We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent business trip”
Review of Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hill House
Ranked #2 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Harry and Douglas are excellent hosts. They are very welcoming and extremely helpful. The breakfasts are excellent and Hill House is very well located, just a short walk from the heart of Bath's attractions. I would certainly recommend Hill House to anyone thinking of visiting Bath.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 563 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

Had a wonderful night's stay in Hill House last weekend. Harry and Douglas's attention to detail is excellent and the house is warm and welcoming. We have been to Bath many times but Harry gave us ideas of new places to see and things to do - also great restaurant recommendations. Loved it so much that we have booked the same weekend next year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PKandR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

What can I say? I certainly echo the superlatives provided by other reviewers. Not much to add (good location, amazing food, ridiculously exceptional service) except that I hope these two wonderful uber-hosts don't burn themselves out. It would be lovely to see this B&B operational years and years from now.

My only caution is that the wifi connection can be finicky -- but then, you wouldn't be looking at a B&B if this was a priority, now would you? ;)

Room Tip: top floor staircase might be a bit steep if you are mobility impaired in any way (shouldn't be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed in November, Room 4. Every comfort and wonderful,thoughtful owners. Nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast offers are the full English or a daily special dish. Bus stop near-by if you do not want to walk up the hill. A place to be spoilt in comfort.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosemaryE280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

A beautiful, charming and stylish B&B. Prior to going it felt like an awful lot of money to be paying out per a night - but having been the B&B really made our visit to Bath. All is beautiful about the building itself and the interior - we really enjoyed kicking back in the room. A lovely stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duckandbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Look no further the hill house is an absolute must, if you're planning a stay in Bath.
Here you will experience gourmet style food with luxurious accommodation that rivals the best hotels complete with an unparalleled wealth of local knowledge that will let you find all the hidden gems bath has to offer.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank C7616549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights in room 6. My room was beyond comfortable. It had great views of Bath and the hills surrounding. You can literally walk everywhere from this location and can be down to the Abbey area in about 15 minutes. Great restaurants and shopping are very close. Douglas and Harry recommended Bath Private Car Hire for a ride from Bristol Airport to the B&B. GREAT way to get there fast and Steve who owns the company is full of knowledge of the area.

Douglas and Harry are great hosts and Douglas makes excellent breakfasts! I met some of the nicest people here and breakfasts were a great time to compare stories and get tips for your next adventure. I would stay here again! Thanks for taking great care of me guys!

Room Tip: Other posts mentioned noise from the road and I'm a very light sleeper. I had no noise issues a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chianti_girl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.4 mi away
Hawkins of Bath
Hawkins of Bath
#1 of 157 in Bath
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grove Lodge
Grove Lodge
#3 of 157 in Bath
253 reviews
0.9 mi away
Paradise House B&B
Paradise House B&B
#4 of 157 in Bath
1,914 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#9 of 157 in Bath
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House

Address: 25 Belvedere, Bath BA1 5ED, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $147 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our home! Hill House was built in 1765 at the end of a Georgian terrace behind the Assembly rooms in Central Bath. Built originally as a hotel it later became a wine merchants and then a pub. The current owners purchased the property in 2011 and have updated the property throughout. The modernisation has been sympathetically undertaken to retain as much of the period of charm of the property as possible.The property now has six en suite letting rooms located one at the front and one at the back on each of the 1st, 2nd and 3rd floors of the property. All bedrooms are equipped with newly appointed shower rooms, 32” digital Televisions, hairdryers and free wifi. The more the stairs the better the views from the rooms across Bath to the countryside beyond!Breakfast is served in our dining room on one large table, where reccomendations of what to see and where to eat are shared. Besides a choice of cereals etc we also offer a choice of two cooked breakfasts per day which vary throughout the week. We are able to cater for most dietary requirements but ask for as much notice as possible as we do not carry some items as stock as we are only a small establishment.This is our home and we want you to be able to relax in it. We have ironing facilities and a house sewing kit to hand. If you need anything else please ask and we will see what we can do.Hill House is a 2 minute walk from the Assembly Rooms and five minutes from the main shopping centre and Royal Crescent. There are plenty of local places to eat and drink close by and we would be happy to give recommendations upon request.On street Parking permits are available but will need to be reserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing