfasts. We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary and they made a special occasion extra special would not choose anywhere else to stay.

Room Tip: We had room 2 it was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

The Hill House really is a gem. Great location near all of Bath's attractions, immaculate rooms and friendly and informative staff. There is a reason why it gets a 5 star rating on Trip Advisor! I would choose always to stay here when I return to Bath.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JHill99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Upon arrival, we were given directions to the nearest parking spaces as well as the parking permit that allowed us to park for free all weekend. There was tea and biscuits waiting for us when we returned with our bags and we were talked through everything Bath has to offer, they really know their stuff. Everything you could want to do in Bath is easily within walking distance of the B&B. The only small thing to note is that everything is down hill on the way into town which leaves an uphill task when it comes to returning in the evening, but there are plenty of taxis!

We were then shown to our room (room 5), having our bags carried for us to the very top of the house. The room itself was a very good size and immaculately clean and well kept. The en suite was almost as big as the room. The staff were incredibly friendly and, although we had everything we needed, we knew they we only had to ask for anything else. We ended up in a room that wasn't what we had originally booked, but they were very apologetic and it didn't effect our stay in the slightest.

Unlike most B&B stays, breakfast is served in a communal dining room where you eat with the other guests. This might seem unusual at first, but given the sheer grandeur of the room its a very enjoyable experience. Conversing with the other guests gave us ideas for what to do and the staff were quick to impart their wisdom as the food was brought out. The full English breakfast was delicious and perfectly cooked.

Overall, I would definitely go back to Bath and I would definitely stay at Hill House again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
1.5 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hawkins of Bath
Hawkins of Bath
#1 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#5 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
0.9 mi away
Paradise House
Paradise House
#6 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bath House
The Bath House
#7 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House

Property: Hill House
Address: 25 Belvedere, Bath BA1 5ED, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our home! Hill House was built in 1765 at the end of a Georgian terrace behind the Assembly rooms in Central Bath. Built originally as a hotel it later became a wine merchants and then a pub. The current owners purchased the property in 2011 and have updated the property throughout. The modernisation has been sympathetically undertaken to retain as much of the period of charm of the property as possible.The property now has six en suite letting rooms located one at the front and one at the back on each of the 1st, 2nd and 3rd floors of the property. All bedrooms are equipped with newly appointed shower rooms, 32” digital Televisions, hairdryers and free wifi. The more the stairs the better the views from the rooms across Bath to the countryside beyond!Breakfast is served in our dining room on one large table, where reccomendations of what to see and where to eat are shared. Besides a choice of cereals etc we also offer a choice of two cooked breakfasts per day which vary throughout the week. We are able to cater for most dietary requirements but ask for as much notice as possible as we do not carry some items as stock as we are only a small establishment.This is our home and we want you to be able to relax in it. We have ironing facilities and a house sewing kit to hand. If you need anything else please ask and we will see what we can do.Hill House is a 2 minute walk from the Assembly Rooms and five minutes from the main shopping centre and Royal Crescent. There are plenty of local places to eat and drink close by and we would be happy to give recommendations upon request.On street Parking permits are available but will need to be reserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing