We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast bun fight!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2009

This hotel seems to attract a different profile from the normal business traveller that inhabit other Holiday Inn Express locations. This seems to result in rooms with higher occupancy levels and therefore more people at brekafast (often when I am travelling on business I will skip breakfast or have it earlier). It also seems to have more rooms than some other locations and yet has the standard sized cloned dining area. This place can't cope - it runs out of things - tables are left uncleared - there are insufficient tables, cutlery and staff.
So if you can't find anywhere else for a relaxing and enjoyable stay - get up early or skip breakfast. Otherwise prepare yourself for a breakast bun fight!
Oh and the tap water in the room is tainted - it'll spoill anything drink you make with it.
There is a hotel hero in this place, the blond haired young lady scurrying around at breakfast trying to get everything sorted out - and get other staff to contribute (the manager seems to think sitting in the office is the most appropriate thing to do at busy times).

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhyShouldIStayHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BathDeputyManager, Acting General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2010

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us.

I am glad to hear that you found our breakfast assistant to be making every effort to restock items.

Unfortunately our dining area is smaller than we would like but due to the high volumes of guests arriving at the same time this can get quite busy at particular times. This is why staff will be seen behind the reception desk and around the breakfast area replenishing stock/clearing tables.

I would like to make all aware that our main focus for 2010 is our breakfast area. We are introducing hot items into our complimentary breakfast within the first three months of this year.

Thank you again for your comments and I hope you will be able to experience our new and improved breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,306 - 1,312 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2009

I have never stayed at a Holiday Inn Express before, we normally head for Premier Inn's. However budget accomodation is clearly at a premium in Bath so we had no option.

First the good news:
Only a 15 minute walk from Bath town centre.
Hotel easy to find.
Staff were welcoming.
Hotel was clean, as were the rooms.
The bed was comforable.
Sound insulation good

However! How can the Management so effectively ruin it all by serving the most appauling breakfast? The croissants were stale, the yogurt poor quality, the fruit juice had been excessively watered down and the coffee undrinkable. Thank goodness for packaged cornflakes, packaged cheese. packaged jam and a small roll of surprisingly fresh bread.

The Holiday Inn Express charged us an estimated £40 for that breakfast. In future we will continue to search out room only Premier Inns, and go to Starbucks for breakfast instead. You can get a lot of coffee and pastries for £40!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NeilHardwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BathDeputyManager, Acting General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2009

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us, we take all feedback into consideration as it is vital to ensure any improvements we can make.

I am glad to hear that you found the location to be in a good situation and our staff to be welcoming, also that you found our hotel to be clean as our housekeeping staff work very hard every day.

I am disappointed that you feel our breakfast is not to your standards. Firstly I would like to make you aware, our breakfast is always complimentary as is all other Express by Holiday Inn's, there are no extra charges involved.

Regarding our juice, it does get watered down but this is only when it runs out, our breakfast assistants are always happy to replenish any items that need replacing.

I would like to use this opportunity to make you aware we are changing our breakfast within the first three months of 2010, so I hope you will be able to sample our new and improved breakfast.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night and served its purpose.
We got a good rate by booking and paying in advance on the holiday inn website that included car parking.
The only negative feedback was that the sofa pull out for the children was uncomfortable, Other than that, the room, bathroom and bed sheet were
clean, and at night it was quite. I would recommend this hotel only if you get a good rate and only if you are staying for one night.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albanella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

Whilst this is a budget hotel, something does need to be done about the complimentary breakfast. We came down at 10.15 on Sunday morning and there was a 15 minute queue. There were no cups or glasses and the juice machine had run out. the toaster had broken down and supplies were running low. There appeared to be only 1 member of staff trying to restock the buffet. She was clearly under pressure as she was responding to requests quite curtly as though it was too much trouble for her. She certainly was not apologetic in any way.

I also agree that the beds are very soft. We had a room at the front which was noisy in the early hours so bear this in mind. We paid £75 for one night which is OK for Bath but I would have felt uncomfortble paying any more.

The location whilst not in the centre is about a 10 minute walk away.

I agree with others that the reception staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ogi_off_of_Bobinogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

overall i echo the majority of the comments raised so far - i stayed at holiday inn bath last weekedn and overall it was a fine a experience - the reception staff at the hotel always smile and offer help - i needed directions to get to bristol and the female member of staff almost drew me a perfect map to show me how to get there which i thought was very king but it is silly things tha bug me - my room was next door to the lift and you can hear it the voice from the lift as it reaches each stop - for the price of the room a cooked breakfast or at least a bit more choice should be available - i was gutted as they ran out of yogurts whilst i was there and it can get a bit manic and whatever you do buy your alcohol from the local supermarket as the drinks are sky high in there - nearly 11 pounds for two large glasses of wine - very expensive - don't be put of buy the parking charges as to be honest £3 isn't really a lot - take a look at some of the very limited parking spots in town and you will soon see tha £3 won't get you an hour so to park all day is good!! ps the orange juice for breakfast tasted either very watered down or it hadn't been stirred properly - the beds were also quite soft... so overall a bit pricy and not as good as other holiday inns i have stayed in nbut fine for a few days

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teacherdazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BathDeputyManager, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2009

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us, we appreciate all feedback.

I am glad that you find our staff to be helpful we do try to assist in any way possible.

Unfortunately as a brand of Express by Holiday Inn a continental buffet breakfast is all we are able to offer, I hope you will be glad to hear there will be some additions very shortly.

I am glad that you do not find our parking charge expensive. As you have realised parking in the City Centre or in any other hotel in Bath, is a lot more than we charge for parking until 4pm on the day of departure.

I hope this response will help in any decisions you may make if visiting Bath in the future.

Thank you again.

Lisa Franklin, Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

Excellent service and faultless room. Visit marred by hen party revelers and therefore a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the cemetery might have been better.
The breakfast, except the coffee, was very poor. Only fresh fruit was tinned grapefruit and the croissants were poor.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffrey d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

We managed to get a bargain 2 night stay of £169 using Hotelopia combined with Quidco cashback. Overal, Hotel is perfectly fine-the road noise is quite apparent during the night and the Bar prices are a bit steep. However, Breakfasts are more than enough to set you up for the day and the staff were extremely helpful. The only real complaint I have is the Beds are way too soft to the extent couples will end up falling into each other when asleep.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zackary71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,910 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.2 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,446 reviews
6.8 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 34 in Bath
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bath

Address: Lower Bristol Road | Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: $90 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the popular Holiday Inn Express Bath hotel and explore Bath's historic city centre on foot. We're a short stroll from the historic city centre, where you can take your time with a relaxing session at Thermae Bath Spa. We are also close to Bath Spa train station and 10 minutes' drive from Bath's 3 Ministry of Defence offices and the University of Bath campus. Bath Spa University is 5 minutes by car. The convenient Holiday Inn Express Bath is a 10-minute walk to the elegant Pump Room at the Roman Baths and the Grade I-listed Royal Crescent. Wake up to bacon, sausages, baked beans, scrambled eggs and more as part of the inclusive breakfast buffet and watch Bath come to life from the windows of the airy Great Room. Our friendly front desk team will give you information on day trips to Glastonbury and Stonehenge. Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bath Hotel Bath
Bath Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing