We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hosts, incredible place to stay”
Review of Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hill House
Ranked #3 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely hosts, incredible place to stay”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed on May with my mother. We just loved it! Kind and friendly hosts, beautiful rooms and decoration, lost of space, comfortable beds, excellent breakfast. Very close walk to the city center, a little uphill, but it was not a problem (we always walked back). All in the details, good taste, perfect place and amazing people...Highly recommended!!! Best and cheaper than many hotels. We would love to go back there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magdacala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
338
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My partner and I stayed in Hill House recently on a two day getaway to Bath. We found the guest house to be stunningly decorated, with everything well thought out. Bath towels were big, thick and fluffy. Tasty shortbread biscuits awaited us in the bedroom. The room was clean, the shower powerful and luxurious and if we needed anything we only had to ask. The house is a converted Edwardian house, which, before being renovated by the current owners, was a pub.

The two owners are really helpful and friendly and they whip up a delicious breakfast. I ate eggs Benedict - which is probably the nicest I have eaten - while my partner had a full English. Granola, berries and homemade jam, among other things, were also available.

It is, as the name suggests, situated on a steep hill, but we didn't find this a problem at all. It is situated a short walk to town.

Hill House definitely enhanced our stay in Bath and we thoroughly recommend it to any one thinking of staying.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with green sofa, fire place and dog embossed pillows, which was particularly n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renton1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My partner and I chose Bath as a getaway for the both us from the busy hussle and bussle of London life, and we were in NO way disappointed.
We were greeted by Douglas with tea and cake and with the surprise of a room upgrade.
The room was stunning, beautiful decor and squeaky clean. I think we spent more time in the room than in Bath!
Their breakfast is to die for! And set us up for the day out sightseeing. Tea and biscuits are always available and topped up in the room, we were even offered a bacon sandwich to take away with us on our journey home!
I would undoubted visit again for another weekend of relaxing, eating out, going to the theatre and sessions and the Thermae Spa- a must!!
A lovely friendly pair with a gorgeous home and top class experience in catering and hospitality evidently!!
Love Nick and Georgia x

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaL783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We decided to use a week's holiday to visit Bath for a couple of days and found Hill House on the Bath Tourist Website. It really is as good as it looks. We can only repeat the comments of previous guests. The house is beautiful, our room was spotless and we didn't want to get out of the shower it was lovely. Everything we needed and more was there. The Breakfast was wonderful as good as any 5 star hotel. We were given the option to have a hot breakfast other than a Full English, which of course was also available. Douglas and Harry have created a perfect Guest House, they were the perfect hosts and gave us great advice on how best to see Bath. Oh and Bath was really worth the visit by the way.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We are just back from spending a fabulous weekend in Bath where our stay at Hill House was the highlight. Douglas and Harry are truly wonderful hosts, really friendly and helpful and full of information about the area. Our room was really comfortable and beautifully decorated with crisp white bed linen and soft fluffy towels. In the Bathroom there are products from The White Company and the shower was great. Breakfast was delicious each day with a selection of fresh fruit and cereals and cooked breakfasts (If they're on the menu, I would recommend the Mushrooms). A huge Thank You to Douglas and Harry for making our stay so enjoyable! We can’t wait to stay again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We found this guesthouse through the Bath tourist office whilst touring the region in May. All of the other reviews submitted portray how wonderful it is and I can only reiterate all the positive comments posted. The property has been beautifully renovated and is located a very manageable 10 minute uphill walk from the tourist office. I cannot praise the hosts enough; they made us feel so welcome from the moment they opened the door. Our room was beautifully decorated and immaculately presented. The breakfast was superb. The detail (from the White Company products, through to the scented tissues) and the overall offering are far superior to the prices being charged. It is only a matter of time before this boutique guesthouse becomes the must stay venue in Bath.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osullivanmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We just returned from a 16 day trip in the UK, and one of the highlights was our stay at Hill House in Bath. It is definitely the perfect place to stay in Bath. The rooms are comfortable and beautifully decorated. The breakfasts are absolutely delicious, and they offer the perfect start to a day in Bath. Hill House is located very close to the Assembly Rooms and the Royal Crescent, two "must see" landmarks of the city of Bath. Hosts Douglas and Harry are extremely gracious. They did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. They provide an electric kettle in the room, and a selection of tea and biscuits. They even provide a small thermos of milk, so that one can have a proper tea.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen43028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#5 of 157 in Bath
1,618 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grove Lodge
Grove Lodge
#2 of 157 in Bath
235 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House

Property: Hill House
Address: 25 Belvedere, Bath BA1 5ED, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our home! Hill House was built in 1765 at the end of a Georgian terrace behind the Assembly rooms in Central Bath. Built originally as a hotel it later became a wine merchants and then a pub. The current owners purchased the property in 2011 and have updated the property throughout. The modernisation has been sympathetically undertaken to retain as much of the period of charm of the property as possible.The property now has six en suite letting rooms located one at the front and one at the back on each of the 1st, 2nd and 3rd floors of the property. All bedrooms are equipped with newly appointed shower rooms, 32” digital Televisions, hairdryers and free wifi. The more the stairs the better the views from the rooms across Bath to the countryside beyond!Breakfast is served in our dining room on one large table, where reccomendations of what to see and where to eat are shared. Besides a choice of cereals etc we also offer a choice of two cooked breakfasts per day which vary throughout the week. We are able to cater for most dietary requirements but ask for as much notice as possible as we do not carry some items as stock as we are only a small establishment.This is our home and we want you to be able to relax in it. We have ironing facilities and a house sewing kit to hand. If you need anything else please ask and we will see what we can do.Hill House is a 2 minute walk from the Assembly Rooms and five minutes from the main shopping centre and Royal Crescent. There are plenty of local places to eat and drink close by and we would be happy to give recommendations upon request.On street Parking permits are available but will need to be reserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing