We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding B & B”
Review of Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hill House
Ranked #3 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Outstanding B & B”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed in this gorgeous b & b for four nights. The owners, Harry and Douglas, were so accommodating.- helping us to unload the car and then providing us with a parking permit so we did not have to move the car.
Luxuriously appointed rooms and bathrooms (rooms 1 and 2) with gorgeous White Company toiletries. Selection of teas and coffee available in room with fresh milk and bottle of water changed daily. Lovely comfortable sofa and seating area to room 2.
Breakfasts were scrumptious! Such a selection of fresh and compote fruits (how lucky that we were there in strawberry season!), cereals, pastries, full English breakfast or other hot choice, e.g. smoked salmon and poached eggs on a potato rosti.
Beds were extremely comfortable with lovely bed linen. My only criticism would be that the room was at front of house so became VERY noisy at commuter times, so we had to have the enormous sash windows closed, which was a shame, but unavoidable and out of the hands of our hosts. Would definitely recommend and we would definitely stay here again. Only a 10 to 15 min walk into the centre of Bath.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
331
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed in this gorgeous b and b for 3 nights and didn't want to leave. The breakfast is absolutely delicious and the cold water and milk provided for the rooms is a nice touch. Nothing is to much to ask of the owners they are extremely friendly and attentive. We stayed in room 6 which like the others had complimentary white company products which is a so nice compared to the usual toiletries in hotels. Would recommend this b and b to anyone visiting Bath not just for its excellent location but because it is one of the nicest places we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank courtney m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Thank you so much Douglas and Harry for letting us stay at your beautiful home!
Everything was perfect from the accommodation, food and service.
We will most certainly recommend and would love to visit again. Loved it. Xx

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leehasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for the night when attending our son's graduation. We were met by perfect hosts the accommodation was so comfortable clean and stylish. Breakfast was amazing, only wish we could have stayed longer. Parking was easy and everything was so near by. If we ever return to stay in Bath we will definitely be staying here. We will recommend you! We wish you continued good luck with the business.

Room Tip: We were in rooms 5 and 6 steep stairs but worth it for the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GetawayCouple50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

From the minute you arrive with a warm friendly welcome and that much needed cuppa, Harry and Douglas were the most fabulous hosts, sharing their beautifully furnished home with super stylish bathroom.My husband and I spent 1 night (really sorry it wasn't longer!!). Bedroom No 2 which was stylishly presented, the bottle of chilled water and flask of fresh milk awaiting us on our return in the evening were the thoughtful touches of hosts who take great pride in the service they offer guests.The dining room and breakfast awaiting you in the morning was unbelievable.. Dishes of fresh berries cereals and yogurt a choice of 2 hot breakfasts served at a most beautifully laid table. Harry was able to offer great suggestions on how to spend our short time in Bath. The free guided walk around Bath and dinner at Rustico's were winning suggestions. The real winners are Harry, Douglas and there beautiful home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Perfect for a short stay (or long if you prefer) in Bath, wonderful warm reception, immaculate rooms, nice touches (shortbread biscuits and fresh milk for coffee in room). Quality accessories and delicious breakfast in a beautiful house. The owners are delightful hosts! Thank you for a wonderful weekend, highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahlewis80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is one of the best B&B's I have ever stayed in. My mum and I stayed two nights in room 4, a twin room on the second floor, and cannot rate it highly enough. The rooms are elegant, spacious and tastefully decorated. Having a sofa in the room made it feel very luxurious and provided a perfect spot for relaxing with a cup of tea (selection box on every landing) and a biscuit (jar of shortbread replenished every day). Fresh milk and bottles of chilled water are provided each day as well as as many recoomendations for things to do and places to go as you could wish for.

Breakfasts are a sociable affair with everyone seated around one big table, laden with jam and other spreads for the baskets of toast (it may seem strange to comment on the toast but I'm frequently disappointed with hotel toast but this was crisp, hot and beautiful). A buffet table of juice, cornflakes, muesli, granola, yogurt, compote and fresh fruit is provided but don't fill up on this as the cooked breakfasts are divine. There's the usual variations on the English breakfast cooked to order and as vegetarians we were offered eggs floentine one day and a huge helping of blueberry pancakes the next.

We almost didn't stay here as we thoguht it might have been too far out of town but aside from being on top of the hill it's perfectly placed and you won't have any trouble parking a car. Harry and Douglas are wonderful hosts and I wish them every success with this gem of a B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pGeek1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
0.9 mi away
Grove Lodge
Grove Lodge
#2 of 154 in Bath
229 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hawkins of Bath
Hawkins of Bath
#1 of 154 in Bath
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House

Property: Hill House
Address: 25 Belvedere, Bath BA1 5ED, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our home! Hill House was built in 1765 at the end of a Georgian terrace behind the Assembly rooms in Central Bath. Built originally as a hotel it later became a wine merchants and then a pub. The current owners purchased the property in 2011 and have updated the property throughout. The modernisation has been sympathetically undertaken to retain as much of the period of charm of the property as possible.The property now has six en suite letting rooms located one at the front and one at the back on each of the 1st, 2nd and 3rd floors of the property. All bedrooms are equipped with newly appointed shower rooms, 32” digital Televisions, hairdryers and free wifi. The more the stairs the better the views from the rooms across Bath to the countryside beyond!Breakfast is served in our dining room on one large table, where reccomendations of what to see and where to eat are shared. Besides a choice of cereals etc we also offer a choice of two cooked breakfasts per day which vary throughout the week. We are able to cater for most dietary requirements but ask for as much notice as possible as we do not carry some items as stock as we are only a small establishment.This is our home and we want you to be able to relax in it. We have ironing facilities and a house sewing kit to hand. If you need anything else please ask and we will see what we can do.Hill House is a 2 minute walk from the Assembly Rooms and five minutes from the main shopping centre and Royal Crescent. There are plenty of local places to eat and drink close by and we would be happy to give recommendations upon request.On street Parking permits are available but will need to be reserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing