We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good budget option”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of YHA Bath

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Bath
Ranked #11 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Bath
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good budget option”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at this place for a few nights. As Bath can be pricey, it was an okay choice. However, it is out of the city centre up a steep hill. It's not so bad without bags, but with kit from a place like a train station, pay the 1 pound 20 p for the number 18 bus (1.70 return). There's a stop outside the station.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gorper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    97
    67
    37
    23
See reviews for
76
31
45
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our family of 6 - my husband and I plus 4 adult/teenaged daughters - stayed here for a night. The room was a good size for the 6 of us, and close to the bathrooms. Old but clean and adequate.
The kitchen and dining area, however, were very dirty - the floor was sticky, and the table and benches weren't clean: rather off-putting.
The cooked breakfast in the morning was good.
Location-wise it was fine; we knew to expect a long steep walk up the hill to get to it, and used the local bus the second day, after our miles of walking around Bath. It was nice to be able to walk DOWN the hill in the mornings to go into the town.
Having stayed here once before, I was disappointed this time to find things more run-down than I remembered, and definitely dirtier. A real shame.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed at YHA Bath with my daughter. It was all just as we expected and was perfectly fine. We had a 2 bedded room with en-suite. The bathroom was spotless and the shower was powerful. The bedroom was small, but clean and well presented. It was quiet at night and we slept well. We used the "members' kitchen" which again was clean, modern and well equipped. The staff were friendly and helpful.
There's plenty of free parking on the main road, which is a bonus in Bath. It's about 15 minute walk to the town centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hev01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Filthy floors in kitchen & dining room, tables in dining room never wiped, piles of washing-up just left in the kitchen sinks, bedrooms stink to High Heaven. Another once fine Youth Hostel left to decompose thanks to the lazy attitude of the YHA management - what on Earth will foreign tourists think of the English??!! Quite disgusting and should be declared a health hazard. Don't believe me? - sleep there!

Room Tip: The best room is the one you DID NOT book at this dump!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bath hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I can not believe how much I paid to stay at an absolute dump! We could have got to a premier inn for the same price.
Website and pictures are extremely deceiving. Staff were not too pleasant either when we expressed our concern. Shower dripped all night and we were right next to toilets which went off all the time.
Extremely disappointed, do not bother!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KingHet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed four four nights in late March 2013; stayed in a large room with about 5 bunkbeds. The room was tired looking and there wasn't a lot of space to store your things.

The communal showers and toilets seemed to be cleaned regularly but the self-catering kitchen area was not cleaned very often and often had rubbish overflowing from the bins. The kitchen is short of bowls and cooking pans and other items, so it's a bit of hunt to find all the tools you need to cook properly.

I found the place quite noisy after lights-out, with noise from nearby rooms and sounds from ventilation fans filtering through and disturbing sleep.

The lounge is nice and so is the dining area (for those paying for meals) - both have a more modern, update look - these are the only places on the site that really appear to have been kept up to date.

I didn't find the reception staff member who greeted me very friendly or helpful. I suppose it depends on who is working when, but overall the place does not give off a friendly feel from staff.

I only paid £10-£13 per night, so I suppose you "get what you pay for". At least the linens and the bathroom and showers were clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieOTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Quite simply filthy and disgusting!! 2 friends and i paid over £130 for ONE night in a 4 bunk bed room.

All the bedding was stained and, as at least one other reviewer has said, i got bitten by something while i was there. The toilet / shower room was very dirty and the toilet itself had never seen any bleach.

Avoid at all costs. It is shocking they can get away with charging this kind of money for a such awful accommodation!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#31 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Bath

Property: YHA Bath
Address: Bathwick Hill, Bath BA2 6JZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famed for its grand Georgian architecture and hot springs, Bath is a World Heritage City of many contrasts. It also offers a vibrant nightlife and progressive counter culture to round off your experience. Hearty breakfasts and a quality evening menu are available in our restaurant. YHA Bath is a listed building and welcomes all types of guests. However, if you have a child under the age of 3 years or any other requirements related to mobility or access, please mention at the time of booking and we will endeavor to book you in the most suitable room. YHA Bath comprises two buildings which are both in the same grounds. The hostel has both dorm beds and private rooms available, with some en-suite. We are perfect for backpackers, families and couples alike. Bed linen is provided but towels are not, however please do bring your own or you can hire them from us. There is FREE Wi-Fi available in the social areas. There is 24 hour access to the hostel for all guests that have checked in (code given during check in). YHA Bath is located on Bathwick Hill, within walking distance of the city itself. All the main city attractions are close enough to walk, including the Roman Baths, the Jane Austen Centre, Bath Abbey and the Bath Thermal Spa. Immerse yourself in the rich history of this World Heritage City, explore the gorgeous Georgian architecture or relax in the spa before returning to the hostel for a quiet drink in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your YHA Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Yha Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing