We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of 14 Raby Place

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
14 Raby Place
Ranked #146 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 13, 2008

We stayed at this B&B for two nights and had a great time. The house is beautiful with fascinating artwork and really lovely rooms. We were on the top floor facing out over Bath and our room was spacious, bright and very comfortable, with tea and coffee provided together with a small seating area. The breakfast was organic with a wide choice of organic cereals, yoghurts and fruit. This was followed by free-range eggs and bacon, all presented simply and well. Mrs Guy kindly loaned us a parking permit for the weekend and was welcoming and friendly. The location of this B&B was absolutely excellent, just a 5 minute walk from the centre of town and with stunning views across the rugby field, towards the Abbey. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 22 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2007

The room and location were fine; the owner was peculiarly unfriendly. Aware of other negative reviews on this site, we were on our best behaviour (no idle chatter, respectably small fruit portions at breakfast, etc) but to no avail. She seemed unhappy throughout that we had presumed to intrude on her property, and became animatedly hostile on our last morning, when she came in at 10.58am to tell us (for the first time) that we had to 'get out' in two minutes. It took us a little longer; it'll be the other side of forever before we're back. Steer clear.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fruitbat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2007

I agreed with Mrs Guy to stay for five consecutive Mondays whilst in Bath on business. At breakfast after my second night she told me she had had a booking for a full week which would include my fourth night there, so would I find somewhere else that night?! I said "I thought we had an agreement" to which she replied that yes we did have; so there was clearly no misunderstanding, she simply broke her word without any compunction.

Stayed: March 2007
5  Thank Derbyshire_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2006

Mrs. Guy's was our fist stay upon arriving in England. We didn't find her particularly welcoming. We were hungry when we arrived and asked her for a recommendation for a place to have a quick bite. She clearly seemed to be bothered that we asked and told us to head into town and "we'd stumble across something." She seemed ill tempered and was actually rude to our son at breakfast when he served himself what she thought was too much fruit. The room we had was on the top floor of the house with an ensuite bath and was adequate. We would not recommend this B and B.

Stayed: June 2005
4  Thank Gina99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2006

We stayed at 14 Raby Place in early February and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Muriel, the owner, was welcoming and the decor was wonderful - very clean, bright and comfortable. There was also a selection of original artwork adorning the walls. We had a front-facing room with a glorious view of Bath. Our friends had a room towards the back which was equally lovely but without the view. Breakfast was organic and delicious, cooked to perfection. Only a short walk to Bath's central attractions, Raby Place is the ideal place to stay and we will be back. A hidden gem.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maidenvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2006

Our room was roomy and comfortable. The floor was a bit dirty (I'm not sure it had been vacuumed). The owner was on vacation and a friend was running the B&B when we were there. She was helpful but not especially knowledgeable about Bath and the surroundings. The breakfast was good (standard English breakfast). Location is convenient near central Bath with an easy walk to town.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gumba69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
427
Reviewed November 21, 2005

14 Raby Place is only 5 minutes or so walk from the centre of Bath and is a very comfortable place to stay in this very busy town. Our room was delightful with a charming en suite bathroom and Muriel made us very welcome. Organic breakfast with gorgeous freshly cooked eggs was much appreciated as was parking permit and loan of Bath street map together with stimulating conversation and great art on every wall.
I doubt if you will be disappointed if you stay here.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.7 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,218 reviews
7 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
159 reviews
2.3 mi away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 3 in Monkton Combe
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
780 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
0.6 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 14 Raby Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 14 Raby Place

Address: 14 Raby Place, Bath BA2 4EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Fourteen Raby Place Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing