We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good budget-hotel choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Milton Keynes, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A good budget-hotel choice”
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Stayed here for three nights during the Easter holidays. We had a quiet room on the top floor, adequate size, everything in the room worked fine and no problems with housekeeping. Breakfast was crowded but there was a table available each morning; choice (like other holiday inn express hotels) was limited but it's free! Reception service was efficient, including a late check-out on the final afternoon before heading for the train station.

Bath was a great destination for a short break, plenty to see and do, and places to eat. The hotel is a few minutes walk from city centre (most direct route is through Sainsburys/Homebase car park) or use frequent buses from the stop over the road from the hotel.You will not need a car during your stay.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    623
    299
    70
    23
See reviews for
364
556
37
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Location 15 minutes easy stroll to centre of Bath. Great to be able to park your car for £3 per night, god knows if you were staying at a hotel in the centre, where you would park your car or how much it would cost! Friendly, pleasant and helpful staff. Will definately come back to the Holiday Inn and have recommended to friends. PS Great coffee at breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BathDeputyManager, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, April 27, 2010
Dear Maggie,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Bath.

I am glad you are able to recommend us to your friends. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

The hotel is located just outside the historic centre of Bath, with a ten to fifteen minute walk to the baths themselves. However, we were walking with young children so it may be a quicker walk for others.

The hotel was clean and typical of a chain business hotel.

There was no free wifi available and only one computer witha pay as you go internet service located near the lobby.

The braekfast (included in our rate)was pretty basic but OK.

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_S123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BathDeputyManager, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, April 27, 2010
Dear Chris,

I always welcome feedback as it allows us the opportunity to recognise where we are meeting guest expectations and where we need to improve. Trip Advisor is a great way to assist us in doing that.

I am pleased to advise you as of October 2010 we will be offering complimentary Wifi throughout our reception area.

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel, we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury
Level Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2010

Thankyou to the Staff at Express Inn. We enjoyed our stay at your hotel, the buffet was lovely ,the rooms clean and tidy, the position to Bath city excellent and the Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Chloe's advice on where to visit, places to go to eat were just right for us.
A great basic service hotel breakfast only but hey if your on holidays you have meals everywhere Thank you

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BathDeputyManager, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, April 23, 2010
Dear Wendy,

Thank you for your kind review, I am very glad you had a pleasant stay with us and had the opportunity to experience our new and improved complimentary continental hot buffet breakfast.

I have passed on your comments to Chloe; she is very pleased she was able to assist you in choosing the right restaurant for yourselves. All our staff are more than willing to assist in any way they can.

Thank you again I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back into our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2010

We tend to stay at this hotel when we go to pick up or leave off our son at university. When we first started staying there, breakfast was a nightmare. Now I'm not saying that it is five star treatment - there is still somewhat of a scrum if you go down at the wrong time, but the presence of cooked food and slightly better layout has improved one's overall sense of wellbeing - compared to how it was. Sometime we left without breakfast as we could not face it. Overall it is a very clean hotel with relatively good facilities for an express and the staff work extremely hard. Parking continues to be a real problem - so make sure you get there early and then walk or take the taxi into town.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSA48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

2nd time we have stayed here. Its somewhere to sleep- but I mean that in a nice way, as the rooms were clean, adequate & loads of hot water. The reception staff were very pleasant & helpful, even to non residents asking for help & directions. The room was ready by 1 o'clock and we were able to take our luggage & unpack. 10-15 min's walk to the city centre. Car park cost £3 a day which is reasonable. Rate includes buffet breakfast which is not a gourmet feast but it does the job & the coffee was really good.
So if your going to Bath to see the sites,shop,eat,drink etc it's an idle base & if you don't fancy the evening walk into town & like Indian food there one right opposite the hotel & looks ok (no I haven't been).

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHEPHECJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BathDeputyManager, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, April 21, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor about your visits with us at the Holiday Inn Express Bath.

I am very glad that you enjoyed your first stay with us so much so, that you returned and were able to experience our friendly and helpful staff once again. It also pleases me that our staff were able to check you into your room earlier than our guaranteed check in time of 3pm.

Thank you once again for your recommendations to other tourists to use our hotel as an ideal base for visiting the historical city of Bath.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool uk
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Our stay over the Easter Break was excellent. From our arrival on good Friday to our departure on the Tuesday couldn't have wished for a more pleasant stay. The staff were very accommodating and always had a smile. The room was spotless, parking very reasonable £3 per day and proximity to town centre is a short 15 minutes walk. The free buffet Breakfast was also a nice addition . Compliments to Helen and her staff, we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BathDeputyManager, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, April 19, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the Holiday Inn Express Bath. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff accommodating; we endeavour to make every effort to provide excellent customer service.

I will pass on your review to our staff within reception and housekeeping, as they always appreciate feedback. I know they will be very happy with your kind comments.

Thank you once again we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Lisa Franklin
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bath

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bath
Address: Lower Bristol Road, Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the popular Holiday Inn Express Bath hotel and explore Bath's historic city centre on foot. Holiday Inn Express Bath's modern interior contrasts with its warm, honey-coloured Bath stone exterior. We're a short stroll from the historic city centre, where you can take your time with a relaxing session at Thermae Bath Spa. We are also close to Bath Spa train station for regular trains to London Paddington and Bristol Airport is a 40-minute drive. We're 10 minutes' drive from meetings at Bath's 3 Ministry of Defence offices and the University of Bath campus. Bath Spa University is only 5 minutes from Holiday Inn Express Bath by car. Avoid the traffic when visiting Helphire Group PLC and Amdocs, minutes away on Lower Bristol Road. The convenient Holiday Inn Express Bath is a 10-minute walk to the elegant Pump Room at the Roman Baths and the Grade I-listed Royal Crescent. Learn how the city inspired one of England's favorite writers at nearby Jane Austen Centre. Kids love mini-safaris at Longleat's rambling estate, a 30-minute drive away. Wake up to bacon, sausages, baked beans, scrambled eggs and more as part of the inclusive breakfast buffet and watch Bath come to life from the windows of the airy Great Room. Our friendly front desk team will give you information on day trips to Glastonbury and Stonehenge. 60 free onsite parking spaces are available and allocated on a first come first served basis. Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bath Hotel Bath
Bath Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing