We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hill House
Ranked #3 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Let me start by saying do NOT walk up the hill from the train station to this B&B hauling your luggage! The hill is very steep the last third of the way. It is a little out of the downtown core, but none of the major attractions are very far. There are several good pub/restaurants nearby, we went to both The Chequers and The Circus Cafe. Food was very good at both restaurants.
It turned out we were visiting Bath during the Jane Austin festival, and we had tried several other places to stay before we found Hill House. It was a little over our budget, but our room (room #4) was huge. Remember that you will have to carry your luggage up several flights of stairs, but the views over Bath are great. Douglas and Harry have spent a lot of time and effort renovating this lovely Georgian building, and everything looks beautiful. You can really get a sense of how difficult this must have been by looking at the sloping floors and doorways!
The bed and linens are high quality and very comfortable, the drapes over the two good sized windows are luxurious, a couch and and large coffee table are positioned conveniently in front of the fireplace and flat screen TV. We appreciated that the windows open, although we were on a busy street and there was quite a bit of noise at night (both from cars and folks visiting the pub across the street). A tea tray set with fresh milk was appreciated, as was a bottle of cold water. The bathroom has been nicely done up, with a one touch lighted mirror, large shower with lots of hot water and good water pressure, and nice toiletries. Breakfast was delicious, smoked salmon on potato pancakes one morning, eggs benedict the second morning. We especially appreciated the selection of fresh fruit. Lots of tea, coffee, and toast and preserves on the large communal table. Our first morning, we were joined by two other couples from Canada!
There is a laundromat a few blocks away, but a big thank you to Harry who noticed that I had twisted my foot while out sight-seeing (watch your step on the cobble-stones), and offered the services of their laundry facilities. It was greatly appreciated!
There is lots to see and do in Bath (I would recommend the Mayors Walk walking tour, and a visit to the Roman Baths), and Hill House was a lovely place to relax after a busy day of sight-seeing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pitpat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
318
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We are Canadians on our first trip to the UK. We stayed at the Hillhouse B&B for 4 nights on Sep 17-20, 2012. This was our first B&B in the UK and we were very pleased with our experience. The hosts were warm and welcoming, the breakfasts were fresh and delicious, and the rooms were spotlessly cleaned each day. The interior had been recently renovated, and our room was tastefully decorated. The bathroom fixtures were modern and worked well – a treat compared with some of our later experiences in the UK.
The location was great – walking distance to the all the attractions but still far enough away from noise and heavy traffic. The building is located on a hill, so if walking is an issue, a visitor might want to consider a cab. We slept well each night.
One day we had to catch an early train to do some sightseeing in Truro so we asked if we could have breakfast earlier than they normally served it. The hosts readily agreed. They were very helpful with maps and directions. This B&B was a good value and if we visit Bath again we would definitely stay here. Thank you for a lovely stay Douglas, Harry, and Allen. The Browns

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamLeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Our room was big, extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean with a sofa and table area for relaxing. The bed was fabulous and the bathroom modern, fresh and again spotless. The owners attention to detail is commendable.
The breakfast in the morning was just wonderful - the food was delicious and the concept of all sitting around one big table like you were in someone's home is strange until you try it - and then you find it actually works and it makes for a pleasant social exchange - unless you're a complete grump in the mornings in which case it wouldn't be for you!
There is no parking on site but a parking permit is provided and you just dump your bags and find a space nearby - well this is historic Bath after all and space is at a premium. The city centre is 5 mins walk away so we just left the car where it was for a few days and used our legs - or a taxi one evening when it was raining hard - it was less than £5. The walk down to the city is all downhill but coming back of course it is uphill so bear this in mind if this could be an issue for you.
Whenever I visit Bath again I won't bother looking at hotels - I will come straight to this one it was that good!

Room Tip: The hotel is an old Georgian building with single glazing and is on a road so the rooms facing the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I can only echo the reviews already listed for Hill House. We stayed for three nights in September and it really was excellent. On arrival our hosts found us a parking spot across the road and waited there to direct us round to it, also providing a parking permit. They then made us a very welcoming pot of tea with their wonderful shortbreads, and recommended several places to visit and eat as we'd never been to Bath before. Our room was large and comfortable, spotless and well decorated, with nice touches like real milk in a Thermos for hot drinks, and proper-sized toiletries. Breakfasts were delicious with a different special each day in addition to the full English, including an excellent Eggs Benedict one morning. We found we liked the communal dining table as we got chatting with the other guests, which we wouldn't have done at separate tables. The hosts really care about their guests and made our stay in Bath truly memorable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Our stay at Hill House was perfect. Our hosts treated us like old friends. They recommended some lovely places to dine and suggested things to do and see while in Bath. The guesthouse is tastefully decorated and our room was spotlessly clean will all the comforts of home. Breakfasts were delicious and each day we had a choice of the full English or the speciality of the day, as well as cereals, fresh fruit, etc. I can't say enough about this guest house and our hosts. We will definately return when next in Bath.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giusee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have just spent 4 nights at this B&B and I can't recommend it enough. Our hosts were thoughtful and helpful, providing information about the local area and taking an interest in what we had done. We stayed in room 3 which had a lovely view over the city. The bed linen was of a high quality and I loved the "White Company" toiletries. There was tea, coffee and lovely shortbread in the room, and fresh milk was provided each day. Breakfasts were very tasty and filling - a really good selection of fruits and cereals and then a cooked breakfast which was often tweaked to suit our tastes. A relaxing place to stay which was very comfortable and enjoyable, with hosts who really cared about our holiday experience. I am very grateful for their hospitality and the great care they took to make our stay enjoyable. I am surprised this is not rated by TripAdvisor as the Number 1 B&B in Bath - it really should be.

Room Tip: There are photos on the website of each room as they are all in different styles. The whole building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HCS186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Have just returned from a wonderful weekend at Hill House in Bath. The hosts were the best I have ever encountered, attentive, genuinely interested in creating a special stay for their guests and I would imagine that they always succeed. The room we stayed in (room 5) was spotless, beautifully and tastefully decorated, with a very comfortable bed and every little detail thought about. The bathroom was big with a luxurious shower and some lovely soaps. Breakfast was exceptional, really delicious. It is a true gem, excellent value and I would recommend it to anyone wishing to enjoy a lovely break in Bath.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hawkins of Bath
Hawkins of Bath
#1 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bath House
The Bath House
#7 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House

Property: Hill House
Address: 25 Belvedere, Bath BA1 5ED, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our home! Hill House was built in 1765 at the end of a Georgian terrace behind the Assembly rooms in Central Bath. Built originally as a hotel it later became a wine merchants and then a pub. The current owners purchased the property in 2011 and have updated the property throughout. The modernisation has been sympathetically undertaken to retain as much of the period of charm of the property as possible.The property now has six en suite letting rooms located one at the front and one at the back on each of the 1st, 2nd and 3rd floors of the property. All bedrooms are equipped with newly appointed shower rooms, 32” digital Televisions, hairdryers and free wifi. The more the stairs the better the views from the rooms across Bath to the countryside beyond!Breakfast is served in our dining room on one large table, where reccomendations of what to see and where to eat are shared. Besides a choice of cereals etc we also offer a choice of two cooked breakfasts per day which vary throughout the week. We are able to cater for most dietary requirements but ask for as much notice as possible as we do not carry some items as stock as we are only a small establishment.This is our home and we want you to be able to relax in it. We have ironing facilities and a house sewing kit to hand. If you need anything else please ask and we will see what we can do.Hill House is a 2 minute walk from the Assembly Rooms and five minutes from the main shopping centre and Royal Crescent. There are plenty of local places to eat and drink close by and we would be happy to give recommendations upon request.On street Parking permits are available but will need to be reserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing