We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend away”
Review of De Montalt Wood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
De Montalt Wood
Ranked #69 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had a truly lovely long weekend away at De Montalt Wood in December. From the initial booking and enquiries with Charles who answered all questions to the welcoming afternoon tea in the sitting room with homemade sausage rolls and an offer to play the grand piano if i wished, we knew this was going to be a stay above the usual. We stayed in the " Hollies".room, beautifully appointed with views over surrounding grounds and further afield, comfortable beautiful bed and plenty of room. Breakfast in the morning was a real treat with Ann's home made smoothies and well cooked fare and set us up for the day. Charles was even kind enough to book a table at the local pub and drove us there and provided torches for the walk home that evening. The house is stunning and we just loved the quirky idea of the " ducks" -those who stay will know what i mean ! Charles and Ann are lovely hospitable people who just know how to treat their guests and we will certainly come back to stay again, perhaps in the summer when we can explore more of the surrounding area. Navigating to and from Bath city is really easy either by walking or bus if you don't have a car and Charles is more than happy to share suggestions of where to go and what to do. Many thanks for a lovely break before Xmas.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocasta73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 75 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

Charles and Ann, what a great team you both make, My partner and I have the pleasure of taking regular breaks all around the UK, I'm one of those people who has to research every detail, after all we work hard and our breaks are very precious. So from the moment I submitted an enquiry I knew this was going to be a wonderful break, BUT no, it was much more than that - the house is stunning, our room ( Tulip) was top notch, the little touches such as the homemade cakes ( Ann even accomodated my gluten diet), were 2nd to none. The breakfast - well where do i start!!! but the the thing that makes this "Really memorable" were the hosts. I'm already planning another trip :)

Room Tip: Tulip room is an ensuite, the room is huge - I enjoyed my evening soakes in the bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJo2012Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I cannot recommend De Montalt Wood highly enough. A stunning house set in lovely grounds, close to a beautiful city and with the best hosts one could wish for. We knew Charles and Ann would be wonderful hosts before we even arrived - they helped us choose a restaurant for the first night and then booked us a table, they asked us to join them for a glass of wine before dinner and they were helpful when we called to tell them we were stuck in traffic on the way down.
The house is amazing, the rooms clean and well-equipped, modern and well-appointed bathrooms and incredibly comfortable beds. Breakfast was cooked perfectly to order and there were a huge range of options, drinks and additional extras.
Very, very impressed and have recommended it to everyone who will listen and some who won't.
I liked it so much that I even proposed to my-now-fiancée here! And of course our hosts were really helpful with this - keeping it a secret and refrigerating my champagne - even laying out a tray of glasses and nibbles unasked to make the occasion even more special.
Truly top-notch.

Room Tip: Two rooms to choose from - both wonderful. We stayed in the room without the en suite, but it was st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Charles and Ann provided us with the most wonderful stay at their lovely, very peaceful bed and breakfast. We enjoyed every minute with our hosts especially Ann's awesome breakfasts-the best we've had anywhere-and chatting with Charles for tons of tips and valuable insights. The house is beautifully upgraded luxuriously for guests; excellent bathroom;), snuggly but huge bed, and spacious rooms! Impeccably clean too! A walk around the grounds just topped off our enjoyment of this lovely historic home.

I should mention more about breakfast: First, it must be repeated, these were the most delicious breakfasts we've had anywhere and we've stayed in many B&B's! The ingredients were as fresh as it gets, including all sorts of homemade goodies as well as a different, wonderful smoothie each day. We literally never needed to stop for lunch any of the days out and about thanks to the amount, as well as variety provided for breakfast. I was lucky enough to be served extra cookies (we had cookies in our room each evening) by Ann which were scrumptious!!! And of course TEA with cream or milk provided aplenty, which is my favorite thing-perhaps taken for granted in England, but not all when compared to American service of tea!!!

We were lucky enough to stay here five nights-our entire stay in England! We are so thankful we chose De Montalt Wood B&B for the best ever experience home away from home. We sure will be hoping to visit again next year and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenbabbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

De Montalt Wood Bed & Breakfast is a stunning property set amongst beautiful gardens and private woods. On arrival we were encouraged to explore the estate at our leisure. The location is superb, literally a five minute drive from Bath city centre and the setting couldn't be more different, beautiful rolling hills and rural village life!

If you are looking for a relaxing getaway with all the boutique style extras De Montalt more than provides. Our hosts Charles and Ann were extremely warm and friendly and their company really added to our weekend. After a five star introduction to our stay we were invited to take complimentary afternoon tea and cake or early evening drinks in the drawing room overlooking the beautifully manicured gardens. During this time Charles provided us with some great advice and information regarding our weekend plans, we then embarked on a lovely evening stroll along peaceful country lanes to a highly recommended pub for our evening meal.

De Montalt really is an 'experience' weekend as opposed to dropping off your bags or collapsing in your room, although the high quality finish with an oversized luxury bed, plumped pillows, exotic silk blinds and huge bathroom (with all the luxury mod cons) would more than tempt you! The cleanliness was five star and the decor beautiful. So much so that you want to explore the house and learn about it's story.

Charles and Ann are excellent hosts enquiring as to your needs before arrival. They will go the extra mile recommending places to eat out and even booked on our behalf. They happily open up their beautiful country home for you to enjoy, leaving you relaxed enough to explore and enjoy in your own time.

Our breakfast was superb, one of the best English Breakfasts we have had along with fresh fruits, smoothies and home-made jams. We were well looked after and enjoyed a relaxed breakfast in a lovely classical dining room overlooking the gardens.

We highly recommend a visit to De Montalt, we shall certainly return and hopefully with friends next time. It's a real gem of a stay and if you are lucky you will be treated to some Bach being played on the piano by Charles on a late Sunday morning. The sound was a lovely surprise that gently flowed through the house and really added to the experience!

We are a couple in our thirties that enjoy city life and country life as much as each other, this weekend away provided everything we wanted and more!

Room Tip: We had a room with a stunning en-suite and a balcony window that overlooked the gardens from both th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa_wanderlust10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Charles and Ann are so extremely helpful and knowledgeable hosts. Next time we would like to stay longer. What immediately stands out is the very friendly manner of welcoming and treating guests. This house has beautiful furnished, spacious, luxurious rooms comfortable beds and new bathrooms. We started our days with a perfectly cooked breakfast and explored the wonderful area walking through the forest or driving our old MG B to locations Charles showed us on his maps. A perfect B&B with perfect hosts.
Thomas & Gabi

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reise100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peregrinans, Owner at De Montalt Wood, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thank you Reise100 for your lovely comments about De Montalt Wood B&B.

We thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us as you were such a friendly couple and so enthusiastic about England and Bath. Your beautifully immaculate MGB added grace to our drive, too!

Ann and i very much hope me might see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We spent one night here and cannot recommend it highly enough. The house, gardens and rooms are beautiful, creating an elegant and relaxing atmosphere. The room we stayed in was lovely and breakfast was delicious. Charles and Ann are a very welcoming and charming couple who made our stay such a pleasant one.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theryners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
3.3 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,218 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 3 in Monkton Combe
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
780 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
2.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Montalt Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Montalt Wood

Address: De Montalt Wood Summer Lane, Bath BA2 7EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $234 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful period house built in 1848 completely refurbished for our new B & B venture January 2012. 2 Elegant Bedrooms, spacious and South facing each with their own exclusive luxury Bathrooms. Having previously owned an award winning hotel, we know how to give our customers a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Standing in our own 17 acres of woods and garden and yet we are only 10 minutes from the centre of Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your De Montalt Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing