We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Warm And Quiet.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bath

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Bath
West Midlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Warm And Quiet.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed on a Saturday night recently. We received a very warm and friendly welcome from the young guy on the reception.

Our room was clean and tidy and as the weather was really cold and wet outside it was really nice and warm. The room we had was on the ground floor at the end of a corridor and on the evening we stayed we did not have any disturbance from any noise.

We had a couple of drinks in the bar area which was nice and quiet.

The buffet breakfast was okay with plenty to choose from and as I am a IHG member I am familiar with the service at the HIE group.

As an IHG member on a reward points stay the reception waved the car parking charge and for this I was really grateful.

All things considered we enjoyed our stay in Bath and the hotel is not far from the main shopping area which is about ten to fifteen minutes walk away. Everyone we encountered from the reception / bar staff were really friendly and helpful.

There is also a great Indian Restaraunt over the road (The Mint Room) that is well worth a visit..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandman1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

I am so pleased to hear that you received a warm and friendly welcome. All of our staff go above and beyond with their customer service, and take great pride in doing so.

I am glad that the room met your requirements for the duration of your stay with us.

Thank you for taking advantage of the free, hot option breakfast. This does prove to be very popular with our guests.

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Bath and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    605
    296
    70
    24
See reviews for
358
538
37
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

My stay of 3 nights was okay generally but on the last morning, the hotel did not serve any drinks at breakfast (no orange juice, hot water or coffee). Hard to imagine what caused this problem but I feel that they should have been able to sort something out other than a pitcher of cloudy water. The breakfast on the other days was quite basic.

The hotel is not very convenient for the main attractions in Bath.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JSPWDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

Unfortunately, on that morning, we did have a problem with our water supply which was out of our control and we had to wait until our maintenance manager arrived to rectify the problem. However, we were providing our guests with hot and cold drinks available from the bar machines.

I am sorry to hear that you found the breakfast to be basic. As we are an Express hotel, and due to our brand standards, we are only able to provide the three hot options of Sausage, Scrambled Egg and Baked Beans, as well as our continental selection. We do try to provide a wide selection of both cooked and continental food to meet all of our guest individual requirements.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write a review, I hope you enjoyed your time in Bath.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

10 minutes away from the main shopping/entertainment area it was a great place to stay. The hotel was peaceful the room clean and the beds comfortable.
Staff were friendly and efficient.
Only down side is paying for the car park

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

As you mentioned, we are lucky with the location of the hotel being only an easy 10-15 minute walk away from the city centre of Bath and all of the main tourist attractions.

I am so pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be peaceful and the room clean and comfortable. Our housekeeping team work extremely hard to maintain a high level of comfort and cleanliness for our guests.

Thank you for your kind comments about the staff, they do go above and beyond with their customer service, and take great pride in doing so.

unfortunately, everywhere in Bath does charge for the use of their car parks. We are one of the cheaper ones and guests are able to leave their vehicles in our secure, onsite car park, until 4pm on the day of departure. This enables guests to explore more of our beautiful city, after they have checked out of the hotel.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write a review and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

This place is amazing, sweet, cute and a good escape from London! It's very easy access by train and worth the money. You can take the Off peak with return included and it will be a lower price. it's more nice in the summer, but even in winter is a good place to go.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoriT_Bucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

I hope you enjoyed your time in the beautiful city of Bath.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write a review, and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lampeter
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Another overnight business stay. Hotel was up to its usual standard - clean, comfortable, ok staff etc. Quiet time of year so plenty of parking. Breakfast was adequate and the dining area was clean and tidy. All in all, nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daved D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

I am so pleased to hear that the room met your requirements while you were staying with us, and you found it to be clean and comfortable. Our housekeeping team are excellent and work extremely hard to maintain a high level of comfort and cleanliness for our guests.

Thank you for taking advantage of the free, hot option breakfast. This does prove popular with our guests.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write a review, I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
96 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 1 day during our visit to Bath. This hotel is located closer to the Oldfield Park train station (5-10 mins walk) than the Bath Spa station (15-20mins walk). Though it is not right in the city centre of Bath, it is an easy walk to the Royal Crescent (just cross the Victoria bridge and you’ll reach the Royal Crescent soon). From the Royal Crescent, all other tourist attractions are within walking distance.
Our room was not that big, but it was very clean. The complimentary WIFI worked very well. We were glad to be given an early check-in (around 11am). Check in was very efficiently done by the friendly staff. Breakfast was OK, though there wasn’t a wide selection of food.
However, do note that certain rooms of the hotel are directly facing St. James Cemetery. Our room was one of them, but we were not too bothered about this. If you are particular about this, please request for other rooms. The so-called double bed in our room was rather small. Besides, the window in the room was downward-facing, making it not able to open wide enough for air to come in. The amenities are barely sufficient, no slippers, shower cap, toothbrush and toothpaste (need to ask for these). There was no safe in the room and no heating bar in the bathroom, too.
All the hotels in Bath are very pricey. So, if you are looking for a clean room with reasonably good location without burning a hole in your pocket, Holiday Inn Express Bath is a good option for you.
We spent our 2nd night in Hilton Bath which was so much better (but, much more expensive, too), and I’d say I’ll pay more to stay in Hilton the next time.

Room Tip: Some rooms are facing the cemetery directly. If you mind, request for a room facing other directions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merlion42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

As you mentioned, we are lucky with the location of the hotel being only an easy 10-15 minute walk away from the city centre of Bath, and all of the main tourist attractions.

All of our rooms throughout the hotel, are of the same size, I am glad the room was clean, our housekeeping team are excellent and work extremely hard to maintain a high level of comfort and cleanliness throughout the hotel.

Thank you for taking advantage of the complimentary WIFI available throughout the hotel, and for your kind comments about the staff, they work extremely hard to go above and beyond with their customer service.

As we are not a full service hotel, and due to our brand standards, we do only offer the three hot options of Sausage, scrambled Egg and Baked Beans, as well as our continental selection, we try to provide a wide enough selection to suit all of our guests individual requirements.

All of our beds in the rooms are of a standard size and the same throughout the hotel.
We do provide a wide range of toiletries for guests if they have forgotten anything, this ranges from shower caps, to razors, these are all available from reception.

Unfortunately, as we are an Express hotel, we don't provide safes in the rooms, however, we do have safety deposit boxes at reception for guests to use.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed a 2 night stay over new year and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The hotel was good value for money considering it was over new year,staff we're polite,friendly and very helpful. Our room was more than adequate with a very comfy bed! Breakfast was what you would expect from a continental breakfast with a variety of cereals,fruit and yoghurt with the option of 3 hot items. My husband and I had no complaints with the breakfast infact we enjoyed our sausage sandwiches in the morning(reading the negative comments makes me think that you really can't please some people!). Overall we had a lovely 2 night stay in bath and would highly recommend the Holiday inn :).

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BathGuestServiceMgr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bath, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your kind comments about the staff, they do go above and beyond with their customer service, taking great pride in doing so.

I am so pleased to hear that the room met your requirements for the duration of your stay.

Thank you for taking advantage of the complimentary, hot option breakfast. This does prove to be very poplar with our guests, and we do try to provide a wide range of both cooked and continental food to meet all of our guests requirements, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed it.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review, and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lauren Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#24 of 34 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bath

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bath
Address: Lower Bristol Road / Brougham Hayes, Bath BA2 3QU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bath 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the popular Holiday Inn Express Bath hotel and explore Bath's historic city centre on foot. Holiday Inn Express Bath's modern interior contrasts with its warm, honey-coloured Bath stone exterior. We're a short stroll from the historic city centre, where you can take your time with a relaxing session at Thermae Bath Spa. We are also close to Bath Spa train station for regular trains to London Paddington and Bristol Airport is a 40-minute drive. We're 10 minutes' drive from meetings at Bath's 3 Ministry of Defence offices and the University of Bath campus. Bath Spa University is only 5 minutes from Holiday Inn Express Bath by car. Avoid the traffic when visiting Helphire Group PLC and Amdocs, minutes away on Lower Bristol Road. The convenient Holiday Inn Express Bath is a 10-minute walk to the elegant Pump Room at the Roman Baths and the Grade I-listed Royal Crescent. Learn how the city inspired one of England's favorite writers at nearby Jane Austen Centre. Kids love mini-safaris at Longleat's rambling estate, a 30-minute drive away. Wake up to sausages, baked beans, scrambled eggs and more as part of the inclusive breakfast buffet and watch Bath come to life from the windows of the airy Great Room. Our friendly Front Desk team will give you information on day trips to Glastonbury and Stonehenge. 60 free onsite parking spaces are available and allocated on a first come first served basis. Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bath Hotel Bath
Bath Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing