We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a home away from home for 5 days”
Review of Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hill House
Ranked #3 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a home away from home for 5 days”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

What a warm greeting awaited me from Alan when I arrived on a Sunday evening and a pleasure to return each evening at the end of a training day. The rooms are done with beautiful taste and attention to detail and comfort. Family pictures (and some strangers) line the stairwell. The breakfast is served at a single large table so guests can talk more easily and exchange tips if they wish to. I loved my top floor room 5 which was worth the extra flight. A lovely view of the hills and Georgian houses and quiet. With a chaise lounge huge bathroom. You've probably already read about the delicious hot breakfasts prepared lovingly by Douglas. I will definitely be back. Do avoid the curry house opposite. Among the worst Indian food I have ever eaten.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NY-world-traveler37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
323
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights midweek. We booked it primarliry after reading the reviews on tripadvisor and I have to say they are all very accurate. This was a wonderfully located hotel, very central and close to restaurants and shops along with Bath's attractions. The rooms were beatifully decorated and spotlessly clean. On wednesday we arrived earlier than anticipated, this did not present any problems, our room was ready and we were able to leave our bags, obtain the parking permit and start exploring Bath. Breakfasts were fantastic, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts etc plus the cooked selections which were marvelous. Eggs Benedict on the 1st morning, poached eggs with smoked salmon on potato cakes on the 2nd day. Breakfast is taken around a communal table, which again was great as we found ourselves chatting to other guests making and receiving recommendations on places to eat. The owners are very welcoming and friendly. Highly recommended

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 made up as a double, which is on the 2nd floor at the front of the hotel, overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommyzoomssurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I took my girlfriend here based on the located and the reviews that were put on TripAdvisor. I thought perhaps they were exaggerating....they weren’t!

Both of us were so impressed. Not only were the owners of this beautiful house inviting and polite but they went out of their way to make us feel at home. They supplied parking permits and cooked food that was not typically on their menu due to our unique dieting requirements.

I would definitely advise anyone to go for this fantastic place. The rooms are as personal as the service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESSEX!
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

What a fabulous find! Wonderful house, beautfiully restored - very calm and relaxing atmosphere. We spent an excellent long weekend at Hill House from the 8th to 11th June. Breakfasts to die for, the rooms were spotlessly clean. Tea, coffee, FRESH milk, yummy biscuits. Comfortable bed with clean white bed linen. Beautiful breakfast room - one big table which was very sociable. Douglas, Alan and (smiley) Harry were great hosts. We brought a picnic (for our anniversary) and Harry provided us with the forgotten knives, forks and cheese knife! Also the loan of a phone charger! All amenities catered. Definitely on our list for a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepidtravellers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samoens
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

A friend and I spent 3 nights staying with Harry and Douglas at Hill House.
More charming and accommodating hosts you could not find.
They went out of their way to cater for my dairy allergy, with no prior warning.
The house itself is very comfortable and beautifully furnished.
Our room, number 6, the twin, had a great view, was very large and spotlessly clean.
Great breakfasts, a large selection of different options, they even made the potato cakes specifically for me with no butter, very impressed.
Bath was as beautiful as ever, my only warning is beware the seagulls, you may want to consider an umbrella!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P0wderh0und1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Hill House for a weekend. The guest house was absolutely beautiful. it has some lovely furniture and unique pieces of artwork, especially in the dining room.
The bedroom was really comfortable with top quality bed linen, a 32" plasma TV and a high spec ensuite bathroom. It was immaculate.
Douglas and Harry the owners are really nice people. You can see the attention to detail thoroughout the guest house. They couldn't do enough for us during our stay. Harry recommended a nice Italian restaurant to us.
Oh and not to mention the breakfast. There was a selection of fresh fruit, cereals, natural yoghurt and fruit juices. You could also choose from an English breakfast, smoked salmon and eggs benedict to name a few.
This guest house is wonderful. By far the best one that we have stayed in and we hope to back soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed on May with my mother. We just loved it! Kind and friendly hosts, beautiful rooms and decoration, lost of space, comfortable beds, excellent breakfast. Very close walk to the city center, a little uphill, but it was not a problem (we always walked back). All in the details, good taste, perfect place and amazing people...Highly recommended!!! Best and cheaper than many hotels. We would love to go back there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magdacala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hawkins of Bath
Hawkins of Bath
#1 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bath House
The Bath House
#7 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House

Property: Hill House
Address: 25 Belvedere, Bath BA1 5ED, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our home! Hill House was built in 1765 at the end of a Georgian terrace behind the Assembly rooms in Central Bath. Built originally as a hotel it later became a wine merchants and then a pub. The current owners purchased the property in 2011 and have updated the property throughout. The modernisation has been sympathetically undertaken to retain as much of the period of charm of the property as possible.The property now has six en suite letting rooms located one at the front and one at the back on each of the 1st, 2nd and 3rd floors of the property. All bedrooms are equipped with newly appointed shower rooms, 32” digital Televisions, hairdryers and free wifi. The more the stairs the better the views from the rooms across Bath to the countryside beyond!Breakfast is served in our dining room on one large table, where reccomendations of what to see and where to eat are shared. Besides a choice of cereals etc we also offer a choice of two cooked breakfasts per day which vary throughout the week. We are able to cater for most dietary requirements but ask for as much notice as possible as we do not carry some items as stock as we are only a small establishment.This is our home and we want you to be able to relax in it. We have ironing facilities and a house sewing kit to hand. If you need anything else please ask and we will see what we can do.Hill House is a 2 minute walk from the Assembly Rooms and five minutes from the main shopping centre and Royal Crescent. There are plenty of local places to eat and drink close by and we would be happy to give recommendations upon request.On street Parking permits are available but will need to be reserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing