We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The owner should not be in the service industry”
Review of Mangia Bene - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mangia Bene
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Suffolk@Beautiful
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The owner should not be in the service industry”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Cafe serves the best breakfasts in Bath, but the food is truly spoilt by the attitude of the owner who at best is 'grumpy'. He is more interested in the nouveau riche locals. We sat down he with no welcome said 'what do you want', we were surprised as there was no menus on the tables! The food was excellent so was the friendliness of the waitress. From conversations with the many people we know in Bath it came as no surprise. It's such a shame as the atmosphere is just as important as the quality of the food. Such a shame as it is a short stroll from where we stay for 3 weeks a year.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    4
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grumpy owner”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The deli & food is lovely but the service from the owner leaves a bitter taste in your mouth he is friendly to people he knows or thinks he should know but if you don't fit in with what he thinks you should be then you are ignored & he makes you feel very small
I keep trying & always feel the same his only saving grace is the lovely young girl who works there who seems to know what he is like & can't be nicer to you

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharonp186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BATH
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Being 'OLD' we have breakfast out at least 3-4 times a week,here is where you go”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Been coming here for 5 years being only 50yds from our house...but that would not do it, we go because its that good..No sausages ,fried slice or chips, but just very high quality food produced at very good prices, and plenty off it...superb.
We have done just about every breakfast place` in Bath over the years...this place wins hands down
Saturday you can have poached Haddock and eggs, its such a large piece of fish we share it, and its stunning...it really is the best of its kind around.. A tip for the boys , I am often the only bloke in there too! since all the 'hubbies' are at work..shame

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RAMBOS-DIVING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great deli/bistro for breakfast or lunch”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This is a really great little delicatessen / bistro. The coffee is really nice, the food is always really nice, the staff are very friendly (but not 'hovering' or fake smiles). Just behind the rear entrance to the Royal Crescent Hotel (Often find the local rock & movie stars having breakfast here when they're staying in Bath)

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Julian888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangia Bene also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing