We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic tour”
Review of Mad Max Tours

Mad Max Tours
Ranked #2 of 58 Tours in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Mad Max we offer small group tours from Bath, specifically for independent travellers. This is a personal, informative service which runs with a maximum group size of 16 people.Our Full day and half day tours are available throughout the year and cover destinations such as Stonehenge, Lacock Village, Castle Combe, Avebury Stone Circles, as well as seeing the beautiful wiltshire countryside with picturesque thatched cottages and inns.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We took the Cotswold Tour on a windy and a bit snowy day in March, 2013.
Our driver, Tim, was at the meeting point just in time and he was pleasant all the way to 5 o’clock. The bus was tiny, but perfect for a good drive on narrow roads through tiny villages.
Charming villages by the way. A camera is a ‘must have’.
We shared our tour with Australian, Chinese, Spanish and British holiday makers.
Now, do you know where the expression "Saved by the bell" comes from? Take the tour and you will find out! The stories Tim told us were very very very interesting and informative.
We HIGHLY recommend MadMax Tour! :)

IF YOU ARE INTERESTED IN BOOKING A TOUR AFTER APRIL 1ST 2013, THIS WILL BE OPERATED BY THEIR ASSOCIATE COMPANY, LION TOURS LTD. TO MAKE A BOOKING YOU CAN E-MAIL THEM AT office@liontours.co.uk OR PHONE:-0044 (0)7769 668668.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana-Maria_Mandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    930
    78
    7
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent way to see the Cotswolds”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The full day Cotswolds tour is an excellent way to visit the different scenic villages in the Cotswolds given our limited time in Bath. The driver showed good knowledge of the places we visited and gave prompt narration or information whenever we came across something of interest.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank chionh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
“Great way to see Stonehenge and English Countryside”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Mad Max was highly recommended by the Tasburgh House in Bath. Since we weren't keen on driving on the left hand side of the road, going on a small van tour with two other passengers was comfortable and convenient. Our guide, Chris, was so knowledgeable about the historical sites and brought the small villages to life with stories of the area. Our pub lunch in Avebury was delicious. I would highly recommend this day tour to others.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TAK1415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great tour of The Cotswolds”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I traveled to Bath purposely to take the Mad Max tour of The Cotswolds. From London I took the train to Bath from Paddington Station to Bath Spa. The tour was led by Gary who was a great guide, knowledgeable of the history and culture, showing his mini-van full of guests many places in The Cotswolds. Because of the rain and poor weather we did not take the optional part of the tour walking between two points of interest. Instead we made only stops at various locations where we all got out of the van and guided by Gary saw the beauty of The Cotswolds. We enjoyed all the photo opportunities as well There was also time for shopping. Gary phoned ahead to a restaurant for our lunch stop with our lunch selections made from a menu he passed around so that we could make our choices. This was an excellent tour. In addition, having traveled extensively for many years, the only souvenir I take home with me are photos of doors and, knowing this, Gary led me to a 400 year old door and explained why it was embellished with so many brass rivets - it exemplified wealth of the original owner. This will soon be hung on my Travel Wall full of doors from around the world. Thank you Gary.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thank you”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Fantastic full day trip to Stonehenge, Avebury, Laycock and Castle Coombe. Comfortable travel, lovely fellow passengers, warm and friendly driver/guide - Andy - funny and informative. Great combination of sights, well organised and money well spent. My 12 year old son said it was "amazing" and I agree.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad Max Tours also viewed

 

Been to Mad Max Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing