We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exceptional stay!”
Review of Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hill House
Ranked #3 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South East England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An exceptional stay!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The website shows everything Hill House has and more. Even before we arrived the owners were very helpful on the phone. Once there, we were made to feel very welcome, met both the owners and were shown all the facilities. Hill House itself is immaculate, beautiful, well designed and everything has its place. These owners definately have style and we were particularly impressed with the attention to detail everywhere. The bathroom was decorated wonderfully, equipt with very classy facilities. It was so nice to have all the tea, coffee making facilities, fresh milk, ice cold water and shortbread too! The view out of our window overlooking the city rooftops and the Abby was also a bonus! In the morning breakfast, again, was exceptional. I had eggs benedict and it was cooked to perfection. There was a good choice of cereal, fruit and toast too. I would whole heartedly recommend this place as it had everything, looks amazing and above all is so warm and friendly, you will definately want to go back, just like us!

Room Tip: Room 3 has a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CH.Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
348
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here in July and has to be one of the best places I have stayed in. The attention to detail, the service and the ambience is exceptional. The hosts appear to love the contact they have with their guests which is unusual.
The breakfast was without doubt of the highest culinary standards.Attention to detail was as good if not better than any 5 star hotel.the smoked salmon with dill sauce for breakfast left a lingering taste.
This B&B should win the next tourism award for accommodation. Stay here youwon't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Our room was exceptional so would expect all would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

So much effort and consideration made in all aspects to make your stay a special one. Even being offered water after coming in after walking up the hill on one occasion.

Rooms are immaculate and tastefully decorated with thoughtful touches throughout. The breakfast is to die for ...I need to find out the secrets of those perfect poached eggs! Smoked salmon / potato cakes were fantastic for as were the perfect eggs benedict.

Harry makes sure that nothing is ever so slightly awkward at breakfast around the shared table, making sure all guests are supplied with any helpful information they may need during their stay, keeping the conversation going.

We had Room 4 which was fab, bathrooms are very modern and highly spec'd. Having the squashy sofa was a nice touch as were the shortbread biscuits which were devoured within seconds of returning to the room.

Would definitely return next time we visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurgen1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This hotel is the nicest hotel I have stayed in. You get a brilliant friendly service, excellent food and comfortable rooms. The hotel has been renovated to a very high standard and has a charming feel as soon as you walk in.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaH1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Possibly the most pleasant place where I have stayed.
Friendly and helpful landlords. They will advise on restaurants etc.
Relaxing and well equipped rooms. All objects in the room seemed to be chosen with care and matching content.
Good choice of breakfast menu, well prepared.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HDG580419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2012

To start the stay with such a friendly beaming smiley Harry made both my fiance and I feel completely at home and relaxed and knew we had found the perfect place to stay in Bath now and for any future visits!!
The room was beautifully decorated with tranquil calming colours, and little luxuries of soft fluffy pillows good quality linen, white company products for the shower finished with delicious tea and shortbread biscuits to indulge!
Breakfast is all and more than you could eat to start your day lovely fresh produce.
Nothing is too much trouble for the lovely owners to try and accomodate your every need. They deserve a wonderful holiday themselves!!
Hayley and Ben

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

On arrival we were greeted by the owners, Harry and Douglas, two bubbly and welcoming characters. They immediately arranged our parking permit and helped us in with our luggage, and first things first, offered us a nice pot of tea accompanied with wonderful shortbread biscuits. A perfect pick me up after a long journey from London. Jasper the terrier introduced himself too. We were taken to our room which was exactly like the website shows. It was pristine. Spotlessly clean and full of special touches. Beautiful.
On our second day, I had terrible pain in my leg from an accident at work, Harry was so caring, after a fantastic breakfast, he arranged for me to see an emergency doctor, he took me and my partner there and waited just I case I needed to go to hospital, which I did. He then took us there too.
Our stay was originally for two nights, but we had to stay another. Bath was so beautiful, even with a painful leg. We have stayed in many hotels/B & Bs and we can honestly say that Hill House is by far our favourite. The website is very accurate, it is just as stunning in reality, beautifully decorated, and the warmth of its owners shining through the rooms, making it such a happy, comfortable place to stay. We have recommended it to our friends and family and will be returning very soon.

Elisa and Jim

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2, a large beautifully decorated room with a lovely comfy sofa. Good tea and coffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,259 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 31 in Bath
1,367 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#5 of 157 in Bath
1,632 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hawkins of Bath
Hawkins of Bath
#1 of 157 in Bath
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House

Property: Hill House
Address: 25 Belvedere, Bath BA1 5ED, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our home! Hill House was built in 1765 at the end of a Georgian terrace behind the Assembly rooms in Central Bath. Built originally as a hotel it later became a wine merchants and then a pub. The current owners purchased the property in 2011 and have updated the property throughout. The modernisation has been sympathetically undertaken to retain as much of the period of charm of the property as possible.The property now has six en suite letting rooms located one at the front and one at the back on each of the 1st, 2nd and 3rd floors of the property. All bedrooms are equipped with newly appointed shower rooms, 32” digital Televisions, hairdryers and free wifi. The more the stairs the better the views from the rooms across Bath to the countryside beyond!Breakfast is served in our dining room on one large table, where reccomendations of what to see and where to eat are shared. Besides a choice of cereals etc we also offer a choice of two cooked breakfasts per day which vary throughout the week. We are able to cater for most dietary requirements but ask for as much notice as possible as we do not carry some items as stock as we are only a small establishment.This is our home and we want you to be able to relax in it. We have ironing facilities and a house sewing kit to hand. If you need anything else please ask and we will see what we can do.Hill House is a 2 minute walk from the Assembly Rooms and five minutes from the main shopping centre and Royal Crescent. There are plenty of local places to eat and drink close by and we would be happy to give recommendations upon request.On street Parking permits are available but will need to be reserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing