We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bath Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #38 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Bath
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Perfect location, 2 minuts walk from train station nd close to roman bath and historical center. Nice, big kitchen and best showers I'm see in any hostel in my trip. Clean. really nice and comfort bed.

Room Tip: I stay in 12 people room, is cheap and good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karol g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    43
    36
    54
See reviews for
3
30
55
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

This place was wonderful! The people there were very friendly and easy going. I had planned on staying for three days but ended up staying a week. They were very flexible about changing dates around. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The room was cold, but when the room was full, it was warmer. There is a massive kitchen, but it closes at 11 and you can't have food in the bedroom. There is a vending machine if you do get the munchies and it's very cheap.

This was the best hostel I've ever stayed in. It was very secure and they will hold your bags for you if you want to check in early or leave late. The place is also very clean. I walked around in white socks and amazingly they didn't get that dirty. The place is very affordable and the location is perfect. They don't have private rooms but they do have mixed dorms.

This place isn't handicap accessible and it doesn't have an elevator. There is a dorm on the main floor but the kitchen is upstairs and the showers are downstairs. That's the only real problem with the building. The views from the dorm were lovely. It felt like something right out of a Jane Austen book.

*Note: The place is very quiet at night. However, you should still bring earplugs because some people snore.

Room Tip: Six bed female dorm was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yep2Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. It's a ten second walk to Baths, Abbey etc. and there's a club on the same street that is great for students! Rooms were spacious and clean, beds were comfortable and lockers are provided (BYO padlock). Staff were friendly and helpful, the common room and kitchen are large and clean, all the guests were friendly - it was a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldwearytraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I only stayed here out of necessity (I live here in Bath) for one night during mid-September and it was actually the first time I'd ever stayed in a hostel. As such, I didn't have many expectations as this kind of accommodation doesn't have the best reputation but despite being underwhelming it wasn't actually that bad an experience.

The gentleman on check-in was very friendly and explained where everything was very clearly which was good. I also liked that they had a map at reception which I didn't need but would be very useful for people who don't know Bath.

I stayed in the curiously named R.I.P room - a 12 man mixed dorm - and the room itself was actually larger than I expected, and the beds were comfier (I was a student for 3 years so I have my fair share of uncomfortable mattresses!). I didn't use the bathrooms, kitchen or common rooms so I can't comment on those. It was hard to find a spare bed when I came in at 10:30pm and I was surprised to find nearly everybody asleep with the lights out. I think the management should find some way of allocating beds or letting us allocate them ourselves so we don't have have to fumble across a dark room and risk waking up others. The overall decor is very shabby which I feel let the place down and although it seemed clean, it still made my skin crawl. I think a lick of paint and a little general maintenance could fix this. There was also a slightly sweaty, just generally 'lived-in' smell, in the room which I guess can only be expected when there are 11 other people asleep in there.

I slept fairly well, and was only woken once at 11:30pm when someone else came in and couldn't find a spare bed. There was a little noise in the hall as I was trying to sleep which didn't last long, and the location is perfect as it is in the town centre and it is on a quieter street which allowed me to sleep fine with the window open in the summer heat.

Overall, I did manage to sleep in an adaquately comfortable bed with very little noise. I doubt anyone would stay in a hostel expecting luxury, so for the price you pay (£17.00 or so on a Friday night isn't bad), you get exactly what you expect.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will be quieter, find a bed early on in the day so you know where to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

The room smelled terribly! A mix of alcohol and sweat that wouldn't go away, no matter how much we opened the windows. Apart from that, it's a simple hostel, very well located, with a nice kitchen. If it wasn't for the room's strong smell, I would totally recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucianna_furtado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great location! Friendly, helpful staff. Rooms were big but messy and the bathrooms were barren and smelly. I only stayed 1 night so maybe other people had different experiences. I probably wouldn't stay again. sorry.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights whilst visiting Bath. The staff can be a bit hit and miss with friendliness. The location is perfect. You're a 15 second walk to the center of it all, you couldn't ask for better.
The communal area's were very clean and tidy. The kitchen was very well equiped.
The only negative would be that the bathroom's are a bit gross. 2/5 if rating was required. Couple of times, the loo had run out of paper which was a bit unprofessional. Other than that, really good for the price paid.

Room Tip: The second floor bathroom was disgusting! On the floor with dorm RIP
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Christopher's Inn Bath
0.0 mi away
Berdoulat & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Henry Guest House
The Henry Guest House
#29 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parade Park Town House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
SACO Bath - St James Parade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bath Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath Backpackers Hostel

Property: Bath Backpackers Hostel
Address: 13 Pierrepont Street, Bath BA1 1LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bath Backpackers is the most centrally located hostel in Bath. Within 2 minutes flat walk from the Train and Bus stations and closer still to the Abbey and Roman Baths. The hostel offers a basement party dungeon, recently modernized showers, separate kitchen and residents lounge , with flat screen Tv and DVD. We also offer a daily FREE continental breakfast. Our friendly staff will be happy advise the best to see and do. Happy Traveling ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Bath Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Backpackers Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing