We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
14 Raby Place
Nearby Hotels
$180
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
SACO Bath - St James Parade(Bath)(Great Value!)
$114
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$148
$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Bath(Bath)(Great Value!)
$107
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$108
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Harington's Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
$101
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$403
$311
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveler rating
9
6
2
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
6
2
4
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 22 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2008

Great location. Beautiful listed Georgian terrace. Room of a high standard. The walls are covered in countless works of art, mostly modern. For the price this has to be highly recommended. We had a great breakfast: full English, cereal, toast, tea, coffee, fruit etc.

The owner was very helpful and pleasant and not like the description given by some on this site. Message received??

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank george-nelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

I very much enjoyed the night I spent at 14 Raby Place. My room was a huge single with a very comfortable bed, outfitted with a piano, TV, bookcases and a very attractive mantle. The room's best feature was the very tall window looking over the backyard garden, with shutters you could close for privacy. The bath was up the hall, but that wasn't an issue for me.

I had to leave early the next morning for a tour of Bath and the Cotswolds, so I didn't have a chance to eat one of the home cooked, organic breakfasts that other people rave about. But Ms. Guy kindly opened the breakfast room early for me. Since no other guests were up yet, she and I had a chance to talk a little over yogurt, cereal, fresh fruit salad (Devon strawberries, if I remember correctly) and coffee. It was a perfect start to a busy day.

You can't beat the price and convenience to the center of Bath - a lovely walk either over the Pultney Bridge (most direct) or Parade Bridge (best view).

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KEM-Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2008

14 Raby Place is a B&B within walking distance of most everything in Bath. We stayed there twice on the same trip...once at the beginning and then a month later on our last night in England (we had to drop the rental car off in Bath). Our first visit was wonderful. We had the top floor front room. What a gorgeous room, with a spectacular view. Towel warmers, extremely comfy bed, in-room coffee service. Breakfast was excellent and Mrs. Guy was very entertaining. Yes, she is very politically minded, but fortunately her views matched ours. She also likes Shostakovich, which is not what one would expect an elderly English lady to listen to. Our return visit was not as nice. The place wasn't as clean as on our previous visit. We had a smaller, back room, which was fine. The breakfast was again very good. She can be very brusque, but she gave us her personal parking spot.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julibeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2008

We stayed here for Valentine's Day and had a really lovely break. The house is stunning with lots of interesting modern art combined with the character of the Regency building. The room was impeccable, again with interesting art & artefacts, and the view across the Bath skyline was perfect.
The location is great as you're within a few minutes walk of Bath city centre.
Breakfast was delicious with everything organic if possible and beautifully home-cooked.
Mrs Guy was friendly & welcoming but also gave us the space to get on with our break without being intrusive - which was exactly what we would have wished for.
Having the parking permit was also fantastic as parking in Bath is so difficult & expensive.
I would definitely stay again & recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdfrombrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2008

We stayed at this B&B for two nights and had a great time. The house is beautiful with fascinating artwork and really lovely rooms. We were on the top floor facing out over Bath and our room was spacious, bright and very comfortable, with tea and coffee provided together with a small seating area. The breakfast was organic with a wide choice of organic cereals, yoghurts and fruit. This was followed by free-range eggs and bacon, all presented simply and well. Mrs Guy kindly loaned us a parking permit for the weekend and was welcoming and friendly. The location of this B&B was absolutely excellent, just a 5 minute walk from the centre of town and with stunning views across the rugby field, towards the Abbey. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews